Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Indispensible!, 3 Mar 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H To He Who Am The Only One (Audio CD)
It is a tremendous tribute to Peter Hammill, Hugh Banton, David Jackson and Guy Evans that Van der Graaf Generator's second album, the wonderfully inventive "H to He Who Am The Only One", sounds as fresh and new today as it did nearly 40 years ago.

Opening with the brilliant "Killer", the album is a wonderful mix of rock, jazz and modern classical influences. Peter Hammill's lyrics, as usual, are superb but it is the band's music making that makes this the wonderful album that it is. The instrumentation arrangements are outstanding: in particular the way that David Jackson weaves his saxophones and flutes into the songs is absolutely magic. Hugh's playing of various keyboard instruments and an "oscillator" is equally inventive.

The bonus tracks include an early version of "the Emperor in his War Room" and, more interestingly, an excellent new work "Squid 1/Squid 2/Octopus" which was recorded after the release of this album and is previously unreleased.

Indispensable for Van der Graaf fans who don't yet have the CD in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The only one, 21 Mar 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: H To He Who Am The Only One (Audio CD)
Perhaps I made a mistake in making 'Pawn Hearts' my first VDGG album, as I keep using it as the benchmark for their other albums. Even so, I've yet to hear a VDGG album that isn't stimulating. What surprised me about this one is that it's much more accessible than 'Pawn Hearts'. The melody that takes you straight into 'Killer' is no aberration. All of the tracks have vivid musical themes, but they are accessible in relative terms. There's still a lot going on aside of the good tunes, with VDGG making imaginative use of the combination of organ and sax. At quieter moments, the music seems to descend into dreamlike madness, such as on passages of free-form solo sax. 'House With No Door' stands out for its fragile melancholy, but every track is worth its place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent Re Mastering Job, 4 May 2008
By 
Peter Duff (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: H To He Who Am The Only One (Audio CD)
I have recently got a copy of this remastered version of this classic and mighty pleased i am too. Often Re Mastered versions of 70"s albums particularly can actually make them sound worse. To echo sentiments already expressed here this is a fine job. Killer is still spine tinglingly exellent and the whole album is of the highest standard musically. Its a pity young musicians these days do not push the envalope as much the bands of this era. Sounds like an old geezers nostalgia? Not a bit of it Im only 12!.....and a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sounding edition, 8 Jan 2012
This review is from: H To He Who Am The Only One (Audio CD)
I'm not going to comment on the merits of the album as this is a known prog classic.
What surprised me is the re-master, everything sounds very clear and fresh (and no noise), done respectfully to the music.

Maybe the original vinyl sounded more like this edition, what is clear is that the original recording was of a very high standard, modern technology and good musical ears have brought the best of it to us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome "Squid" makes "H to He" even more essential, 30 Jun 2005
This review is from: H To He Who Am The Only One (Audio CD)
Thank God, we can at last throw the appalling mid-price Virgin VDGG cd's where they belong : into the bin!
"THE BOX" had of course prepared us for the sound quality of these remasters, but an extra track like "Squid" is indeed an unexpected pleasure (although "pleasure" may not be the most appropriate word in this case). If you thought "Pawn Hearts" was weird , think again and think hard, because this is something else, I can tell you. "Squid/Octopus" is more than bizarre even by VDGG standards; the whole band sounds POSSESSED during the 15 minutes of this piece. You know rumour at the time had it Nic Potter left Van Der Graaf halfway through "H to He" because he was getting increasingly uneasy with Hammill's occult obsessions. Well on the basis of THIS it's a miracle they didn't ALL quit (and join a monastery or something to save their souls!) Diabolical! But why wait so long to release it? Then again, do I want to know???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth it... just, 27 Feb 2006
This review is from: H To He Who Am The Only One (Audio CD)
VDGG ploughed their own field in music, not obviously influenced by anybody, not obviously caring what anybody thought of them. The result was 3 of the most involving, moving, and sometimes shocking recordings in rock history.
The sound quality of the album is worth paying the money for, especially if you have one of the various poor-quality vinyl reissues of this record like I have. This is probably the most accessible of the early VDGG recordings (although that's not saying much). Tracks like 'Killer' and 'Lost' demonstrate the band's ability to be progressive, in the true sense of the word, while at the same time being one of the very few 'prog' bands who could actually hold a groove. And then a track like the Live-in-the-studio cut of Octopus demonstrates how close to the edge of the control they always were - it's an edgy, uneasy listen especially if you already know the studio version, but full of fire and energy. On my "Desert Island" I would have to have one VDGG recording and although Pawn Hearts would probably be that one, I'd reccomend this one for anyone unfamiliar with their work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent remaster package, 25 Oct 2011
By 
N. Dutton (Newcastle, Staffs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H To He Who Am The Only One (Audio CD)
This disc has over 70 minutes of music, with the original album being given a new lease of life via a fantastic remastering job. In addition we get an alternative take on "Emperor" (as topical today as the day it was written) and a red hot 15 minute live studio version of "Squid/Octopus" from 1971. Add to that a booklet with the original artwork, lyrics, photos and information and you are looking at a five-star package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly..., 22 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: H To He Who Am The Only One (Audio CD)
...amazingly, it's as good as I remember it having been nearly 40 years ago. Normally, it's worth assuming that you look at the past through rose-tinted specs... not on this occasion. Truly excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True and swift progression, 29 Dec 2006
This review is from: H To He Who Am The Only One (Audio CD)
Hard on the heels of Van Der Graaf Generator's confident and original debut, `The Least We Can Do Is Wave to Each Other', 1970's `He To He - Who Am The Only One' is extraordinary in how it marks true and swift progression.

Founded from an academic well-spring (Manchester University), this is a product of intelligence and construct, the band stepping up with a set that makes `Least We Can Do...' positively paisley in comparison.

Darker, even more adventurous, angrier and edgier, VdGG opens the album with `Killer'. This early Hammill composition is a blasted dervish, his free-ranging voice overlaying a musical miasma of wailing sax, churning organ, hammering percussion that somehow retains shape and purpose even when seemingly, hopelessly out of control.

Having showcased the band's individual and collective capabilities, `House With No Door' brings us down to a quieter passage of trademark period Hammill melancholia, already evidenced on `Least We Can Do ...' and to come on his first Charisma solo album, `Fool's Mate'.

"The Emperor in His War Room' (replete with fabulous guitar work from King Crimson's Bob Fripp - a fan), and `Lost' are episodic works unfurling differing yet related aspects of the band: once tender, the next all but `lost' yet still retaining their architectural whole.

The album closes with the wonderful, sprawling `Pioneers Over C', a 12-minute plus trip in science fiction, into the unknown, its uncertainty somehow prescient...

Exhausted by the sheer pace of developments, bassist Nic Potter abandons ship during the recordings, leaving organist Hugh Banton to pick up the rudimentaries of the instrument and make do with foot pedals when playing live.

And play they do: a whirlwind of international dates unfurls as word - by way of press acclaim and sales - travels. The material keeps coming, further recording beckons.

This excellent reissue brings us the original tapes, re-mastered with cogent booklet notes, great period publicity shots, and bonus tracks running over 25 minutes in Squid 1/ Squid 2/ Octopus (a live favourite recorded at the time but unused until now), and an earlier take on `Emperor'.

A work of depth and richness by a musical force that out-ran the pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VDGG in top form, 7 April 2014
By 
S. C. Lawrence "Dadsodillo" (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H To He Who Am The Only One (Audio CD)
Early VDGG material when they were still experimenting with alternative sounds and producing original songs that were quite strange but grew upon you with successive listenings. A must have along with Pawn Hearts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

H To He Who Am The Only One
H To He Who Am The Only One by Van Der Graaf Generator (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews