Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
An amazing game with great graphics and sound. This was the first game I got for my DS and i would highly recommend it. It doesn't make much use of the DS's special features, although you can use the touch screen to control the car, it is far harder to use than the D-pad. The graphics are great and the sounds of the car's engine even changes pitch as you go into tunnels...
Published on 13 Jun 2005

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ridge Racer... Almost.
Ridge Racer DS was one of the first games confirmed for the Nintendo DS a few years ago. At the time of the press launch the game looked incredible. High speed action, intense 3D graphics and a proper racing soundtrack. But early beta versions of the game left the worldwide gaming press feeling a little concerned.
Here's why.
Yes, Ridge Racer DS (RRDS) is...
Published on 7 Jan 2006 by Mr Ash Parmenter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 13 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Ridge Racer (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
An amazing game with great graphics and sound. This was the first game I got for my DS and i would highly recommend it. It doesn't make much use of the DS's special features, although you can use the touch screen to control the car, it is far harder to use than the D-pad. The graphics are great and the sounds of the car's engine even changes pitch as you go into tunnels. There are 20 tracks in the game, although they are all based on the same 3 areas and 9 are just the same tracks in reverse, I have not unlocked the final two yet. There are also loads of cars to unlock, so far I have unlocked 19 about 2/3. The only problem with this game is the way that you cannot run off the track, a grass verge is like a brick wall and you hit the edge of the track before it looks like you should too. This is still however a great game with a good difficulty range, it starts easily to warm you up but gets quite hard towards the end, however it is not too hard, just enough to give you a challenge, something quite rare with the amount of recent games which seem to be either impossible or far too easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD!, 17 April 2006
By 
Mark (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This is a very good game despite what the last few reviews have been saying. The graphics are good, could've been better to be honest and the gameplay is very good too! The D - Pad is a much better use than the touch screen, as the touch is is a little harder to get use to, but otherwise, still quite good! This was fantastic on the N64, and not just because am a Nintendo fan, but the Ridge Racer on the N64 remains the best I've played today, unless the PSP version is better which I have not played yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ridge Racer... Almost., 7 Jan 2006
This review is from: Ridge Racer (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Ridge Racer DS was one of the first games confirmed for the Nintendo DS a few years ago. At the time of the press launch the game looked incredible. High speed action, intense 3D graphics and a proper racing soundtrack. But early beta versions of the game left the worldwide gaming press feeling a little concerned.
Here's why.
Yes, Ridge Racer DS (RRDS) is nice to look at and has a marvelous soundtrack to accompany the high speeds, but it's not just the outside that counts. Inside the game is just as important, and I feel this is where RRDS falls. It doesn't feel like a Ridge Racer game. It feels solid enough, but it handles more like an early MegaDrive racer. The camera follows the car a little too perfectly, in the way that you only ever see the side of your chosen vehicle if you powerslide extremely heavily. This almost looks like the track is moving around your car as opposed to you moving.
Another huge problem is the collision deetection. At one point during a race I got a third into my opponent before the game registered that we were actually connected. This caused me to be 'bumped' out into a wall and go from a high speed to almost nothing, thus losing me the race. This seems to happen alot, especially during wireless play with a friend. I never owned the original Nintendo 64 version, but apparantly the colision was perfect. Signs of a rushed conversion maybe?
Another sore point is the touch screen steering method. It feels very sluggish, and a little untested. Stick to the directional pad.
On a lighter note, the game looks very good, with almost no draw distance whatsoever. And the music could be put onto a soundtrack CD and I imagine it'd sell very well indeed.
If you can find RRDS mega-cheap and fancy a quick, occasional burst of racing then it's worth it. Just don't expect the likes of Gran Turismo, Sega Rally or even Ridge Racer on the PSP. Think more Super Monaco GP...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Racing game, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ridge Racer (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Good fun, my 7 year old son likes it, he says it is a little easy but still enjoys it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ridge racer ds, 7 Oct 2011
By 
andrew foster (plymouth, devon, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
i like this game and would recommend this game to anyone the cars are very good
the tracks are great too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars uh-oh, 15 Feb 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This game looked great when i first got it, but i'm starting to have my doubts...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Driving without those pesky physics., 15 Jun 2005
This review is from: Ridge Racer (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Graphics: 3/5
The graphics aren't too bad, you can see the tracks and cars. However you can't see too far ahead, which lead to some sudden turns as they suddenly appear. There is occasional slow down but its not too often. There are several glitches in the game, which are stated below.
Sound: 4/5
The music isn't bad, it could be better, but I don't mind it. Also, the commentary isn't constantly going on, it just informs you when you finish a lap, when someone's coming up on your tail and similar things. Not too repetative as it's not constantly going on.
Gameplay: 3/5
There are really only 3 main courses to choose from with varying difficulty and option of doing them in reverse. After you finish a Grand Prix you get the chance to race specific cars and when you win them you unlock your opponent's car for yourself. There are about 20 something cars overall.
The controls are quite good and easy to pick up. It didn't take me long to learn the jist of drifting but took me a while to learn how to do so that my car came out of a dift smoothly. No major problems with them though.
The game seriously lacks physics, this isn't too bad, it's just a bit annoying. The most annoying part of the game is a glitch when enemy cars crash into you from behind at high speeds. For some reason they just go straight through you, knocking you back and giving them a boost. It also really throws off your driving. The programmers were also a bit lazy with landscapes, instead of driving onto the grassy verge when you slip off the track, you just hit the invisible wall at the side of the road. This gets annoying after a while, especially when competitors begin ramming you into them.
Touch/Dual Screen Use: 2/5
This game uses the touch screen for menus and for one driving option. You can choose to use the steering wheel on the touch screen to drive. Nice idea, but its easier and better to just use the buttons. It would have been much better if they'd given you a rear view on the bottom screen so that you could block cars coming up from behind.
Value: 4/5
There are six main Grand Prix races and two bonus ones. You can finish the main game pretty quickly with a bit of skill. This game supports single card multiplayer which is cool, so it gets an extra point for that. Overall the main game can be finished in a week, but the multiplayer can be entertaining for ages.
Overall: 4/5
Not a bad game, if only they'd put a bit more effort into car physics and courses it would of been amazing. The multiplayer races are good and can be played with single or multiple carts with upto 6 players. I also liked the special Nintendo bits, such as the several Nintendo racing teams, including DK, Peach and Luigi. There's also a Nintendo race course, which isn't bad. I would recommend this game, especially if your looking for something to keep you going until Metroid Prime Hunters or Mario Kart get be released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 11 Aug 2005
This review is from: Ridge Racer (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I found this game made almost no use of the stylus or features of the DS. Unlock cars that have better/worser attributes and don't look that appealing. Gameplay I think is pretty repetitive, no real attempt at improving or making the game exciting.
Real ridgeracers fans may like to add it to their collection.. but this title fails to add anything different or exciting that will keep you playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, 12 Jan 2006
By 
J. M. Morton "Magnus" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ridge Racer (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This may have been a good game originally, when it was called ridge racer 64 but now it feels dated and the physics are simply ridiculous (quite fun to begin with but the novelty of the crazy drift wears off when the courses get more difficult).
Not an awful game but don't buy it unless you're feeling nostalgic or you are a hardcore ridge racer fan, buy Mario Kart DS instead
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ridge Racer (Nintendo DS)
Ridge Racer (Nintendo DS) by Nintendo (Nintendo DS)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews