Customer Reviews


236 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never mind the CGI
This was a much-anticipated movie - the final piece of the jigsaw. How does Anakin finally turn into Darth Vader?

Highly effectively. The fall from grace and seduction by evil are masterful and complex and all achieved by love - it's all for love, and it destroys Anakin, the woman he loves, and everything he wanted to protect - almost.

The first...
Published 4 months ago by Alex Lyon

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching - but a classic?
Well, I readily admit I watched this at the cinema on release.

That was a given. I was at the local cinema previously with my girlfriend, when the 'Nostalgia' trailer was shown, and for the first time EVER I sat in a (full) but QUIET cinema. That was the anticipation for this film. I recently purchased the DVD to complete the six films in my collection. It *is*...
Published on 12 Nov 2006 by Mr. J. Young


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never mind the CGI, 22 Jun 2014
This was a much-anticipated movie - the final piece of the jigsaw. How does Anakin finally turn into Darth Vader?

Highly effectively. The fall from grace and seduction by evil are masterful and complex and all achieved by love - it's all for love, and it destroys Anakin, the woman he loves, and everything he wanted to protect - almost.

The first movement is the good Jedi stuff we've gotten used to - death-defying dog fighting daring do in space, now complete with Buzz Droids - and I'm damned sure there's plenty of very clever people to tell me these are just CGI, and obviously not real - well, mercy me, aren't they? And Obi Wan and Anakin are just actors pretending, and even the huge space battle isn't real? Well, lan sakes Jemima, what a gullible old chawbacon does that make me! It looks great to me, but then, I liked the heat barrier in The Daemons.

General Grievous seems to be a character created to fill a hole in the story - someone has to lead the bad guys once Count Dooku is dead, and Dooku has to be dead because his death is part of Anakin's fall, but I don't like Grievous, and I get the impression that he's very much a villain for the kids. Turning him into a robot scorpion is a nice idea, but the Grim Reaper look is a cliché used once too often, and he seems way too self-aware to be a robot; maybe the bit that gets opened and blasted, causing his death, is his 'self'. He (or it) dies well, I'll give him/it that.

An awful lot of this is CGI, even a lot of the bits that don't look like CGI, but I really cannot imagine how they'd do stuff like the Mustafar duel or the amphibious assault on Kashyyyk without it. I'm glad that Chewbacca finally made it to the first trilogy (though a little cameo of the five year old Han Solo being grounded for bullying Greedo would have been sweet). I like the guys on Utapau, for all that they're CGI.

In the end it all comes true like a Greek Tragedy, and a dramatic volte-face as the clone army we've all grown to love and rely on slaughter the Jedi (presumably Order 66 was in them right from the start), Anakin's love for Padme finally turns him to the Dark Side, and the senate vote imperial powers to Palpatine. 'So this is how liberty dies; with thunderous applause' - that's really a very good line indeed.

In spite of it all, it's still a very satisfying moment when the young Darth Vader kills the separatist leaders, whatever happens next, the galaxy is better off without Nute Gunray - and of course the head of the Banking Clans was in that lot - good riddance.

In the final act, things start to look just a touch familiar; that ship on which Padme gives birth to Luke and Leia is the same one that will get overhauled by the Empire in twenty years time, and it is Captain Antilles even now.

As the final transformation of Anakin into Vader is completed (and the juxtaposition with the shots of Luke and Leia's births is very neat) the last we see of the Emperor (for a while) is him giving orders to someone tht looks very like a young Peter Cushing. Oh it's good.

I love the sense of a children's story being taken so very seriously and told so damn well. The lesson that love can be a path to the Dark Side is one that seems particularly useful just at present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't want the Blu Ray then get the original from the marketplace - best of the three prequels, 11 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Since George Lucas also made slight changes to the prequels as well as the original trilogy in the Blu Ray set, I went out to get as close to the cinema versions as possible, including extras. Purchased this with The Phantom Menace just to have that set, no complaints as it arrived in perfect condition despite coming from a marketplace seller.

For the opening and final battles the slow parts of this film can be forgiven, when watching it to make sure the DVD was OK, I actually watched it again a couple of days later and from then, you can chapter skip to the best parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fan-pleasing deleted scenes, 1 Oct 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Okay, I won't talk about the film; everyone's already seen it and made up their own mind (I loved it). But I do want to mention some of the deleted scenes which have been announced.
The previous two episodes had some deleted scenes, but although they were interesting, they didn't really generate a great deal of excitement. However, this time it's different; the fans will be thrilled with some of these newly-completed sequences confirmed for the DVD release:-
*** Yoda arriving on Dagobah to begin his exile
*** The birth of the Rebel Alliance, featuring Mon Mothma
*** Anakin and Obi-Wan swimming through a cruiser's fuel tanks and battling new underwater battle droids
*** The execution of Jedi Shaak Ti by General Grievous (which follows on from the 'Clone Wars' cartoon)
*** other scenes yet to be revealed
Plus of course the usual documentaries, trailers, etc.. I can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The circle is complete..., 23 Aug 2005
By 
Mr. N. J. W. Turnbull "St. Nick" (Canterbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
From the opening onslaught of the now over-familiar theme to the poignancy of the film's emotionally silent finish, Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith is a guiltlessly enjoyable sci-fi romp, encompassing the now familiar Lucas themes of Love, Regret, Responsibility and Greed.
From the iconic use of original dialogue ("This is where the fun begins!") in the oddly calm opening battle, to the poetic justice of Obi-Wan's tainted victory over the corrupted Anakin, ROTS is unique, the end of a dynasty, a film saga that is truely timeless, despite all the criticisms of the new prequels ("Too many SFX", "Pathetic dialogue", "irritating characters").
Fortunately, ROTS manages to address many of these problems (except the FX, still billions of those). Yes, the dialogue is still occasionally cringe-worthy, but who cares when it looks this good? The film that Star Wars fans have always wanted to see, with all the things we wanted to see. Clone Wars. Check. How the Jedi got wiped out (and SO cunningly!). Check. How Palpatine ended up like a prune. Check. Obi-Wan V Anakin/'Vader'. Check. Yoda V Emperor Palpatine. Check. Kids being born. Check. What happened to Mum. Check. How Anakin became the asthmatic poster boy of the Empire. Check, check and check mate.
ROTS is everything you could possibly want, minor quibbles aside: 'What? He had 28 YEARS to write the opening crawl, and he came up with "War!"? Oh, Bra-VO!', 'Why are the Clone Troopers all random colours like Red, Yellow and Green when they all look the same in the future?', 'That's our lot for Kashyyyk? After waiting for that for 28 years too? Utapau is better!', 'What? He turned to the Dark Side just like THAT? Jeez...', and the best one, 'DARTH VADER DOESN'T TALK LIKE THAT!!!'
But it dies away. While the opening space battle isn't quite as billed, it is intriguingly shot, showing the calm serenity that the Jedi can exude in the most turbulent atmosphere, further exemplifying the cruel sadness of their unbeknown fate. Also, Lucas moves the action along at a cracking pace, with some terrificly boys-own set-pieces, as well as freneticly gruesome lightsaber duels, the standout obviously being the duel between the two Jedi on the delectably designed Mustafar, with a quite ghastly coup de gras, fully deserving of the 12A certificate bestowed upon the film (the common Star Wars mythos still doesn't quite prepare you for Anakin's horrifying destruction).
To further complement it, Ian McDiarmid is outstanding, compensating somewhat for the slightly wooden Ewan McGregor (who almosts seems disbelieving in some of his deliveries) and the woeful Natalie Portman, whose transformation from strong individual to pathetic floozy is startling over three films. The scenes between McDiarmid and Hayden Christensen (a real star turn this time), especially in the the Opera sequence, are among the best in all six (!) Star Wars films, although, as noted, Anakin's final capitulation to his dark inklings is woefully underplayed, but that should be contributed to Lucas, not his cast.
All without mentioning John Williams' masterful score, fully embellished in the tragic segment following the murders of the Jedi Order across a far-flung array of war-torn planets. To call it a minor triumph is like saying how relieved fans were to see that Jar Jar Binks only managed a single line, "Excuse me", which is, incidentally, unnoticeable.
Tying up loose ends, being loud, and proud with it, ROTS is popcorn fun all the way, just as Star Wars always has been, even in the much-maligned prequels (I saw The Phantom Menace no less than 3 times at the cinema and enjoyed it every time. Hell, I even liked Jar Jar.)
And I challenge you not to get AT LEAST a lump in your throat when Yoda chokes on his words: "Failed, I have".
Only when I stop watching. Only then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This dvd was fantastic value would recommend this product to anyone 100%
Love my dvd and a great addition to my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Force is with this one!, 8 Aug 2005
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Let's, maybe, forget Episodes I and II. George Lucas should have started the prequel trilogy with this! All past sins are redeemed George - Even creating Jar Jar Binks!
Up there with the generally conceived best one of the lot, The Empire Strikes Back, Revenge of the Sith is a mouth watering prospect for any movie goer.
The birth of Darth Vader. That is what makes this film ESSENTIAL! And Hayden Christensen, slightly meek in Episode II, really proves to be inspired casting here. It's a shame that Natalie Portman is wasted (apart from one scene when she confronts anakin on Mustafar) with a tiny role, but Hayden's scenes opposite Ewan, especially the famed lightsaber fight to end all lightsaber fights, is astonishingly good.
This has got some of the most emotional scenes in the entire saga. Check out anakin's and Obi-wan's last conversation as friends; the emotion filled climax; and the dialogue free scene with anakin and padme looking out of windows, seemingly at each other, but it has so much meaning - this is when he chooses the Dark Side. It's haunting, epic and legendary.
This is what the Star wars story boils down to, what everyone has been waiting for, and it delivers in spades. Do we need to mention the special effects? Amazing as usual, particularly the opening space battle. Ewan is more at ease in his role, and seems genuinely having fun with his last foray into star was. Ian McDiarmid is all cakles and evil grins as the Emperor, finally coming into his own - and getting to grips with a lightsaber!
It ties up all loose ends, but there are a few niggles. General Grievous, although a brilliant character, was not really needed. Count Dooku was dispatched of far too early on. But in the end, you are just shocked at seeing what is up there on screen.
Afterwards, you have to watch the original trilogy. Just to see the man, who did so much wrong in his life, who had so much potential and blew it, finally redeem himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching - but a classic?, 12 Nov 2006
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Well, I readily admit I watched this at the cinema on release.

That was a given. I was at the local cinema previously with my girlfriend, when the 'Nostalgia' trailer was shown, and for the first time EVER I sat in a (full) but QUIET cinema. That was the anticipation for this film. I recently purchased the DVD to complete the six films in my collection. It *is* 'worth a watch' - but to me, like many others it is a 'missed opportunity'.

There are moments of superb tension and acting in the movie, but sadly, they are lurking in between long periods of acting on a 'basic' level.

I'd sum up the movie like this:

it is to be faulted once again for Lucas' apparent 'because I can' addition of CGI scenes that do absolutely nothing for the story, and, as many others rightly point out, look fake in the extreme - not quite as bad as previous episodes, but they nonetheless detract from the enjoyment.

CGI *does* have a role to play in movies like this, absolutely, but it is a case that Lucasfilm seem to have forgotten one basic 'fundamental' in that they have once again simply used too much CGI, which is 'mediocre' rather than do less CGI to a higher standard. The annoying 'silver ship' (no idea what it's called) is back, and it looks ridiculous as ever.

CGI creatures abound, again, looking out of place.

Overall it's a shame - Lucas does have the right to make films as he sees fit, but for the viewer it can only be seen as 'could have been better'.

The 'original' trilogy (again this is quite rightly pointed out by others) *looked* better because most if not all of the 'ships' were 'real models'. And one other point: maybe due to less technology, the stories were more entertaining, more 'traditional' and satisfying, whereas, like eps 1 & 2 , this film has the 'meat' of the story within a sea of mud. The use of CGI has put 'visuals' above the story and characters again - and that is the saddest part of all. I actually forgot the 'details' of the Obi Wan/Anakin fight, and it was nice to 'catch up' with a second viewing, but in reality, I could have been as entertained by bookmarking about 30 minutes of scenes from the movie as watching the lot.

For all the CGI faults, I must praise, once again, the work on Yoda, and the scenes including the wee green Jedi. Star Wars *is* fantasy, so we can laugh and enjoy such scenes - after all - Yoda is a Jedi master!

Undoubtedly, this (and the previous) episodes needed some CGI. But we know how this has afflicted the finished results.

With apparent ease, Lucasfilm is able to release, re-release and modify the Star Wars films at a whim. It would be nice to see some of these 'new' versions re-filmed with a more character and plot-driven dimension, with the best of 'traditional' effects and slight CGI tweaks, as opposed to the 'check this out' digital fakery. Who knows?

This is by no means a bad film, more that the moments of brilliance in the film (coupled with our ready knowledge of the first trilogy) show up the mediocrity within in a stark and vivid way. certainly worth a watch however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fitting 'finale'....of sorts!, 6 Aug 2005
By 
M. Gardner "Afro Matt" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The anticipation for this film was huge....Finally, the last missing link in the chain of Star Wars movies that would tie up all loose ends and create one glorious saga. And I was not disappointed. The film is big and bold and is certainly a spectacle. The story is fantastic, but then I fell in love with the Star Wars universe a long time ago....even if the actual script is at times slightly forced and even occasionally laughable. I wasn't hugely convinced by Hayden Christensen but he was more than made up for by the sublime Ian McDiarmid as Palpatine who clearly relished reprising his role and was perfectly exaggerated and wonderfully manipulative. These are minor gripes, though. This movie was comfortably better than Episodes I and II even if it didn't quite compare to the original trilogy (but then, what does?) All in all, this is good fun and a fitting fianl instalment of the Star Wars saga. A must for any Star Wars fan, and at least 90% of everyone else too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally Lucas Delivers, 3 Nov 2005
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I was 9 when I first watched the original Star Wars on it's original release in 1977. I was captivated by all three original films and became a Star Wars fanatic. All films that came afterwards I kind of compared to them.
Then came Episode 1 many years later.
Hmmmm. Not to good but I'm over 30 so maybe it's me.
Then came Episode 2.
No it's not just me!!
Take out George Lucas and shoot him like a dog!
I was so fed up with the way George Lucas had just gone through the motions and not bothered with dialogue or much direction that I didn't even see Episode III in the cinema.
Today I rented it on DVD because there was nothing else much of interest. I had very low expectations.
To my amazement it's a very strong film.
It has the pace of the originals. No long periods of yawning in this one. It's got good dialogue! Not all the time but compared to Episode I and II this is like Shakesphere!
It's still not like the original three because it's much...much...much darker. No dreadful gags in this one like C3PO's 'I'm quite beside myself' or 'I lost my head'.
You also get a good chunk of emotional performances!
Some powerful scenes where we see Darth Vader re-established as the ultimate movie villian. A role he kind of lost at the end of Return Of the Jedi.
Not quite sure why our few remaining heroes at the end decide not to have a bash at defeating the emperor again when they think Darth Vader has had his goose cooked but otherwise it delivers!
I think the biggest audience for the Star Wars films have always been the millions who went to see the original trilogy. I expect that by now many - if not all have walked away from the series after Episode II. I urge all of the 30-somethings and 40-somethings to look again at this one. It ( almost ) makes you forgive George lucas for Episodes 1 and 2. No really!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worse with every viewing, 1 Nov 2005
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
At the cinema this felt like a return to form and certainly better than Return of the Jedi. Having watched it again, the crushing reality hits home. If it wasn't for the brilliant Ian McDiarmid the standard of acting here would have hit a new low (check out some of the documentaries featuring Lucas directing actors - I almost hid behind the sofa it was so embarrassing!). The special effects are cartoony and in places frankly awful (Kenobi riding/Lava surfing)and the usually brilliant Ben Burtt sound design lacking (Episode I had the Pods, Episode II had the Seismic charges, Episode III has Greivous' fizzy sounding baton - rubbish). You can see glimpses of what might have been and it is almost heartbreaking. This has fallen from 5 stars to 2 stars in six months - I have a horrible feeling it has further to fall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews