Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this!
If you love the League, this is the DVD you should not be without. It is the most wonderul example of what exactly these guys are about, showing us a glimpse of their origins and how the characters have evolved to where they are now.

This isnt just "Royston Vasey: The Play", it has sketches that they performed in their most early days, dressed in only tuxedos...
Published on 21 April 2006 by mollie1913

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Original Vs New Edition
I'm sure that many people who are reading this are already in possession of the original (and slightly leaner) release of this Live performance, which was released a couple of years ago. As one of those suckers who buys everything League related, I have to say that for this version to be given full marks (so far) is more than a little hasty.

Of course, the...
Published on 22 Oct 2005 by Daniel Chapman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this!, 21 April 2006
This review is from: The League Of Gentlemen - Live At Drury Lane: Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
If you love the League, this is the DVD you should not be without. It is the most wonderul example of what exactly these guys are about, showing us a glimpse of their origins and how the characters have evolved to where they are now.

This isnt just "Royston Vasey: The Play", it has sketches that they performed in their most early days, dressed in only tuxedos with occasional props. The Scott sketch is a work of genius (ie Mark Gatiss :)) as is the Legz Akimbo skit which closes the first half.

The second half may be firmer ground for a few. Its has all the Vasey characters in full costume. We have Herr Lipp with his usual innuendo laced german. An even more manic Papa Lazarou (if such a thing is possible). Mau Mau of course is included (how could it not?).And a wonderful lengthy "Dallas" style "Who Shot Pauline" sketch where Steve Pemberton and Reece Shearsmith seem to be having a whale of a time as Pauline and Cathy Carter Smith.

As usual the commentary is hilarious. I love commentaries on any DVD but the League ones are by far the best you'll ever hear. They seem to genuinely enjoy being together. Its not just a "work thing" for them. They are friends and seem deeply protective of their collective vision of what these characters should be. The one little problem with this is that sometimes their humour is very impenetrable at times, with lots of "in jokes" and plenty of "no we cant say that". But never the less they are a joy to listen to and always enhance the viewing of any of their dvds.

The documentary is excellent also. I loved seeing the other performance where they just went wild and changed loads of the sketches. That would make a great dvd all on its own. Mark going off script during Mau Mau is fabulous as he is apparently the main member who wouldnt usually change anything. And of course the changes to the Denton sketch are hilariously rude.

I love The League of Gentlemen and this DVD was watched about 4 times the day I got it. It was just great to see them doing the stuff live and corpsing occasionally. Loved every minute of it and hopefully you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ., 5 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The League Of Gentlemen - Live At Drury Lane: Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I was tempted to pass on this because I already own the original Drury Lane DVD. However, this promised a few more extras, so I thought I'd give it a go and I'm very glad I did.
The League of Gentlemen commentaries are legendary. I was disappointed that the original DVD didn't have one, but they've now rectified this and it's as entertaining and amusing as ever.
The documentary, Yoghurt and Mayonaise, is worth the extra expense alone. It includes a video diary from Jeremy Dyson, an interview with Steve Pemberton and Reece Shearsmith, some fascinating behind the scenes footage and a few hysterically funny live clips from the night Mark Gatiss went mad in Blackpool. I won't reveal any more - buy the DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Original Vs New Edition, 22 Oct 2005
This review is from: The League Of Gentlemen - Live At Drury Lane: Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I'm sure that many people who are reading this are already in possession of the original (and slightly leaner) release of this Live performance, which was released a couple of years ago. As one of those suckers who buys everything League related, I have to say that for this version to be given full marks (so far) is more than a little hasty.

Of course, the performance itself is fantastic, containing much material that preceded the TV show as well as some old favourites given a new twist. This DVD is absolutely essential if you weren't lucky enough to see them when they came to your town.

The original release came with a few features: 2 extra scenes, a short audio track (from the radio series) and a screensaver. Added to this are now a commentary track, a documentary, a brief gallery and a movie clip. While this may sound more impressive, if you aren't a major fan or aren't keen on stuff like commentaries, you could easily save a tenner and get the older one.

The League COMMENTARY tracks are always funny and entertaining, but on this occasion they're only discussing touring life and offering back-stage anecdotes. Understandably, there are very few insights into the world of Vasey adding to the mythology of the show that we have heard on previous commentaries.

The DOCUMENTARY is okay, if a little amateurish. It mainly comprises Jeremy Dyson's camcorder footage of their final performance, in which they deviated greatly from the script. There's a talking heads section with Steve and Reece, which brings the running time to just 18 mins.

The unremarkable photo gallery lasts for a couple of mins and the movie clip is fairly pointless now that the movie is out.

As of writing, this newer DVD is more expensive than the old one for not a great deal extra. If you're a major fan or simply missed the first release, this edition is well worth getting. Everyone else might want to save a few quid buying the old one, or see if they can borrow this off a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for fans, 4 May 2006
This review is from: The League Of Gentlemen - Live At Drury Lane: Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
If you are new to The League, I wouldn't start here. Part of the beauty of this show is the revamp of Royston Vasey characters for the faster, less poised pacing of a live show. Which is not to say someone who isn't familiar with the radio or TV programmes won't find it funny, because they will. The Gentlemen are hilarious with or without previous knowledge of their work.

Being a new arrival to the UK, I missed essentailly all of The League's original run, and I missed the first version of this DVD as well. But I'd highly recommend the special addition for its commentary and hilarious tour documentery showing more brilliant scenes from the final Blackpool date where the guys essentially tried to sabotage each other through the use of always-dangerous-improvisation to hilarious result. As much as I admire the Gents consumate professionalism, I really like watching them corpse and go wrong. An excellent supplement to a fan's collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok if you'e not an already avid fan!, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The League Of Gentlemen - Live At Drury Lane: Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this would be really good but I was disappointed as it was just scenes from the television series acted out on stage. It was well acted don't get me wrong I love the guys I think there great. There were a few fresh scenes which weren't in the series but it was minimal and not of such a high standard. It was repetitive for me as I know the series inside out and was just a repeat of what I already know but on stage. I would recommend however if you haven't seen much of the tv series!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 1 Jan 2012
This review is from: The League Of Gentlemen - Live At Drury Lane: Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
There is nothing I can say about this product except that it is brilliant. I love the programme so I can't fault that. The delivery was prompt and well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really ejoyable LOG, 7 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: The League Of Gentlemen - Live At Drury Lane: Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this DVD is great and have recently realised how brilliant the LOG are. Its never too late to appreciate this brilliant team of three. It is like Fawlty Towers, and is timeless in its originality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Get it- for the right price, 4 Jan 2008
By 
C. Mills (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The League Of Gentlemen - Live At Drury Lane: Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
If you think you would enjoy scenes from the Tv show done live, you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad965870)

This product

The League Of Gentlemen - Live At Drury Lane: Special Edition  [DVD]
4.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews