Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A tragic love story
A servant girl, herself fallen on hard times, befriends the aged Casanova, now a reclusive librarian in a rich man's household, eking out his days in obscurity, left only with his memories and could-have-beens.
Peter O'Toole plays the aged lothario, David Tennant the rake in his youth. As the action flashes backwards and forwards through time, we discover a...
Published on 3 Aug 2005 by Budge Burgess

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars a good romp but...
This is a good romp but I have been reading the actual diaries of Casanova and this series is absurdly far away from what he actually writes. It is a pity. It would be interesting to see an accurate series of even a part of his remarkable story.
Published 4 months ago by Bart


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best thing I have watched in ages!!!, 1 Mar 2006
By 
This review is from: Casanova [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
From watching David Tennant in other productions, I was as eager as anything to watch Casanova, so I was in my element when I realised that it was showing on BBC3 just before Christmas! I was not disappointed! David Tennant was excellent playing the cheeky but yet charming Casanova, he had me in stitchs throughout! Peter O Toole played a memorable part in this show as well! Everything about this was 5*! At parts I was laughing, at times I cried and at times i was mildly disgusted but that was all part of the fun! This is the best thing I have ever seen and I doubt there is anything that can beat this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant, 24 Oct 2006
By 
Ms. M. Gregg - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casanova [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
What can i say about this that has'nt already been said, absolutly brilliant, i have'nt seen anything so funny and such great viewing in a long time. And David Tennet. Phorrrr!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 6 May 2007
This review is from: Casanova [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Its all been said before, but, wow, the costumes, the comedy/heartbreak, the locations, the actors, David Tennant in THOSE boots...mmmm... A must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant, 30 Dec 2005
By 
Steffi (Staffs,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Casanova [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
I had never really watched anything starring David Tennant, and at first the idea of a bawdy costume drama didnt appeal to me. Thankfully, i was convinced that it was worth a try. So, although i watched with some caution, I became totally hooked from the first episode. It is funny, witty, poignant and shed a different light on such a well known story. David Tennant is just fantastic (as is the whole cast)and shone, bringing the legend of Cassonova to life. I would definatly recommend it to everyone and anyone-entertainment as it should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect night in (all on your own!), 7 Jun 2007
By 
Tracie (Bradford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casanova [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
One to watch when there are no kids (and preferably no bloke!) in the house - just get a big box of chocolates, sit back and enjoy. And has anybody mentioned David Tennant....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 24 May 2005
By 
A. K. Lanchbery "Alex" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casanova [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
I'm NOT a big fan of costume dramas atall but am a fan of David Tennant on stage, having never actually seen him on screen. He transfers the energy with which he approaches his stage roles spectacularly well onto the small screen and the fantastic cast and fast moving plot keeps your attention throughout. I'd recommend this series to anyone even if you're not a costume drama fan. Even if you don't like the way the story is adapted you've got to give credit for the seamless way it is put together and the performances of the amazing cast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good to go - except for rthe subtitles, 16 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casanova [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of Russell T Davies' most romantic comedy dramas. And in this DVD, it's all joined together at the seams, instead of being 3 separate episodes (with "Next time", credits, etc).

All well and good - but did they cut a bit to make it fit better? The blurb on the back says not...

The other thing which is irritating for an English viewer is that it's a Dutch DVD. So you get Dutch subtitles by default. Which means every time you play it, you have to go into the bit in the menu that enables you to turn them off. Which means I can't lend it to my 90 year old technophobic mother. Shame.

Hence the 4-stars. Otherwise, you get the entire glorious panoply - and it is a glorious romp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Casanova, 26 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casanova [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
DVD of television seriew - daughter wanted for Christmas as loved David Tennant as Dr. Who when she watched with her sons - enjoyed it very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Casanova Wonderfull, 24 Oct 2010
By 
J. A. Joyce "juliebunting" (basildon essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casanova [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
i brought this dvd for the fact that the gorgeous David tennant is in it lol, being a fan of the man well i had to didnt i lol, anyway it is well acted and absolutely wonderfull, peter otoole is allso very mesmirising as is David Tennant, very sad at the end tho, a few tears were shed .
i adore Davids Cheeky side to the character, Casanova [2005] [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good quality, 12 May 2010
By 
Lydia Hamill "Lids" (N.I) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casanova [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Good quality, pity the box wasn't in English but apart from that I was very pleased!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Casanova [2005] [DVD]
Casanova [2005] [DVD] by Peter O'Toole (DVD - 2005)
24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews