Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling music
It's by no means John Williams' best soundtrack, but the fast percussive music is thrilling to listen to, and the slower tracks make the use of chilling bitonality. There are points where the music does not stand alone without the actual picture itself, but the orchestration and effects are superb.
Published 12 months ago by Joshua H

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric*
The popular British actor/writer/director Stephen Fry once described John Williams' music as "always sounding like the film it accompanies", and this is certainly true of Steven Spielberg's "The War of the Worlds".

Morgan Freeman's voice, featured in tracks 1 and 14, is more of a treat than an irritation as his narration is strong (as are words of H.G. Wells)...
Published on 17 Aug 2007 by Calvin Scholtz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric*, 17 Aug 2007
By 
Calvin Scholtz (Cape Town, South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: War of the Worlds (Audio CD)
The popular British actor/writer/director Stephen Fry once described John Williams' music as "always sounding like the film it accompanies", and this is certainly true of Steven Spielberg's "The War of the Worlds".

Morgan Freeman's voice, featured in tracks 1 and 14, is more of a treat than an irritation as his narration is strong (as are words of H.G. Wells) and it bookends the score excellently. "The Ferry Scene" and "Escape From the City" showcase Williams' musical style at its most urgent and frenzied, and while some may see the brass and percussion as a noise, it becomes evident over time just how well thought out and structured it actually is.

"Ray and Rachel" perfectly encapsulates the complexity of this father and daughter's relationship, while "Probing the Basement" is a study in edge-of-your-seat tension, which Spielberg and Williams have come to perfect over their collaborative careers. "The Attack on the Car" offers music that appears to have been cut from the film where Spielberg preferred to play the scene with only sound effects.

The most triumphant track is "The Return to Boston", interspersed as it is with military-style music as the US Army takes down a Tripod. "The Escape from the Basket", however, is the one weak track on the CD, as it basically features a low rumble for the first 6 minutes before reaching a crescendo.

For those who found the music for the final scene of the film a little depressing, "The Reunion" offers an alternative, more uplifting, composition for piano. The CD ends with the slow, mournful tunes of "Epilogue", seemingly reminding us of all that the characters were forced to got through to reach their happy ending.

Fans of Williams' score for "Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban" will think that a lot of the music seems familiar, but there is still enough new material and variety to keep it dynamic and interesting.

*I had written a review for this CD previously, but decided to adjust it as it was no longer an accurate portrayal of how I feel about the music: perhaps it was because I first listened to this soundtrack on the same day as I listened to Hans Zimmer's "Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End", which blew my mind so much that I didn't give this one the attention or the recognition that it deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not his best, 17 Jan 2006
This review is from: War of the Worlds (Audio CD)
Because I am so accustomed to being continually impressed by John Williams’ work, I couldn’t help but feel a little disappointed with War of The Worlds. The soundtrack’s atmosphere and tension is expertly woven such as “Probing the Basement” and the sustained “Escape from the Basket” and the panic is obvious in tracks like “The Intersection and Ferry Scenes” but nothing particularly grabbed me for an eager second listen. My favourite moments are the broken piano solos that echo as if they are lost but these are too few. I was hoping it would grow on me but it hasn’t yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars War of the Worlds, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War of the Worlds (Audio CD)
Whilst I enjoyed the music on this CD I was really looking to obtain the music from the original War of the Worlds soundtrack - this music is very different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling music, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War of the Worlds (Audio CD)
It's by no means John Williams' best soundtrack, but the fast percussive music is thrilling to listen to, and the slower tracks make the use of chilling bitonality. There are points where the music does not stand alone without the actual picture itself, but the orchestration and effects are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scary..., 16 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War of the Worlds (Audio CD)
This music is scary and haunting. Not the best Williams soundtrack, as I find it needs visual elements to support it. As a composer myself, I personally get a lot from the musical ideas. However, it is not an album I would just sit and listen to.
If you like John Williams, then give it a try, but it's not the same as listening to Star Wars or E.T, i.e. catchy themes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting and best of all: frightening, 23 Mar 2006
This review is from: War of the Worlds (Audio CD)
I've always been a fan of John Williams and this soundtrack is no different to his others in the sense that it is bloody brilliant and fits with the film perfectly. 'Probing the basement' is a favorite - I actually get tense and a little wary every time i listen to it. 'The intersection scene' is another good track - forboding and scary, it represents exactly what you see in the film and I can't help but replay the sequence in my head every time I hear it. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mistaken, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War of the Worlds (Audio CD)
It's easy to mistake this for jeff Wayne's sound track, its not, it's from the film, if you are looking for the one with Richard Branson in it, go to the jeff Wayne soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

War of the Worlds
War of the Worlds by John Williams (Composer) (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews