Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queenadreena in cowboy boots, 25 May 2005
By 
P. S. Mcfadyen "princessbootsie" (Dundee, Scotland (U.K.)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Butcher and the Butterfly (Audio CD)
If Aileen Wuornos ever made music before her execution - this is probably how it would sound. Never before have Queenadreena portrayed to this extent the feeling of being used and abused. Being recorded over a short period of time, the album really has the essence of the band playing live - what they are best at.
The opener "Suck" seems tribal and sexy, then it turns to a wail of lonliness; "I will sign anything/Just cos I'm lonely."
The album moves through moments of pain, anger and seduction. The ultra-sexy "Join The Dots" is larynx-flexing and sultry, but even this has it's dark side; "I've brought shame upon you."
The acoustic side of the band is captured to perfection in "Birdnest Hair" and "Childproof" - both beautiful yet filled with sadness.
The album draws to a close with "Butcher and the Butterfly" - a disturbing insight, be it a metaphor or actually about Katiejane's unborn child.
This is the darkest of the Queenadreena three, and it would be (in my opinion)in the band's interest to release "Pull Me Under" being the most likely to do well.
"Taxidermy" was mind. "Drink Me" was body. Now "The Butcher and the Butterfly," has shown soul. Just get the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars �Extreme ballad psychosis � medicine for the wounded soul.�, 1 Jun 2005
By 
Steven T. Jarvis "Skarekrow" (Thanet, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butcher and the Butterfly (Audio CD)
The Guitars, they still fall like Acid Rain through my brain and the voices, yes the voices rip apart my innocent soul. This is a far gutsier (?) album than Taxidermy (which is, none the less, a classic in its own right) and nearly quite as manic as Drink Me; the beat is harder, the lyrics more aggressive and, all the while, the tormented angel voices, sultry and so seductive (Join the Dots!!!), kick some serious donkey. Suck is just so0ooo sweetly naughty girl being bad through need as a necessity, Medicine Jar is a soulful reflection of a life destroyed and Racing Toward the Sun just loses itself in the wide open spaces of its own vitality, In Red spits hate and deceit and, all through the album, guitars rip holes in my consciousness, holes that are filled with the lave-floe of torment and lust that give this album it's killing blow presence.
"Extreme ballad psychosis - medicine for the wounded soul." All I can say, and I could say so much, is that this is cold, sweetly cruel, perverse and yet lyrical and musical delight to behold; beautifully sung songs of torment and loss, abuse and depravity, of a life/lives undone by desperation and of hopeless hope unfulfilled. This is a totally absorbing album; not better than it's predecessors but far more solid, musically and lyrically more focused - this the progression of a wonderful and unique talent- it's like nurturing a disease, an evil obsession that will never kill you and never leave you to die. If you haven't guessed - this is a fantastic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspired & truly Awesome Rock/Indie 3rd Album, 18 Jun 2005
By 
S. Cooper (Telford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Butcher and the Butterfly (Audio CD)
1st off, i absolutly adore this album.
Katie Jane Garside rocks!! there is so much energy & emotion in her voice, ranging from screams to gently whispers. This is a girl who sings with true vigour, she conveys herself as an astoundling beautiful, fragile & intelligent young woman.
And lets not forget the band that back up this amazing sound with wonderfully crashing, quitar, bass & drumwork. The Fuzzy, rock indie quitar just works.
I loved 'kittie Coller tight' off the bands second album 'Drink me' and songs like 'Suck', 'FM Doll' & 'Pull me under' elevate the band to a new level, an hey check-out 'Seven sins' on the 'Medicine Jar' CD Single it's a none album track, and i cannot get the riff outa my head, trust me its cool.
Queen Adreena have excelled in producing a tight album with 16 amazing tracks each with a different feel & style everything about it shows a band that have really put an effort to make something new & exciting.
Oh and hey get the 'FM Doll' CD single, its a different version to the album. And i have to say even better, also you get the video which any Queen Adreena fan MUST own.
So if you see the CD in the shops, (maybe like me you will, like really dig the cover) and have not even heard of Queen Adreena then please give it a chance.
I have listened to it so many times already, and yet the buzz of hearing Katies Girly screaming voice leaves me wanting more.
This is truly a heart warming and kinda scary album
Please Buy it, love it, tell ya friends.
Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful progression..., 28 Sep 2006
This review is from: The Butcher and the Butterfly (Audio CD)
this album is, of Drink Me. Unlike Taxidermy and Drink Me, it is less in diverse ambience and more focussed on overall songwriting, each of which is its own little masterpiece.

The sound is admittedly very different, but this isn't a bad thing. It is simply a natural progression, with soaring melodies (Pull Me Under - with a hypnotizing sense of drowning in it), and the heavy basslines of Medicine Jar. Katie-Jane also exposes the mature side of her vocal ability too, with great power in Wolverines and the ferocious intensity of In Red. This is all beautifully contrasted by the inevitable mellow tracks, where Miss Garside shows off her very intimate vocal style, aptly named above as 'Katie-Jane in cowboy boots'. Childproof gives us a little preview of her new project, Ruby Throat. A beautiful melody about picking herself up again, it both haunts and touches, and has a lovely amount of country influence.

There isn't one track you'd want to skip, all beautifully captivating and resonant as always of the wide range of pure emotion Katie-Jane and the band have always captured perfectly.

If you have liked anything Katie-Jane or Crispin have done before, there is no reason to not be completely drawn into this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Katie Jane stripped like her doll, 27 Nov 2006
This review is from: The Butcher and the Butterfly (Audio CD)
On `The Butcher and the Butterfly' Katie Jane's voice is at its most haunting. Particularly on the track `Cold light of day' where Katie Jane's voice is eerie yet inviting and provides yet another beautiful Queen Adreena song along the lines of `Birdnest hair' and `Madraykin'.

As with all Queen Adreena albums it is the lyrics that shine through and make each song startlingly different from the previous it is the electrifying yet often terrifyingly blunt lyrics that make this album and the previous two albums.

This is not a album to be listened to in the background while your are doing something this is an album that needs to be truly heard.

Every note and every word inspires something new in the listener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars QueenAdreena..., 22 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: The Butcher and the Butterfly (Audio CD)
'QueenAdreena' was formed by KatieJane Garside and Crispin gray in 1999 and since then they have had numerous sucesses with their music. 'The butcher and the butterfly' is but one example of their highly erotic and beautifully aggressive music. From a very early age the whole aspect of the 'erotic' fascinated KatieJane Garside and its quite obviously expressed within the lyrics (especially with a song title such as; 'suck.') The songs do vary an awful lot as well, for example the contrast between 'childproof' (one of my personal favourites) and 'FM doll' in both mood and style of singing or screaming. Hope you enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Your Ears Will Thank You, 17 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Butcher and the Butterfly (Audio CD)
5stars for the first track alone. The rest of the albums great, amazing, an f-ing powerhouse - but you or your ears wouldn't complain if you pressed play and it just skipped from there. Essential rock, metal, music album...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for lovers of the bland,boring and worthless., 10 Jun 2005
By 
Mr. A. H. Edwards (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Butcher and the Butterfly (Audio CD)
Queenadreena's third album is alive with passion and is a perfect antidote to the dull(but oh so well produced)albums made by people who as teens must have thought"I wish I could be in a dull,insipid,boring band and make music for people who exist but don't live".This album is not some background soundtrack for a dinner party but a masterpiece of music made by a band at their creative peak.Katie's voice sounds better than ever and Crispin's guitar is everything from sonic chainsaw to soft whisper.Pete Howard is a master of the drums and his almost tribal rhythms are a key component of the sound and feel of this album.Buy it,put it on and just get lost in the magic and mayhem,then buy the other two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Butterfly live up to her beauty, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant!!!! Just by it, you won't be disappointed. I've never been fan until recently, but after listening to Slope by Steven Jansen of Japan/Nine Horses fame, I couldn't resist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Butcher and the Butterfly
The Butcher and the Butterfly by Queenadreena (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews