Customer Reviews


236 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never mind the CGI
This was a much-anticipated movie - the final piece of the jigsaw. How does Anakin finally turn into Darth Vader?

Highly effectively. The fall from grace and seduction by evil are masterful and complex and all achieved by love - it's all for love, and it destroys Anakin, the woman he loves, and everything he wanted to protect - almost.

The first...
Published 4 months ago by Alex Lyon

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching - but a classic?
Well, I readily admit I watched this at the cinema on release.

That was a given. I was at the local cinema previously with my girlfriend, when the 'Nostalgia' trailer was shown, and for the first time EVER I sat in a (full) but QUIET cinema. That was the anticipation for this film. I recently purchased the DVD to complete the six films in my collection. It *is*...
Published on 12 Nov 2006 by Mr. J. Young


‹ Previous | 122 23 24 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best star wars film, 16 Aug 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I really don't like star wars, but this was not bad for a star wars film. I think it is great that A gOOd guy turns to a bad guy and fights a goo d guy (that is a great idea.)

MAIce Windoo gets killed by Chasler Palpertine and I think they gave the Empror great powers. Anikan Sky-wallker turns to Darth Vader right at the end after he got thrown into larver.

I don't think it was a good idea for ANIkan to survive in larver and Obi-one is my favourite charecter. My friends all love star wars, so I was always the odd one out. I never have liked the idea of light-sabers I don't like the weapons at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best yet ...?, 15 May 2006
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
... well, at least as far as the prequel trilogy goes, this is easily the best of the bunch. 'Revenge of the Sith' is darker and more punchy than its predecessors, despite the mass of story that Lucas has left himself with for one film. Perhaps this shows a little, as this is also the longest of the Star Wars films, even if it doesn't feel like it. Essentially this plots the fall of Anakin Skywalker, a Jedi we all know if going to go bad sooner or later. But even if we always knew what was going to happen, we were never sure how the characters would get there. This film shows how easy it is for a good person to go bad - in essence, the message of 'Revenge of the Sith' is simple: people can become victim to circumstances.

Philosophising aside, there are moments when some of the plot feels a little rushed. Considering Lucas had three films to get to this point, the rushed last moments feel like a shame. That aside, the film is pure, class Star Wars, through and through. It may not be classic Star Wars - nothing ever will be, but this final film is certainly as good as the original trilogy (with the exception of 'Empire', which will always stand out as the best of the bunch.)

Effects are all fabulous, as one would expect. The CGI looks a little less glossy than the (at times) hyper-real 'Attack of the Clones'. The action is handled with confidence and there's a welcome streak of humour running through this film - something that felt missing in the earlier episodes. Palpatine marches off with all the acting honours, stealing every scene even before he visits the make-up tent. Yoda's range has also increased, through improved characterisation. McGregor seems more at ease with the role than ever and Christensen is much improved on his poorly written part from Episode II. Only Portman feels a little left out of the action, despite her central, even pivotal, role in proceedings.

The extras disk is as entertaining as ever, with tonnes of material explaining all the elements and departments involved in producing a film. It's actually quite interesting and makes up for the CGI focussed material that dominated the Episode II extras.

A great film. A fitting end to a cinematic legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter Rubbish, 6 Sep 2007
By 
V. Harris "Musical Epicure" (Barry - South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
George Lucas should hang his head in shame after inflicting this upon a dedicated audience. Episodes 1-3 always were always going to have a rough time of it, up against the originals, but this really is absolute tosh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 7 Jun 2007
By 
Mark (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Not going to go on and on about this film, all I am going to say is that I thought it was ok thats all. Thought the fight scenes could have been better but the film had quite a lot of bits that were so boring, but overall it is an ok film. The original three are still the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best star wars movie since empire strikes back, 6 Jun 2008
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
better than the boring phamtom menace and the simply awful attack of the clones director george lucas has at last delivered a star wars movie the fans can shout about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Long Time ago, in a Galaxy far, far away, 22 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The Greatest of all films. I came out of the cinema, thinking why does it have to end here? The film was just amazing.
Action :10
Acting :8( because of Obi-Wans wooden acting)
Story :10
Overall : 10 out of 10
The greatest of all Star Wars films, this is a worthy ending.
It's cool to be a Star Wars fan. Everyone in my school said they hated it, then when they saw Episode 3, it was either alright or great.
Thanks George Lucas for this fantastic film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The depth of a Saturday morning cartoon, 7 Aug 2005
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
It all started so well, the chaotic battle, in media res, is bold and exciting, but then it anti-climaxes spectacularly with the throwaway death of... well you know who. The film never recovers after that. Disasterous characterisation, plot and dialogue (of course being a Star Wars fan you're willing to forgive awkward speeches, but this is beyond redemption). This was not worth stripping the back-story of mystery, many of us have better imaginations. All you are left with is spectacle, and even that is played too fast. George Lucas has been watching his Clone Wars cartoon series too much. Stir in many annoying inconsistencies with the rest of the series and within the film itself and the only success of Revenge of the Sith is in making you realise that the first 2 films of the prequel aren't this bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Episode II: Revenge of the Sith, 2 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Whilst the storyline is good, the graphics and acting let down what, potentially, could have been the greatest of all 6 Star Wars films! It is better than Episodes I & II, but nowhere near on par with the Original Trilogy... It's a shame! After readng the book I was hoping this would be the film everyone was waiting for. Sadly it was not to be! Having said that, the film is not awful and is enjoyable...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If ya gotta message, use Western Union..., 15 May 2006
By 
Teemacs (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
So said Sam Goldwyn, the "G" of "MGM", showing what he thought cinema ought to be. George Lucas is clearly of the same mould, and perhaps even mouldier. He believes in the entertainment with a capital E of a bygone age, before TV, when we kids went to the local fleapit on Saturday afternoons. So, there's really no point in looking at this film critically, it's just a matter of whether one can accept Lucas's extended fairy tale in outer space. The characters are generally a joke (the best one, Christopher Lee, gets done in right at the start) and the dialogue is clunky bordering on completely pathetic. However, Lucas's ILM outdoes itself in brilliant FX (stunningly spectacular scenes), which is one of two reasons for seeing the film, the other being to see how Darth Vader acquired his trendy wardrobe. At least it's the best of Chapters I-III and certainly better than The Teddy bears' Picnic, er, VI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars question to fans !!!, 5 Dec 2005
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Hi I'm from Poland.I want you fans to ask about a quality of EX sound because in our country it very very poor, nothing like it was in episode 1 or 2.I'm going to buy version from your country but i need to now if sound is real great like it was i previous dvd's.Thx for help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 122 23 24 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews