Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How it all began, 23 Aug. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glastonbury Fayre 1971 DVD (DVD)
This is probably the best version you are going to see of this classic film. The colour has been retouched and doesn't look all washed out as it has on some versions of it. Its a great document of the classic beginnings of the monster festival, some great interviews and footage of the bands. Particularly here Traffic are amazing and the opener by Terry Reid is pretty dam good. You can see the original pyramid stage under construction and you can see this once was a real grass roots event. Quite a film, but im sad there was no footage of Gong, Hawkwind, the Pink Fairies, Edgar Broughton or Mr David Bowie all who were in attendance, still well worth getting and there is also a documentary on the making of the film, which is very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply the best festival DVD, 12 Nov. 2012
By 
noddy g (yorkshire,england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glastonbury Fayre 1971 DVD (DVD)
This film isn't very long compared to some others ( say Woodstock), but that does leave you wanting more rather than less !
The way its filmed, is superb and the music is great too. you don't actually have to have a enthusiasm for Festival music of the 70s to enjoy this, I'd recommend it to anyone who goes to Glastonbury thesedays as way of getting in the mood and a way of finding oout how it all began. yep there is nudity and drugs here, but also some cracking music. the Terry Reid clip is surely one of the best film clips of live music there has ever been. stoned immaculate . And I am one who thinks that music should be enjoyed live, so I attend a lot of gigs, I dont normally think live film footage always works, but hey this does. This is a cheap DVD and would make a great present for some one , or yourself ! Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glastonbury Fair, 11 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glastonbury Fayre 1971 DVD (DVD)
Nic Roeg asked me if he could film Glastonbury Fair 1971.
I was staging the event with Arabella Churchill. Of course I said Yes. He shot 72 hours in 35mm and 16mm film. As there was not enough money for post production, only 1 hour 20 minutes was all that was saved. Real shame. For me the best performances were by Melanie and Terry Reid with Linda Lewis. I'm pleased to say that they will all be playing at this year's festival to celebrate the 40th anniversary.
I called it Fair - someone else put the y into it.
Why?
Andrew Kerr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 26 Sept. 2007
By 
gumby909 (Toyohashi, Japan) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glastonbury Fayre 1971 DVD (DVD)
This film, more than any other I can think of from the period, really captures the true spirit of that wildy optomistic generation at perhaps the tail end of it's arc. At times, the stylistic nature of the film seems to suggest a mythological quality to the proceedings. At others, a more down to earth document is presented.
The air it seems, was full of good vibes (compare this to the ugly scenes of confrontation from the previous year's final Isle of Wight festival), perhaps the fact that this festival was free helped. The relatively low attendance probably also helped to create the special atmosphere seen here. Much is often made of how 'out of it' everyone was back then but things have hardly changed have they? One thing that has changed is how much less naive & more cynical we've all become.
But I didn't intend on writing a sociological essay, enough has already been written on those times.
More to the point, the music contained herein provides some of the films highlights, none more so than the great & half remembered Terry Reid whose loose & extremely soulful arrangement of his song 'Dean' is well worth the purchase of this disc alone. The song, like the film itself, really conjures up the spirit of the age.
In it, you can hear something so familiar, yet indefinable. The emotional pull of this performance sways me everytime. This defining moment appears early on in the film & serves to hold the viewer's attention from thereon. Many more magical musical moments follow, memorably, a mesmerizing Fairport Convention &
a deliriously deranged Arthur Brown along with early Gong, late Traffic etc...
Had the film crew managed to capture Bowie's dawn performance, this really would have been one of rock's 'holy grails'. However, as it stands, it's still one of the most compelling & important documents of it's time,
so don't delay, turn on & tune in today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glastonbury 1971 Heaven, 1 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. PJ Warren - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glastonbury Fayre 1971 DVD (DVD)
As a lot of people. I already had the VHS, stretched & grainy. So my DVD arrived in the post & guess what I did for the week. Sat on my backside playing the dvd again & again & again. Arthur Brown`s Kingdom Come - Quintessence. Where else can you appreciate 2 of the best live bands of the era. There is just about no other footage as far as I know. The choice of music is superb. The grainy picture of the VHS is nowhere near as bad, obviously. The package is awesome. The booklet contans pics from the original LP box set booklet. If you know the film. Buy it and upgrade. If you haven`t seen the film. Buy it you won`t be disappointed. Me, I`m heading towards the dvd player again. Just one more shot of Quintessence & Arthur Brown, not forgetting Terry Reid, Traffic, Family, Melanie. Loads of superb music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wish there was more music, 6 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glastonbury Fayre 1971 DVD (DVD)
nic roeg's commentary is hardly coherent, perhaps he was just feeling old and tired, poor bloke. but he says more than once that they "shot hours and hours of stuff" - so where is it? would love to hear more than one song from each artist - as well as artists who never made the cut. still, well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Glastonbury Fayre (DVD), 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glastonbury Fayre 1971 DVD (DVD)
Glastonbury Fayre has been an interesting and at times challenging documentary film to watch. As a fan of music from the 1960s and 1970s I have a huge interest of DVDs such as this one. The music performances at most are fantastic such as Terry Reid and Family but are spoilt by some indulgent performances by some heavily drugged out amateur performers that to me don't deserve to be in this film. What I do appreciate is the life in the early 1970s was so much more chilled than the intense life we live now.
People were much more aware of themselves, more free and more open. The opportunity to perform/express yourself was encouraged, you could be different and be accepted.
They did not need social media to communicate etc. this film shows how things happened in the counter culture and is a fascinating film for that as well as the at times brilliant music by the mostly British performers.
This is a very different musical event compared to Woodstock.
The amount of concert goers that are absolutely out of it has not changed, just the drugs they use has changed it seems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Starry eyed hippie love-fest that spawned a monster!, 2 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glastonbury Fayre 1971 DVD (DVD)
I bought this while the 2014 Glastonbury festival was being broadcast on the BBC. so it was interesting to trace the origins of this massive many-headed mutant beast back to this starry-eyed hippie love-fest in a field in Pilton. Produced by David Puttnam ('Bugsy Malone','The Killing Fields') and directed by Nicolas Roeg (of 'Performance' and 'Don't Look Now' fame), this is an authentic artefact of it's time, evoking both warm nostalgia for a more innocent and optimistic age and the occasional belly-laugh at how naïve and pretentious it all was. The bands and music are likewise an honest representation of what was achingly hip at the time, some of it standing the test of time, some of it less so, but all well captured and worth listening to. And best of all for me, being a fan of Raja Ram in his new incarnation as a Goa Psy-trance icon (Shpongle, The Infinity Project etc.) it was interesting to see him in his youth, playing flute with his bandmates Quintessence. For me that alone was worth buying this DVD for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what festivals were and should be like, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glastonbury Fayre 1971 DVD (DVD)
Fascinating social and musical document of the festival's second year. Riveting performances from some lesser known (these days) artists coupled with a joyfully optimistic crowd make this splendid viewing. Such a shame that so much material was lost in the final edit, still one must be glad of what survived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not the Electric Picnic, 3 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glastonbury Fayre 1971 DVD (DVD)
Vintage footage of Traffic, Family, Fariport and more, but the real stars of the show are the very spaced out crowd. A couple of years on form the swinging sixties, these are the refuseniks. I wonder what became of the young girl dancing to "Dirty Linen" by Fairport?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Glastonbury Fayre 1971 DVD
Glastonbury Fayre 1971 DVD by Nic Roeg (DVD - 2009)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews