Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fully recommended
Etta James was with Chess for over fifteen years (appearing initially on their subsidiary labels Argo and Cadet) between 1960 and 1976, adapting and rolling with the times, trying out new ideas, never selling out, and making a heap of great blues and soul records. If squeezing fifteen years of material onto just three discs seems a tall order, imagine the absurdity of...
Published on 11 May 2008 by Lozarithm

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I would buy it again but ...
Difficult to get 50 really good tracks although there are no real turkeys. Buy it, enjoy it and learn to love her music.
Published 6 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Triple CD st, 2 Jan 2013
By 
Ms. Angela Johnston "virgolady" (england, n. yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Etta James: The Chess Singles (Audio CD)
i was happy with this product until i went to play CD3. I found out that this was missing and i had 2 od CD2 and one CD1. I contacted Amazon who re-embursed me and ask me to return the CD. great, no, as they told me they were out of stock and didn't know when it would be in stock. Thanks Amazon, you ruined my Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OTTIMO SERVIZIO DI SPEDIZIONE E PREZZO SEMPRE CONVENIENTE, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Etta James: The Chess Singles (Audio CD)
IL SERVIZIO DI SPEDIZIONE E' COME SEMPRE MOLTO VELOCE GRAZIE . MI TROVO MOLTO BENE CON QUESTO VENDITORE E COMPRERO' SPESSO DA LUI
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best Of Etta James: The Chess Singles, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Etta James: The Chess Singles (Audio CD)
Etta James, well the more you find better it gets, this is an excellent cd, I enjoy listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Etta James! Enjoy!, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic! What a treat. I love Etta James. A real bargain and wonderful music. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Etta James: The Chess Singles (Audio CD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug 2014
By 
H. D. Hoseph - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Etta James: The Chess Singles (Audio CD)
:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A lot of 'B' side material., 20 Mar 2012
By 
Peter (West Wickham, London England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Etta James: The Chess Singles (Audio CD)
As much as I admire Etta's singing abilities, I think the quality of most of the songs on these three CD's are not that good. I think some of the songs are uninteresting and as well as Etta may sing them there is a limit to what can be done with `B' material. I bought the CD's because of the overall high track count but I think that was a mistake as many I don't have any desire to hear a second time.
In summary, great value for money but not a good show case for this woman with a fantastic voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT REALLY MY CUP OF TEA, 13 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Etta James: The Chess Singles (Audio CD)
This is no reflection if you are an Etta James fan, I bought it for the track "At Last" which I think is brilliant. I don't really like the way she sings a lot of the other songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Etta James: The Chess Singles
The Very Best Of Etta James: The Chess Singles by Etta James (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews