Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's here! The C4 documentary on Rufus Wainwright
This dvd is definitely for all of you who stumbled across Channel 4's late night documentary broadcast in March (and again in June) 2005 about this musician bloke Rufus Wainwright. Like me, you probably got drawn in, stayed up to watch -- and once the thing was half-way through, regretted not having pressed the 'Record' button! Well, here it is, on this rather...
Published on 4 July 2005 by Chappers

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Am I going deaf
Ihate artists who are musically gifted and have a good singing voice but sings as if he has spent the night on the booze.
I could`nt understand a word,just a nasal whine. Get a grip son,open yer trap and sing for the audience and not YERSEL.
Published 2 months ago by OLDJOCKYBOY


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's here! The C4 documentary on Rufus Wainwright, 4 July 2005
By 
Chappers "chappers" (LONDON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rufus Wainwright - All I Want [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This dvd is definitely for all of you who stumbled across Channel 4's late night documentary broadcast in March (and again in June) 2005 about this musician bloke Rufus Wainwright. Like me, you probably got drawn in, stayed up to watch -- and once the thing was half-way through, regretted not having pressed the 'Record' button! Well, here it is, on this rather overwhelming dvd which is bursting at the seams with material on Rufus. Every link you take seems to come up with yet more stuff to watch!
As well as the C4 documentary, it also has all of Rufus Wainwright's music videos, plus performances both live (Cambridge Corn Exchange and Central Park concerts) and studio-based. Basically, the producers of this jam-packed dvd seem to have said "Here's the documentary and, hey, while we're at it, we'll throw in all the background material that we used to compile it, in its full form." I find that both incredible and fantastic -- rather like Rufus himself, in fact ;-)
As if that wasn't enough, there are also short interviews -- those that didn't make it into the 'All I Want' documentary -- with Rufus and others talking specifically about particular songs, with follow-the-rabbit links to the songs themselves. (You can also browse all of these songs in the 'Music' section of the dvd.) Contributors include Scissor Scissors; Kate McGarrigle and Martha Wainwright (his mum & his sister, both singer-songwriters in their own rights); Marius de Vries (his current producer); Tom Chaplin (the lead singer from Keane), etc etc etc.
And if THAT wasn't enough, there are two other videos in the 'More' section. A deliberately-naive and wonderful one done in 1998 of Rufus the extrovert, and a more recent one showing him recording 'The Maker Makes' in The Maid's Room studio in NYC.
Altogether, a fantastic dvd at a fantastic price. Buy it while you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rufus Unmasked, 20 Sep 2005
By 
G P Padillo "paolo" (Portland, ME United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rufus Wainwright - All I Want [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Last night when I got home waiting for me was the DVD "All I Want." I intended to catch just a few minutes of it and instead spent the next several hours viewing it.
The disc features a documentary made for British television which really is terrific. It consists mostly of interviews with Rufus, sister Martha, Mom Kate, Elton John, a couple of friends and various producers who've worked on the various Wainwright projects. Rufus and company are very open about his life, childhood, drug abuse, musical inspirations, relationship with his father, etc. It is, of course, punctuated with lots of music, mostly live performances.
There are numerous bonus features, additional interviews not used in the final cut of the documentary, a handful of music videos, extensive concert footage from various shows, recording studio takes, etc. One particularly lovely song features Rufus in a concert in Montreal accompanied by the McGarrigle Sisters - mom, Kate at the piano (who wrote the song) and Aunt Anna singing harmony. It's really something special and sends the Montreal audience into a roar.
A favorite live clip is of a flamboyantly costumed Rufus (as well as the entire band) performing "What a World" which of course opens with tubas and segues into it's main accompaniment, Ravel's Bolero with a boldness and an audicity that is guaranteed to bring a huge smile.
For those of us who love opera AND Rufus - there is one wondrously hilarious video of the song "April Fools," which begins with Rufus waking up in bed (simultaneously) with Carmen, Tosca (a deadly serious Maria Callas clone), Gilda, Cio-Cio San (played by sister Martha), and Mimi who join him at the piano, scores in hand, and sing backup. Together they run through Hollywood each heroine eventually expiring according to her respective libretto. It is, like the boy himself, utterly charming.
I can't recommend this enough - it's priced right, and is a great introduction to anyone wondering what all the fuss is about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rufus Wainwright DVD, The man and his music, 21 Jun 2005
This review is from: Rufus Wainwright - All I Want [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I'm not very good at reviewing things but this one i had to do, so here goes:
Well for all you people out there that are still thinking "so who's this Rufus guy?" You go watch the dvd and prepare to be amazed...I'm already a fan as it is, and for a dvd to come out is just perfect!
As 'A viewer' (from Stirling, Scotland) has reviewed in the most perfect way possible, long term fans will still get a lot out of it, let alone strangers that are new kto this oh-so very talented man. I think Rufus Wainwright is one of the musicians that just don't get appreciated and loved enough!
The 'All I Want' main section of the dvd, showing the life of Rufus and family when he was young and following him through the rise and fall of the fantastic musician that you see today. Every song written with a real depth behind them that no one will ever fully understand but admire all the same. Rufus is able to grab the audience everytime and the amazing thing is that he'll do it in any way he wants! Some very sweet and awfully touching parts of the interview still sends chills!
And all of the really really good interviews with the celebrities, the people behind the making and friends and family! The dude with amazing amount of talent and originality and i dunno what else to say but A MUST-HAVE FOR ANY MUSIC FAN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent portrait of Rufus and some fantastic performances, 7 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Rufus Wainwright - All I Want [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
As opposed to most who'll pick this DVD up, I've only just discovered Rufus- for anyone who's even less aware than I recently was, this is an artist compelling and inovative enough to have me buying his entire back catologue and this DVD in one day, and all of them are in constant use. I strongly urge anyone wondering about this Wainwright guy to do the same.
All I Want is a perfect introduction to the man and his music- one is as entrancing as the other- with telling interviews with Rufus himself and also with friends and (similarly talanted) family members detailing his rise to what should, if there were any justice in the world, be superstardom. The video footage of his early years is as telling as the interviews themselves, and quite endearing. For someone (that would be me, then) who knew next to nothing about the man before watching this DVD it's both enlightening and entertaining, and I'm sure even long term fans will get a lot out of it.
On the music side some of his best tracks are on display here- a stunning variety of styles, but always with strong melodies and real passion behind them, whether live performances or recordings, simple uncluttered piano numbers or soaring ensemble productions. Producers and colaborators past and present join celebrity fans and Rufus himself in providing insight into the songs and how they came to be- probably the most fascinating of the many features on the disc (well, except for the easter egg.... :D ).
All in all a brilliant offering from a hugely talented (and very witty) singer/songwriter/musician- a must-have for any fan, and a really-should-get for everyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only DVD for music lovers; an insight at a music genius, 3 April 2006
This review is from: Rufus Wainwright - All I Want [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
If you love rock, pop, folk, or just about any type of music, then this DVD is definitely for you. Rufus Wainwright combines every genre of music into his songs, and every single one of them is completely different. Whether it is the delightfully catchy Instant Pleasure ( which features on the "Big Daddy" OST ) or the dark, poignant This Love Affair, there is a Rufus song for everyone, and if in the unlikely event that you don't like his music, then you'll love this DVD for Rufus' honesty, humour and his sheer adorablity that you can't help but love!

This DVD charts his life so far from growing up in a bohemian household in Montreal to the release of his latest album Want Two, and there are some truly spectacular live performances that will prompt you to log onto his website and scour for tour dates! ( This happened to me before I got the DVD - as soon as my mum and I heard I Don't Know What It Is she bought tickets for us to see him last December! :-) ) and you will not be disappointed.

With interviews from the likes of Elton John, the Scissor Sisters, the Pet Shop Boys and Tom Chaplin of Keane, this funny, warm, ridiculously interesting DVD is guaranteed to be playing in your living room time and again. I can't stress how good this is - just buy it already! :P

And if, like me, you're a fan of Keane - there is an extra on their DVD "Strangers" that shows Keane and Rufus backstage and onstage at the Wireless Festival in June 2005 - a duet not to be missed!!

Also, Rufus has appeared on many movie soundtracks, ranging from Moulin Rouge, Shrek, and more recently, Brokeback Mountain.

So, if you haven't heard of Rufus Wainwright, then get this DVD, or at least his albums ( especially Want One ) and bask in the warmth of a true musical genius and his timeless art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars region check, 17 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Rufus Wainwright - All I Want [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Not really a review of the disc (which is superb in every other respect, don't hesitate to buy it if you are a new or committed fan) but a warning. I have now had two copies of the DVD, one from Amazon and one from HMV, and despite hoping the Amazon one was as described, in fact it and the HMV disc are not region 2 PAL but Region 0 NTSC.
For most people this won't cause any problem at all, but for some - and sadly this includes us - the playback might exhibit constant flashing between colour and black and white or other problems. The problem is that our system has only S-video connection for RGB, not via Scart. S-Video carries the colour info in a specific way and the TV doesn't get the chance to decode it correctly, hence the constant swopping between colour and bw.
The only way to view the disc with such a system is with the far inferior composite video through the aerial connection, or in bw.
Has anyone else seen this problem? Does anyone have a source for a correctly formatted PAL version? Does one exist?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To know him is to love him, 28 Oct 2006
By 
Jenny (Bradford on Avon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rufus Wainwright - All I Want [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Rufus Wainwright is fantastic, anyone will tell you this, and then you'll hear a track and scratch your head a bit and wonder what you're missing... I'll tell you what; the live experience. Rufus is one of the most talent and charismatic performers you're ever likely to see or hear. This is why the musos rave - they've all seen him. So if you've ever wondered what he's all about, give this a viewing and then get a ticket for one of his gigs. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 16 May 2005
This review is from: Rufus Wainwright - All I Want [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Like my fellow reviewer I too am relatively new to the world of Rufus Wainwright - having seen him live a month ago I now have an ever growing obsession. This DVD is fantastic value - with over 3 hours of footage. What stands out most, apart from the quality of songs, is Rufus' extraordinary personality. Everything that makes him such a fantastic artist and performer combine to make him a fantastic person and deserved subject of the excellent documentary here. He is humourous, honest and articulate and keeps you wanting to hear everything he has to say. The collection of songs featured highlight Rufus career and feature solo studio performances as well as live performances backed by his fantastic band, including sister Martha. For anyone who is new to Rufus Wainwright this is a great place to start and I'm sure all his fans don't need any convincing and have already rushed out to buy this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you need this!, 21 May 2005
By 
C. Latham "petsound" (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rufus Wainwright - All I Want [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Rufus must be the finest songwriter in the world right now - I agree with Elton John's comments in this documentary!! You get a fantastic 3 hours plus with this DVD, and it's a great introduction to the man who I personally rate up there with Brian Wilson at his peak (Pet Sounds of course, not Smile!!) If you are already a fan, you probably already have this DVD - if not, get it bought and spread the word!! When there's dross like Oasis at number 1 in the album charts, it's our duty as fans of proper music to buy as many Rufus Wainwright products as possible!! The documentary shows Rufus as a charming, honest, witty, warm man, and further reinforces the feeling that I 'know him' that I get when I hear his CDs. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Am I going deaf, 3 May 2014
Ihate artists who are musically gifted and have a good singing voice but sings as if he has spent the night on the booze.
I could`nt understand a word,just a nasal whine. Get a grip son,open yer trap and sing for the audience and not YERSEL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rufus Wainwright - All I Want [DVD] [2005]
Rufus Wainwright - All I Want [DVD] [2005] by Rufus Wainwright (DVD - 2005)
6.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews