Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic James Dean
The unique charisma and talent of James Dean make Rebel Without A Cause an absolute must-see for all film buffs. Dean stars as Jim, a lonely and misunderstood teenager whose trouble-making has forced his family to move to a new neighborhood. On his first day, Jim alienates a gang of boys, gets a girlfriend (Natalie Wood), befriends a neurotic outcast (Sal Mineo), and...
Published on 16 Oct 2004 by Kona

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Film didnt live up to its hype
DVD of good quality just didnt like the film, thought it was weak in plot and i found Dean irritating
Published 1 month ago by Apollo13


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic James Dean, 16 Oct 2004
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The unique charisma and talent of James Dean make Rebel Without A Cause an absolute must-see for all film buffs. Dean stars as Jim, a lonely and misunderstood teenager whose trouble-making has forced his family to move to a new neighborhood. On his first day, Jim alienates a gang of boys, gets a girlfriend (Natalie Wood), befriends a neurotic outcast (Sal Mineo), and takes part in a "chicky-run" over a cliff.
Every minute of this film has become beloved by its fans, thanks to Dean, who owned the screen in his famous white tee shirt, red jacket, and jeans. 50s teens thought Dean spoke for them and they idolized him. He still deserves his icon status, because of the unforgettable character he created. When he cried to his parents, "You're tearing me apart!" you believed it was real. He was the epitome of the cool rebel.
Almost fifty years later, the character created by James Dean still rings true. They say a thing of beauty is a joy forever. That applies both to James Dean and this movie. A must-see classic film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nobody talks to children, they just tell them.., 22 Mar 2007
due to being released shortly after dean's death, this films success was virtually guaranteed and it certainly does not disappoint.

Dean's performance is utterly captivating, not forgetting great supporting roles from Sal Mineo and Natalie Wood. The plot and script are perfect, and feature so many memorable scenes and locations- the knife fight, the 'chickee run', the abandoned house, and the final sequence to name just a few.

a film i can relate to and never get tired of viewing, Rebel without a cause remains one of my favourite films.. sheer quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well I suppose, 22 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. D. Barry "batbeak1" (Chesham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it was something in its day, lost some of its mystique now I think... maybe a re make could do it justice and revive it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a buy, 2 Jun 2011
This review is from: Rebel Without A Cause (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD was cheap, P&P was next to nothing so for a low price i got the film and a bonous DVD with 2 i think documentarys and screen and wardrobe test which was interesting, so yeah a good buy. i recommend for many DVD Collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cause for concern, 5 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having come to this legendary/cult movie rather late, I was eager to see whether it lived up to the hype. Fortunately I found that it did - James Dean really is coolness personified and the scene where he is compelled to play chicken on the edge of a cliff is pure theatre.
Of course, there are stylistic aspects of the film which are horribly dated, however the movie somehow transcends these flaws and the result is a heady mix of thrills, teen angst, and Fifties chic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy Dean, the rebel of his era!, 1 Jan 2001
By 
gfaenger@gmx.net (Temporarily Skopje/FYROM, usually Greece + Germany) - See all my reviews
On of the best movies out of the fifties. What a pity that he had to die that young. The movie itself makes my eyes watery whenever I watch it. I believe that many youngsters find themselves in the person Jimmy plays. A must see for all generations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless account of the 'new' young person, 1 Aug 2009
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film that made James Dean an icon. Centered around his character, Jim, the story shadows how the troubled teenager feel's he can do no right as he mixes with the wrong 'friends', meet's Catch 22 situations, and faces a wrath of danger as his world is seemingly fighting back at him from all corners. Confiding with Judy (Natalie Wood), and looking after a young boy named Plato, the three bond briefly as a small unit, rebelling against the conventional nature of being a 'teen' and learning to love one-another.

From start to finish, the film is flawless in its depiction of confusion and insecurity. More importantly, it provides some answers as to why teenagers suffered these symptoms, and the cost of making choices for the benefit of others, only to realise that you will always lose and never gain. For me, the best scene in the film see's Jim and Judy lying on a bed in the abandoned Mansion. Judy asks what Jim thinks a girl looks for in a guy. While he suggests "a man", she corrects him buy saying all they want is someone sincere and gentle. This is such a fantastic observation on the confusion as to what it takes to be accepted by the other sex, and the requirements each felt were needed in order to be liked.

Given that this was released in 1955, Rebel was a truly ambitious feat in that centered from the teenagers point of view with a brutal nature rather than looking down on them as 'juvenile delinquents'. What's more, it makes the viewer sympathetic for the main characters - Jim, Judy and Plato, without once stopping to understand why. The film is more ever more important now for learning that while the 'teenager' has changed at face value since the films release, they still remain the same, insecure person inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is never out of date, 3 Dec 2004
Having a visual insight into a culture at a particular point in time is an excellent way of understanding what was happening. This film, because of the iconic status of James Dean, does just this. The film gives an informed view of the changing nature of families and young people in the 1950s. It expresses the desire of young people to change society without them knowing what they wanted the new society to be like, but recognising that a new order needed to be established. This film signals the development of Youth Culture as a force of change and gives an insight into the changing relationships within families that were being experienced at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Dean shines, 19 Oct 2005
In each of James Dean's few films the effort and talent is always outstanding. His performance in a film allows it to be worth watching on that single merit. This is one of the earliest films that tackles high school life and being one of the originals in having the main focus on teenagers. The studio felt the need to have it be in colour for it to stand out but even to keep it black and white as many mid fifties films were, it would have still stood the test of time. This film displays the talent they did possess. Dean proves easily that he is a compelling leading man and it is also interesting to see an early performance from Dennis Hopper as one of the gang who react against Jim.
To watch the film once would be part of anyones rites of passage but i guarnantee you will watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of those movies you have to see!, 11 Oct 2001
By A Customer
A true classic, and a chance to see the talented and unique James Dean epitomising the then new phenomenon of teenage angst. Marks the beginning of the '50s' genre. Intelligent and even 'arty'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rebel Without A Cause (Special Edition) [DVD]
Rebel Without A Cause (Special Edition) [DVD] by Ernest Haller (DVD - 2006)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews