Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars11
3.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
3
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 June 2005
Northern England seems to be churning out it's new and powerful rockers. yourcodenameis:milo may appear to be the Notherners known well at the moment, but Laruso are coming your way.
Myself and others were incredibly impatient waiting for this album. Ordered in advance, it dropped onto my carpet [with thanks to Postie] and went straight into the player at 9am. I was blown away and awoken suddenly by the fierce, ripping guitars and flowing, powerful, sustained vocals of Jay.
Bring It On throws you into preparation for the rest of the album. Fooled by the muting of the first 12 seconds of Bring It On, you take this as easy going. When these seconds dissipate, you are thrown into a rocking frenzy. This album is made to be played at full volume in a large room.
Upon reaching track 6, the melodies are brought to a lower tone with a beautiful acoustic, drum-free melody with no drums. This song is like listening to water flow over rocks. Heartfelt lyrics and amazing notes contrast throughout the song. A very good song to relate to for many.
This album is an alluring piece of musical genius, once you hit play you won't be able to stop it. I advise hitting repeat for at least a few hours. You'll never be bored.
Watch out, music scene.
Laruso are WELL on their way.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2005
sometimes if life you get bored of the music in the charts, the same old same old day after day.............so then you go in search of something new!
my search started well over a year ago when i found Brigade, then life got better! the sun started shining as i started to discover all these amasing new bands! one of my favourite in the quest for true musical happiness is Laruso.
their demo was good, but then the album came out, and this is better. so if any of you like you music then this album is perfect for any weather!!! 5 very talented guys who write and play their own instruments, and can perform live with an amasing energy that gets you hooked.
in case you wondered - this, i'd say is a rock album, you have the faster heavier sound of the title track 'bring it on' and 'contagious', then the slower and amasing lyrics of 'sorry now'. but whether you like you guitars, drums, amasing vocals, catching songs or strong lyrics this album has it all.
whether you listen to this cd once and then forget about it, or you cant live without it, this is definately one of those bands that will help you in your search for musical enlightenment!
enjoy!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2005
I went to see Laruso on the closing dates of the Fightstar tour expecting the support to be mediocore as I had only vaguely heard of them but they stole the show, the album is amazing, all the faster tracks are brilliant and make you want to move and the sound is spot on, they are like a better version of Lost Prophets with a more consistant sound, check their website out for the vid to Falling Apart, they WILL go far and deserve all the recognition they will inevitably get, dont dismiss them!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2005
If you thought that Def Leppard were the only rock band from Sheffield to make an impact....think again. Laruso have arrived.
These guys are putting Sheffield back on the map with their raw talent and great sound.
It's the end of the UK producing cheap copies of US sounds - they have their own sound evident in the anthemic Bring It On and Falling Apart - you can say Laruso know how to rock!
With dischordant tracks like Contagious and the harmonious melodies of Same, this album is a masterpiece that you will not be ashamed to have sit in your collection for a lifetime.
For a debut album they are not afraid to take risks, varying their sound from the harsh tones in The End to the softness of Sorry Now.
Take a risk with them and buy this album - you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2006
I saw these guys supporting (hed)pe in Sheffield earlier this year, these guys absolutlely blew me away! It wasnt their music initally, it was their amazing energy on stage that just demanded attention!! They're incredible! Their music and tightness on stage was so incredible i decided to buy their CD there and then. I did not regret it, its amazing :) I love listening to it in my car! It just grows on your, the more you listen the better it gets. Its very very metal, awesome vocals, amazing guitar harmonies, brutal drums and awesome bass lines.... I dont think these guys are trying to be anybody but themselves :D Theyre real nice guys too :D Fingers crossed these guys should go far!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2005
Sometimes you stand on the beach and watch the water float around in the stagnant rock pools, every sound sounding the same as ones before, then a storm arises and your heart flutters in the anticipation, fear and excitement of what is to come... welcome to LARUSO. This album is written and recorded by the 5 members of the band. a melodic masterpiece that caters for all tastes. Rocking great guitar riffs into the more slower acoustically sound and written from the heart track "sorry now" . This is just the start for these guys. Often comparisons have seemed to mention Lost Prohets. See for yourselves. All I can say is BRING IT ON :)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2008
Recently rediscovered this album in the lost depths of my mp3 player while having a long overdue clear out. Listening to it again reminded me of how much I loved it first time round, and 3 years on, it sounds as good as ever. Catchy riffs, lovely melodies, some awesome double-kick action (esp on the track 'contagious') and general rock goddery.

Wonderful stuff - where's the follow up album guys? Come on!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
A friend sent me some demos of the band, and upon hearing them i HAD to buy this!

It's bloody brilliant!!!

xXx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2006
Despite gushing praise elsewhere, the fact that this rather turgid release sounds exactly like the Lost Prophets seems to elude most people. How anyone in good conscience could put together a band with the sole intention of ripping off someone else's sound, look, and style is something I can't fathom.
That's not to say this release is without merit. Well actually I am lying. It is a decidely average affair from start to finish. Average vocals, average guitar, and sub par drumming. If you are looking for something desperately uninspired, then please waste your money on this album, but for me I would rather spend that sort of money on something I might enjoy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2006
Must agree with the other one star review below (or maybe above, who knows!) This is really not something I would recommend, it really is middle of the road. The whole thing is fairly uninspired from start to finish, no wonder their singer left them recently to pursue a far more lucrative career in acting. Why can't bands just attempt to be original these days? It just smacks of cash in from start to finish. If you take the following example:
Take That & Boyzone
The Lost Prophets & Laruso
The former in both examples are the league leaders and innovators, the latter cynical, money grabbing cash-ins. Nuff said, don't waste your time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.