Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Game That No-One Has Bought!!!!
I can't stress how good a game this is for any RPG fan! Its a bit slow to begin with, but give it some time and you'll find a unique RPG experience unlike any other. You play as a half human, half demon boy whose native Tokyo has been destroyed due to "The Conception". You build up a party by collecting and fighting demons in this world and fight in fast-paced...
Published on 21 Dec. 2005 by Mr. M. Cartwright

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars sometimes have trouble getting the game to start, and ...
sometimes have trouble getting the game to start, and crashes quite a bit in certain areas due too scratches on the disk. Still playable and have gotten quite far into the game.
Published 2 months ago by Jake element


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best RPG Ever!, 12 Sept. 2006
By 
C. R. North (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lucifer's Call aka Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne (PS2) (Video Game)
This is such a brilliant game. I can't recommend enough that you should buy this if you are into RPG's.

This is one of the longest games I have ever played and there is so much to do! The story is brilliant and the choices you make decide how things will end. There is a wide range of different demons that you can recruit and you can also fuse them into different demons which is really cool and they all have their own unique skills. The boss fights are also really challenging (There are loads!) and only a good strategy will normally get you through. There is so much to keep you interested!

This has amazing replay value as well as you can use different demons and have a different build for yourself on your next run through - there is also a choice to play on hard mode. BUY THIS GAME!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of the best JRPG on PS2, not for all, 16 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucifer's Call aka Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne (PS2) (Video Game)
Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne (or Lucifer's Call, as it's known in Europe) is the third entry in the mainline Megami Tensei series, a JRPG published by Atlus. The game starts off in modern Japan a few minutes before the world is destroyed by a phenomenon called The Conception, while our main character is transformed into the Demi-Fiend, neither fully human nor demon. In this game we have the opportunity to speak with the demons that inhabit the game world and being able to recruit them, for assembly our party. The protagonist himself is very customisable, as he can use some (25) demonic parasites called Magatama to learn new skills. The battle system is the usual turn-based system, plus the so called Press Turn System that allow you to earn many extra turns as you have party members. Exploiting the enemy's weakness will give you more turns, but the enemy can also gain extra turns from exploiting the weaknesses of your party. Overall, Nocturne is an excellent game but it can be difficult and unforgiving sometimes. Try it if you like challenging game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing, 18 April 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucifer's Call aka Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a great game! - I played it donks ago back when I was finishing high school and loved it. It really absorbing game (I get sucked into it for hours on end), the guys who created this have a HUGE imagination and the software to boot - we Europeans couldn't even dream of inventing up a story like this without it seeming... surreal and childish, and without COPYING off the Asian culture. Yes, you get strong bosses off from the start, if there weren't it wouldn't be any fun - you're supposed to level the character up and have fun mixing and matching that parasite thing you ingurgitate... (Maga.. something). The demons are copy-pasted from the other SMT? you get to see them in full action and not for a few seconds like in Persona (which I also love). I have a feeling that those who don't like this aren't Manga fans or just aren't interested in Japanese RPGs. Overall, very, very good game - I luv it:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucifer's Call aka Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne (PS2) (Video Game)
game came brand new, completely unpacked, wasn't expecting that at all. haven't put it down since i got it (again) one of my favourite games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Challenging but fun, 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucifer's Call aka Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne (PS2) (Video Game)
Like most games of its kind, it can get a bit frustrating and 'grindy' but the story is intriguing so I'll probably keep coming back to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars original rpg, 4 Jan. 2010
By 
Yuri Nuijten (netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucifer's Call aka Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne (PS2) (Video Game)
the atmosphere is good, bribe monsters into joining you to fights. Quite hard sometimes. many puzzles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucifer's Call aka Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne (PS2) (Video Game)
Son likes this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to JRPG hell!, 19 Dec. 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lucifer's Call aka Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne (PS2) (Video Game)
Shin Megami Tensie: Lucifer's Call (or Nocturne is the US) is by a long way the most challenging RPG I have ever played! The first challenge you have to overcome are the spell names, if you are veteran of any other role playing games, or even possess common sense then you can probably figure out what a spell dose just by its name. For example Fire shoots fire; Bolt hits them with electricity and so on. But here a basic fire spell is called Agi, electric is zio and ice is bufu I believe. I know this is just basic nit picking however you will need to learn a new set of spell vocabulary before you can even commence this mammoth of an adventure. But oh my god what an adventure it is.

It's Armageddon (literarily), demons roam the land and the world has become a wasteland. However despite the hoards of demons running around you aren't out to kill them all, if fact you yourself are now one too! Despite the world now populated by demons it possess an odd kind of loneliness that seems to be a constant running theme through the SMT games. Battle is of the standard turn based variety; however you only control you, not the team which you seem to amass almost pokemon style by sweet talking, bribing and breeding / fusing them into your team. However this is where a fatal flaw is revealed. If you don't have a certain character, at a certain level with a certain series of spells at a particular part in the game, then the game becomes unbeatable. Now normally this is where good old fashioned level grinding comes into play, however these enemies are very stingy with the EXP they dish out and levelling is painfully slow and still doesn't guarantee victory. Some bosses in this game dish out beatings with so much gusto that you can tell they're enjoying it. But the worst part of this game is that there are two spell in the game that kills you instantly, regardless of level. If you encounter an enemy that possess one of these skills, it targets you and horrors of horrors, finds its mark, then its game over.

Overall though this is an awesome game, the gameplay is good, the soundtrack is incredible and the story isn't too shabby either. However if you start this, then you better be prepared for a long, painful but ultimately rewarding game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucifer's Call aka Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne (PS2) (Video Game)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Has it's moments but ultimately it's boring, 23 Mar. 2008
By 
Mr. A. Whiteside "tonyjackie3" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lucifer's Call aka Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne (PS2) (Video Game)
This game has garnered many great reviews and it starts off really well and hooks you in from the start. However,gradually you notice that almost every new area is like a maze and this becomes tedious and boring. There are also far too many occassions when you just don't know where to go and this can add to the frustration.

The game definitely has it's moments but just when you progress you are hit with another area where you don't know where to go and the random battles drive you crazy. I was over 50 hours in on this game when I packed it up so you can't say that I didn't give it one hell of a good go. In the end though I just got bored with it. A pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lucifer's Call aka Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne (PS2)
£9.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews