Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great package for a great film, or rather two, 12 April 2008
By 
Rambleast Reviews (Truth Or Consequences, New Mexico) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scum (2 Disc Special Collector's Edition) [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
As most know, Scum was made twice. After the initial BBC version was declared unfit for broadcast, the film was remade for cinematic release. While the first was the one that was banned, the second is by far a tougher watch. Both films are presented here, alongside a host of extras, at long last.

Scum is one of Alan Clarke's many films which deal with violence as a way of life with little reason given for why it is. For Ray Winstone's Carlin, staying on top is simply a way of staying alive, and vice versa, in the tough realm of British Borstal, more or less a prison for young offenders. The inmates in this prison are left to their own devices, which of course culminates in tragedy (twice even, depending on which version you watch). There is no catharsis in Scum; no resolution and no character development. If anything, all we see is character disintegration, both guard- and self-inflicted. That said, there are touches of humanity in the film, often overlooked. Some of the boys keep their heads out of trouble, and some even help others, although in Carlin's case, only when it benefits himself.

The cast is great, with Ray Winstone all swagger (allegedly he was hired because of his walk) and talk, hiding well Carlin's myriad insecurities. David Threlfall and Mick Ford both give entertaining takes on Archer, the institute's resident free-thinker and cheeky bother-maker. The supporting cast of villains all play their parts well, most convinced that they're much more important than they really are. Egos run rampant, and you can really see the actors having fun with it. Clarke's recognizeable style is clearly emerging in this picture. Many have said that the BBC version feels too much like a documentary, which holds up even today. Roy Minton's script is flawless and doesn't feature a single line that feels out of place, due in large part no doubt to his extensive research for the film.

The extras in this set are short but informative. Both discs feature retrospective interviews about their respective production, and serve to tell why the film was made, and the impact it had. Although I have yet to listen to the BBC commentary, I did give the Ray Winstone film version a spin, and despite the poor audio quality it keeps your interest throughout, and he clearly has plenty to say. It is worth noting that his homosexual subplot is only in the version of the film he does not comment on, and he has been vocal about his dislike for this element in the past. It is also interesting to hear how Minton and Clarke fell out over some of plot threads eschewed in the film version, only to reunite as Clarke was dying. A couple of trailers round out the package.

Overall, Scum is not an easy watch. It's hard to emphasize with characters who want to beat each other up with pipes, encourage racial violence and commit rape unpunished. But for the message it carries and its sheer, unpolished presentation of what are basically true events, its a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Representation, 9 Feb 2013
This review is from: Scum (2 Disc Special Collector's Edition) [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
Being old enough, and being incarcerated in these sort of places. I can verify that these films, do indeed depict a true, if mild representation. These films are mild in comparison to what actually went on. So if you watch these and think it was a brutal regime, then what you want to do is treble it. Then you can truly imagine what people like me went through. I was fortunate than most, I made it to the other side. However, many didn't, and it's those I feel sorry for. The beatings, sexual abuse, torture etc was just an everyday occurrence and it hardened you. If not, then you were dead. Simple as that.
People who think these sort of homes were there to help, are simply living in cloud cuckoo land and have no idea of the reality of actually living, or rather surviving in those places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 13 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scum (2 Disc Special Collector's Edition) [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant film, although the racism is extreme throughout the film, great acting and screenplay always a joy to watch.
The banned version gave an interesting perspective over the cinema version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars both versions of scum on dvd, 25 Feb 2010
By 
Donald Kirkbride "film fan" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scum (2 Disc Special Collector's Edition) [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
i saw scum when it was first released as a film at the cinema in 1979 and watched and taped it when it was shown on c4 many years later albeit edited
the BBC decided a number of years ago to show the original in a late night slot which i also taped unluckily the tape got chewed by my vcr and the bbc has never shown the film since
I also managed to get a copy of scum uncut version with the original trailer and alan clarke interview as extras for 50p in a local charity shop the pic and sound quality is good mainly because i dont think it had been played much by the person who donated it to the charity shop.
I will most definately be buying the two disc set of scum the only thing is that the original and cinema version more or less mirror each other i also prefer mick ford as archer in the cinema version as he is a more convincing character
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV version is better, 12 Oct 2008
By 
Pismotality (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scum (2 Disc Special Collector's Edition) [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
This set of the BBC original and the cinema release is well worth getting. The excellent and informative commentary on the TV original has the TV producer plus Phil Daniels and David Threlfall (the original Archer, tied into an RSC contract during the time of the remake). All the ins and outs of the TV ban are dealt with both during the commentary and in a separate interview with the producer, but of especial note among the extra is the interview with Roy Minton who is remarkably frank about Clarke's attempts to rewrite the script without Minton's involvement for the film - it ended their close relationship - and about his own subsequent falling out of favour with TV bosses.

I had only seen clips of the cinema film before viewing these two versions together so I'm not particularly wedded to it. The TV one does seem better: David Threlfall's take on Archer as deceptively gentle and disembodied means that the hard centre he reveals in the key scene with the warden obliged to supervise him is far more effective. Indeed, had Roy Minton been allowed, as he wished, to buy the original from the BBC at cost (once the rights had reverted to him following non-transmission) there would have been little point in making the film: the picture quality is fine (all film, not video) and could have been screened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scum (2 Disc Special Collector's Edition) [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
I got this dvd for a friend and she was very pleased with it. Never knew they made a 2 disc edition of this film so when I saw it I had to buy it and it was very well receive. A great price 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ray Winstone Is The Guvnor, 31 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: Scum (2 Disc Special Collector's Edition) [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
BRILLIANT FILM. This is Ray Winstone at his best. The West Ham boy is the Cockney Al Pacino.
The fight scene where he `does` child abusing paedophile Richard Grimson, traitor Paul Wellings and `Grass` Al "Walter Mitty" Parlour is the highlight of this classis prison drama.
This is without doubt one of the best British movies ever made and up there alongside The Long Good Friday, Lock Stock and Get Carter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars id read this if i was you., 16 July 2012
This review is from: Scum (2 Disc Special Collector's Edition) [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
just in case u dont know. theres another film just like this one. its called dog pound. check it out. great film scum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa83eb9f0)

This product

Scum (2 Disc Special Collector's Edition) [1977] [DVD]
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews