Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the older tv's out there
I just thought I'd mention something about this remote that may be of help. I'd been searching for a cheap remote that would operate the brightness, contrast and colour functions on my tv for a long time (including several purchases that failed to do the job). Since I can't control them via my tv and my original remote is broken I have been watching things in darkness for...
Published on 26 Oct 2006 by J. Hyatt

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Philex RC026 SP Universal remote control
If it was possible to give this CHEAP PIECE OF RUBBISH 0 points I would!! I spent some two hours following the instructions trying to get this item tuned to my Panasonic TV a brand that it says it covers!! It does not!! I am quite good with TV & other such things so I know I wasn't making a mistake. This is just a poor piece of equipment & I would tell people not to buy...
Published on 22 Feb 2007 by Mark Elmer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Philex RC026 SP Universal remote control, 22 Feb 2007
By 
Mark Elmer "Markie Mark" (North Harrow, Middx, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philex 4 - Way Universal remote control (Accessory)
If it was possible to give this CHEAP PIECE OF RUBBISH 0 points I would!! I spent some two hours following the instructions trying to get this item tuned to my Panasonic TV a brand that it says it covers!! It does not!! I am quite good with TV & other such things so I know I wasn't making a mistake. This is just a poor piece of equipment & I would tell people not to buy it. I demanded a refund from amazon & have got it but save yourselves the bother & avoid this like you would avoid someone like Jade Gooding!!......Because its that bad!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only worked 1 in 4 of my devices., 26 Dec 2006
By 
J. G. Brown Jnr (Stockport U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philex 4 - Way Universal remote control (Accessory)
I bought one of these to replace a worn Sky digibox remote after I read, ' loaded with the latest Sky and Sky plus codes'. I tried the one code in the supplied leaflet, which is listed under Sky, and it didn't work my box.

So I tried it on my Metronic Sat box (using the one listed Metronic Sat code) and it wouldn't work that either. Then I tried it on my DVD recorder, no code is listed in the leaflet so I used auto search, again no joy.

Finally, my Philips TV, some buttons worked but when the menu came up I couldn't move left, right, up or down. On all of these devices, I tried auto search several times with no success.

My conclusion, this is the least effective multi-device remote control I have ever bought, and if my experience is anything to go by, it doesn't work too many devices, but I'll give it one star because it partly worked my TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Compatibility problems and poor sensitivity, 21 Dec 2006
By 
Peter Guymer (Provence, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philex 4 - Way Universal remote control (Accessory)
I ordered this remote to replace a Magician-4 remote which has gone on the blink. I wanted to control my Sony 50" LCD TV, a Panasonic Sky receiver and an LG Combi DVD/VCR.

Given that all my gear is quite recent and that the previous remote managed to control all these I was very disappointed with the functionality of the Philex remote.

The best I could achieve on the TV was the on/off, channel change and volume controls - no other buttons worked.

On the Sky receiver most buttons worked, except bizarrely, the red button.

For the DVD recorder, unsurprisingly, very little worked - you could not possible program a recording for example.

It may be that I was just unlucky with my particular equipment - what was totally unacceptable though was the poor sensitivity of the remote - no unit would react unless the remote was pointed directly at the unit's IR sensor whereas the Magician 4 could be pointed in any direction from up to 5 metres away.

Happily a refund is on its way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the older tv's out there, 26 Oct 2006
By 
J. Hyatt "Joe" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philex 4 - Way Universal remote control (Accessory)
I just thought I'd mention something about this remote that may be of help. I'd been searching for a cheap remote that would operate the brightness, contrast and colour functions on my tv for a long time (including several purchases that failed to do the job). Since I can't control them via my tv and my original remote is broken I have been watching things in darkness for months! This did the job perfectly thanks to it's shift function and was reasonably easy to set up. Cheaper than any of the others I've bought to! So if, like me, you're looking for a replacement remote for an old tv that doesn't have a menu function I'd highly recommend it.

No batteries supplied, hence the 4 stars only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philex 4 - Way Universal remote control (Accessory)
Had to purchase one of these after buying a second hand DVD Player without a remote. Easy to program to specific models and is relatively simple to use despite the number of face buttons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Universally known for jack-...., 19 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Philex 4 - Way Universal remote control (Accessory)
Well I wish I could go back in time and smack myself before purchasing this. Its great if it works on your tv (which it did for me) but it takes a long time to set up and it doesnt work on all tvs (despite being "universal").

If you get this remote your a brave gambler. Buy yourself a new tv rather than this remote
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work, 9 July 2007
By 
C. Hatfield (Leafy Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philex 4 - Way Universal remote control (Accessory)
This is not worth buying even if it is cheap. It's still a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Philex 4 - Way Universal remote control
Used & New from: 4.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews