Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dig This!
An excellent DVD for little boys (and big ones too!)who just can't get enough of diggers, dumpers, trucks & tractors. Split into three sections, this American made DVD covers road construction, house building and farming in a easy to understand, informative and educational way, but with enough live action for even a two-year old to stay riveted. It features lots of...
Published on 10 Sept. 2006 by Mrs. M. A. Hughes

versus
25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big Machines - diggers and dumpers does for us
Superb - the makers of this fast paced fest of all things digger and tractor-based really know their target audience. Friendly workmen, masses of action - with all the best bits repeated for extra toddler satisfaction. An added bonus is that you actually learn some really useful stuff too, like, where does our food come from, how roads and houses are built, and how much...
Published on 23 May 2006 by E. Hann


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dig This!, 10 Sept. 2006
By 
Mrs. M. A. Hughes "Maria Hennings Hunt" (Dartford, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Machines Diggers and Dumpers [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent DVD for little boys (and big ones too!)who just can't get enough of diggers, dumpers, trucks & tractors. Split into three sections, this American made DVD covers road construction, house building and farming in a easy to understand, informative and educational way, but with enough live action for even a two-year old to stay riveted. It features lots of different machines, from small excavators and tractors to massive earth movers and dumper trucks and, as they go about working, the drivers of the machines wave and smile at the camera! (How refreshing! You don't find THAT in a UK production!) My little boy absolutely loves watching this - put it on your little ones Christmas list - it's a sure winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rusty is my DS's biggest hero, 19 May 2008
By 
Jacqueline Gordon (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Machines Diggers and Dumpers [DVD] (DVD)
My 3 year old requests the section on farming every day. He loves 'Rusty', the narrator, and is absolutely enthralled by the big farming machinery. Not to go overboard about its educational value, but he really has learned a lot, and understands the concept that our food comes from farms and the work of farmers, and not the grocery store. He can also spot and identify a 'self-propelled forage harvester' from a mile away, which could be useful to him someday. Or not. ;)

Rusty's section explains the farm production and industrial processing that goes into making the ingredients of a picnic lunch consisting of a peanut butter and apple jelly sandwich, milk and potato chips. First is a description of dairy farming (including the plant-feed-poop-fertilize cycle of feeding the cows), then grain production and bread making, and then peanut, apple and potato farming and processing.

My son also enjoys the other 2 parts--road construction and house construction. From an adult's point of view, these are fairly in-depth documentaries, and if the topics aren't your passion, they can get rather boring because they are long.

If DS wants to spend his limited ration of TV on this kind of stuff, it's fine with me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big Machines - diggers and dumpers does for us, 23 May 2006
By 
E. Hann "EH" (Scarborough UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Machines Diggers and Dumpers [DVD] (DVD)
Superb - the makers of this fast paced fest of all things digger and tractor-based really know their target audience. Friendly workmen, masses of action - with all the best bits repeated for extra toddler satisfaction. An added bonus is that you actually learn some really useful stuff too, like, where does our food come from, how roads and houses are built, and how much you want to DRIVE ONE OF THOSE TRACTORS!

With an upbeat soundtrack and truly massive american working machines, this has our whole family (2 boys aged 2 and 5, grandad and parents) hooked! A real surprise, stumbled on at the local library and now ordered for keeps, pronto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'll dig this DVD!, 21 Jan. 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Machines Diggers and Dumpers [DVD] (DVD)
Father Christmas got this DVD for our son. He loves it. Its American and has a long running time so excellent value for money. There are loads of interesting machines to watch. The film is split into 3 sections roadbuilding, housebuilding and farming.
Overall a good DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't recommend highly enough!, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Machines Diggers and Dumpers [DVD] (DVD)
My 3-year-old grandson got a copy of this from Father Christmas and adores it - so much so that we had to order a second copy to keep at our house for when he sleeps over. It is an American production - no problem there: they have the biggest tractors and diggers, which is what matters most to a 3-year-old!
The first two sections cover road- and house-building The tone is quite matter-of-fact and not at all condescending. I think my grandson appreciates not being talked-down to, like certain similar videos do (JCB take note!). The site action is well-paced, informative (for adults too) and interspersed with clips of children at play with their toy diggers; drivers take the trouble to wave to the camera. My grandson loves the big explosions in the quarries - which are then played again backwards. Mums and Grans will be impressed at the fitness of American building workers (apparently it is not compulsory over there for your backside to hang out of your trousers) and watch out for the show-off hammer-juggler.
The third section deals with farming, on a typically vast American scale. It opens with a little girl making breakfast, then shows where all the ingredients come from. The sheer size of the tractors, ploughs, and harvesters is impressive. Animal-rights activists may be slightly dismayed by the scenes of industrial-scale dairy production in the States, but what most impressed my grandson was that the stuff the big digger was wading up to its axles in was POO! Again, interesting and informative for all the family.
(And no overt advertising, either)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 24 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Machines Diggers and Dumpers [DVD] (DVD)
I've only just received this DVD & all ready my Son must of watched it about 10 times. This DVD is split into 3 sections, Road Construction, House construction & Farm Country, it has to be said my Sons favorite is the Farm Country followed by Road Construction, My Son is only 3years old so finds the builders in the house construction a bit boring, this is probably due to the lack of diggers,dump trucks & bull dozers in this section. I have to say I am amazed at how much my Son has learnt about the different types of vehicles & can tell me all about the corn, peanuts & potatoes on the farm & he has only had the DVD about 4days. This DVD is total value for money if your child loves this type of thing. Yes it is an American DVD from the 80's & the picture quality is not to the same standards of today,& the music is a bit cheesy, but hey that doesn't matter for the kids as they will just get sucked into watching it, especially when the Construction drivers wave to the camera!! And if they are like my Son after they first watch it, they will be asking you to put it on time & time again.Its a must buy for all them little digger & tractor fans :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money well spent, 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Machines Diggers and Dumpers [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is adored by my 2.5 yr old. he's digger and dumper obsessed, he watches this intently and actually has learnt lots of new things. One section shows you how they make a house, they blow up rock with dynamite, visit a concrete factory, you see logging, a timber yard...not to mention the construction side of it...fascinating for my little one. So it basically has a bit of depth. Yes the music is dated and there are some dodgy looking fellas with their tops off, but I think it's funny quite frankly!

Excellent value for money, no brainier, buy it if you have a little one obsessed with big machines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All time boy's favourite, 26 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Machines Diggers and Dumpers [DVD] (DVD)
We have owned this about 4 years and my son is 7 now and still shows this DVD to visitors - he knows everything that will happen next and loves it. The footage is very dated but that is charming too. Surprisingly watchable for grown ups too - my own favourite being the house build - his the road build. Also have planes, fire engines (red) one - also worth buying. We have had our money's worth out of this and then some!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Big Machines - a hit with our son, 5 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Machines Diggers and Dumpers [DVD] (DVD)
Our son is 4 and gets excited whenever he sees diggers/excavators or other large machines so we bought him this DVD as a stocking filler for Christmas. He has asked to watch it a number of times and we haven't got to twelfth night yet so he is clearly enjoying it! The DVD is divided into 3 'stories'; building a road, building a house and how food is made (ie on the farm). We think the explanations of what is going on are straightforward enough for a 4 year old but also quite informative. Given the cheap price you can't go too far wrong however I think it would be helpful for people to be aware of two things - though neither are really criticisms. First the DVD was filmed in America which is obviously great for the really big machines but if you were expecting to see the sort of machines we have on British roads and farms then that won't be what this DVD will give you. The other thing is that it was filmed quite a long time ago. I don't think that's a problem for a 4 year old but for instance some of the footage of the house building shows what would now be considered rather questionable health and safety procedures!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for tractor/digger mad kids, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Machines Diggers and Dumpers [DVD] (DVD)
I Brought this for my little boy (20 months old) who Is mad on tractors. He loves this DVD, would watch it all day if he was allowed!!!!! yes its very American, and not the most high Quality picture but i have given it 5 stars because of how much my son loves it + it was only £3.27 bargin!! it not only fun to watch it shows you how food, roads and houses r built. i think he will learn alto from it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big Machines Diggers and Dumpers [DVD]
Big Machines Diggers and Dumpers [DVD] by Big Machines (DVD - 2005)
£4.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews