Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album...
I bought this album after only hearing Blue Orchid and The Nurse, and also because i am a huge White Stripes fan.
The whole album is not dissapointing in the least. There has been doubt previous to the release after Jack White stated that he didn't much use his guitar on the album, but none of these people had heard the album.
Many were put off by Blue Orchid,...
Published on 9 Jun 2005 by chanthacic

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Satan's works
I didn't like this anywhere near as much as 'Elephant', which I played to death in 2005. More disjointed and with fewer standout tracks; those that do make the grade are 'As Ugly as I Seem' and 'Passive Manipulation', whilst 'Nurse' and 'Blue Orchid' aren't too bad. Overall better than its appalling follow-up 'Icky Thump', where I suspect Jack and Meg are simply taking...
Published on 9 May 2009 by Captain Pugwash


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album..., 9 Jun 2005
This review is from: Get Behind Me Satan (Audio CD)
I bought this album after only hearing Blue Orchid and The Nurse, and also because i am a huge White Stripes fan.
The whole album is not dissapointing in the least. There has been doubt previous to the release after Jack White stated that he didn't much use his guitar on the album, but none of these people had heard the album.
Many were put off by Blue Orchid, saying it wasn't "Seven Nation Army", but why would we want to hear an exact replica? Jack wasn't making Seven Nation Army Part 2, it was a new track with a fresh sound.
The White Stripes albums are always slight different; their first, self titled album was ecclectic and noisey, brilliant of course and very very raw. Next up came De Stijl, which sounded quieter than their debut but still as energetic. The lyrics were more mature and the album sounded polished and well made.
Their third album, White Blood Cells was the most "studio-sounding", it featured excellent lyrics and a more folky background.
The big one was Elephant, made in about three weeks this album was a sweet mix of bluesy guitar and quiet, moving songs and of course Seven Nation army.
Their new album, Get Behind Me Satan is probably the most experimental, with the introduction of the Marimba as a prominent instrument (a sort of giant Xylaphone)and more piano than guitar; the album is almost shocking by the way it has been stripped down. The first song Blue Orchid is fantastic and feels very Stripesy, next up is The Nurse, our introduciton to Jack on the Marimba, this song is also very good, the lyrics and rhythm are excellent.
Next is My Doorbell, sounding very fifties and with a catchy tune this is probably their most releasable track after the single out now.
Forever for her (is over for me) is a song on the piano, very nice.
Little ghost, a folky song with some great harmonies.
The Denial twist, fantastic, ecclectic and brilliant!
White moon is chilled out and calm.
Instinct blues is another of the quiet ones, with a bit of guitar, also good.
Passive Manipualtion, short and sweet, sung by Meg, but her voice sounds weaker than cold cold night on Elephant.
Take take take is guitar and rock all the way, fabulous.
As ugly as i seem is sweet and quite quiet.
Red Rain is bizarre and brilliant!
I'm lonely, a good closing track very nice.
This album is definately worth buying given time will become a favourite. BUY IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comforting, 6 Jun 2005
By 
Elliot Davies "ahttt" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Get Behind Me Satan (Audio CD)
It's really comforting that a band this adventurous can climb such dizzying heights. Record an album in two weeks featuring more Marimba than guitar and STILL headline Glastonbury? Music, it seems, is in a very good state.
The best thing about the White Stripes is the way you can analyse them to death. The artworks full of symbolism and religious imagery, engrossing! And JAck wrote a very thought provoking....thing...yeah, the artwork alone is worth the price, but people ain't like that! They want the music too!
Luckily it delivers, OH IT DELIVERS!
I WOULD say that "The Nurse" is the best track. Built around a Marimba with seemingly sporadic bursts of noise and lyrics about betrayal of trust, how those who you trust with your life could well be the ones to kill you. The White Stripes at their most experimental, adventurous, and best.
There are two other themes that seem to prevail. "Little Ghost" and "Take. Take. Take" seem to be about falling in love with a ghost that only you can see. What a lovely thought.
Meanwhile, tracks such as "I'm Lonely (But I Ain't That Lonely Yet)" toy with the idea of incest....intriguing, seeing as we're still not too sure if "they guys" are brother and sister, hmmm.
See, it's intrigue that makes them. They are...some of the mystics of music. As such it's quite hard to hate them. How could one possibly hate a band this interesting?
Ah, yeah, the music. It isn't to everyone's taste. Some will be expecting (DEMANDING) more Elephant, more riotous rock outs. They WILL be dissappointed, they will spit upon this album and sit in a corner, foetal position, gently rocking, caressing their dog eared copy of White Blood Cells. But for the more adventurous listener, who appreciates the place of the marimba in music, this is a treat, well reccommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rediscovered Rock, 19 Jun 2007
This review is from: Get Behind Me Satan (Audio CD)
I recently started listening to this album again after a break of two years and am so glad I did.The tracks still sound as fresh and invigorating as when it was released in 2005,a pivotal year for music.

Every one on this album rocks.My favourites include: Blue Orchid, Take Take Take, and My Doorbell.Blues at its best in the 21st Century and a raw,riveting listen.The White Stripes have one of the strongest visual images in rock at the moment,not contrived like some modern bands.

And it won't date,believe me. Buy this album if you can and if you like intelligent powerhouse blues/rock songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creativity rocks, 8 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Get Behind Me Satan (Audio CD)
You can tell instantly that this album was written and recorded in just two weeks - it has a live, spontaneous, CREATIVE feel all over it. After the disappointment of 'Elephant', the White Stripes have really turned up the inspiration and come up with a gem. I mean, just how good a track is 'The Nurse'? Off the wall, eclectic, DIFFERENT. Sums up the album really. Marimba and piano dominate, leaving the guitar for special occasions. Braindead types have moaned about this push into different territory, but if you want to listen to stuff like 'Elephant' why not just listen to 'Elephant', right? 'Satan' is their best work yet, and to people who don't like it I say - there were plenty of Clash fans who hated 'London Calling' as well, said it wasn't punk enough. Like 'London Calling', 'Get Behind Me Satan' will be recognised as a CLASSIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Garage Groove, 10 Jun 2005
This review is from: Get Behind Me Satan (Audio CD)
The White Stripes have their own special sound that, no matter how their albums vary in influence and style, they retain that underlying White Stripes Sound. That sound is still here on Get Behind Me Satan, so even if all you like is Elephant (which, lets be fair, is their most easily accessible album for the Man In The Street), you should love this album. There is enough here to keep everyone satisfied. There is a bit more funk and groove added to the mix here. They just grow stronger with every album. If you like your music with a garage groove, you can't go wrong with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original, Frighteningly Excellent, 8 Aug 2005
By 
D. Tuffnell (Huddersfield, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Get Behind Me Satan (Audio CD)
I love The White Stripes, and have their four albums previous to this, and I love them all. When I got this, I fell in love with it straight away as well!
It introduces a lot of new instruments into what the pair uses, and so many more ideas and melodies are featured on the album thanks to that, it's more original and fresh than any of their previous.
It brings in a darker world to the White Stripes, musically and lyrically, as well as live. A brilliant, diverse album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White Stripes take a step into the unknown, 29 July 2005
This review is from: Get Behind Me Satan (Audio CD)
To start with I have only recently delved into the wonder that is the White Stripes and have only 3 of their albums in my collection, the brilliant White blood cells and the equally moving Elephant, and can comfortably say that this album treads over that treacherous line of experimentation with amazing results. From the opener Blue orchid, with its irresistable riffs, to the immensely catchy My Doorbell, to the soothing ballad Forever for her, to the glorious finisher Im Lonely, this album leaves you breathless and craving for more. Despite the awkward nature of certain songs, Nurse being one in particular with its random crashes through certain sections, I highly recommend this album and believe it to be a truly worthy addition to the White Stripes catalogue.
Current favourites off the album:
My Doorbell, Forever for her, Little Ghost, Instinct blues, Take, Ugly as I seem, Im Lonely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All change for The Stripes?, 14 Jun 2005
This review is from: Get Behind Me Satan (Audio CD)
There have been various critiques of this record saying that it is unlike anything The White Stripes have created before. Indeed, listening to the beginning of 'The Nurse' may have you thinking the same. Jack and Meg White have here created a record which is unlike their others in many respects, but still with hints of the past.
Tracks such as Blue Orchid, The Nurse and My Doorbell should become instant Stripes classics. The raw, catchy beats of Blue Orchid will immediately hook the listener, encouraging to take the entire ride that is Get Behind Me, Satan. Indeed, many of the tracks on the album are certainly different to things which have been done before. The Nurse, perhaps most noticeably, accompanied by a jagged piano and marimba, is quite a new angle for the Stripes to take, though it does them many favours.
Clocking in at just under forty-five minutes, this is well worth the money. Some fans may be shocked by the noticeable lack of squealing guitar solos; the music is now more raw and edgy. Fans of the White Stripes should certainly not miss this, and fans of indie rock, alternative rock and rock in general should give this a try - you'll probably be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 9 Jun 2005
This review is from: Get Behind Me Satan (Audio CD)
The new White Stripes album is brilliant. Reviews have criticised Jack for seeming to desert his guitar for a lot of the album, and I admit, I do miss it a bit too. However, the presence of the piano does not take away from the fact that this is still an original, great album that all White Stripes fans should love. I love all the tracks particularly 'little ghost' which has a hotel yorba kind of feel about it.
Go out and buy it now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confounding expectations, 26 Jun 2005
By 
katy_goga (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Get Behind Me Satan (Audio CD)
This record surprised me. I am a fan of the White Stripes, and awaited this new album with anticipation. I knew it was going to be something of a departure from their previous albums, but was still surprised not to love it straight away. Even Blue Orchid took a few plays for me to get into. But it's well worth the effort - this is a grower of an album. The standout tracks for me are My Doorbell (instantly hooked on this one - very catchy) and Passive Manipulation (charmingly sung by Meg), but I now love them all. It's refreshing to hear more piano-based songs and quiet ballads as well as a couple of tracks heavy on the electric guitar - on this album I actually prefer the former. And as far as comments from another reviewer about Meg being an "extremely untalented drummer" go - technical expertise is not the point! You need to have more than just a surface interest in music to appreciate this album. In conclusion: intriguing and ultimately beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Get Behind Me Satan
Get Behind Me Satan by The White Stripes (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews