Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of the prequels is still a missed opportunity
Is it possible to think of popular culture without the influence of Star Wars? Probably not, but it is hard to have any other opinion than that George Lucas missed an opportunity with the prequels. Why? - he certainly had enough time to get it right.

Revenge of the Sith is definitely the best of the three, and if you need to see only one of the prequels, this...
Published on 1 July 2011 by Jonathan

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Only the Sith Deal in Absolutes."
Until this last weekend, I had only seen Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith once, and that was when it was in the theaters in 2005. At the time, I pretty much hated it. Watching it again did prove it wasn't the worst of the prequel trilogy, but it still isn't a good movie.

The civil war in the galaxy long ago and far, far away is raging. Supreme...
Published 2 months ago by Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Only the Sith Deal in Absolutes.", 4 May 2015
By 
Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Until this last weekend, I had only seen Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith once, and that was when it was in the theaters in 2005. At the time, I pretty much hated it. Watching it again did prove it wasn't the worst of the prequel trilogy, but it still isn't a good movie.

The civil war in the galaxy long ago and far, far away is raging. Supreme chancellor Palpatine (Ian McDiarmid) has been kidnapped, and Jedi Obi-Wan Kenobi (Ewan McGregor) and Anakin Skywalker (Hayden Christensen) are hot in pursuit.

Meanwhile, Padme (Natalie Portman) has news of her own. She is pregnant. At first, Anakin is thrilled. But then he starts to have nightmares of Padme dying in childbirth. Can he find a way to save her? Will he be influenced by his close association with Palpatine?

My number one complaint about this movie hasn't changed. If you've seen the other Star Wars movies (the ones now called Episodes IV-VI), you already know how this movie will end. The set up for all this takes about 20 minutes. So basically you are then watching events unfold very predictably for the next two hours. The first time around, I felt like it had been a big waste of my time. Since I went into it expecting not much to happen, I was able to accept that much easier this time around. Instead, I was able to enjoy the little nods to the other movies or the action sequences.

And the action sequences are pretty good. There are some great lightsaber duals and the fights at the beginning will get your blood pumping. Many of these scenes require some great special effects, and those effects are outstanding here. Gone are the dated effects I complained about in Episode I. Granted, they are only five years old, but they really hold up.

The writing and acting seem to have improved here. There are still some cheesy lines, but they aren't nearly as bad as they were in Episode II. And there aren't whole scenes that make you cringe.

Hayden Christensen's acting was a huge issue in Episode II. I'm quite happy to say it's improved dramatically for this movie. Yes, he can still over act, but that is kept mostly in check. He's not so whiney here, even when he is whining. Unfortunately, Natalie Portman's acting has slidden to make up for it. Granted, she gets the lion's share of the poor dialogue and scenes that are mostly superfluous to the politically driven plot, but she still doesn't live up to the part. This is especially noticeable near the end as her character goes into meltdown.

But I am reserving specially praise for Ewan McGregor who does an excellent job of channeling Alec Guinness. His accent and mannerisms seem to slip at times, but there are others when you can see the character of Obi-Wan as he would appear in the later films.

This is definitely the darkest of the Star Wars movies, and the only one to be rated PG-13. There are many deaths, including some children. And the ending leaves things pretty depressing. Fortunately, we do know that there is more to the story, so don't stop here. While most of these films are fine for kids, parents may want to think about how their kids will react to the violence before they let them watch it.

Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith isn't quite as bad as I remember it being. But it still doesn't close the prequel trilogy out on a high note. In fact, I still maintain that we don't need these movies. While they don't harm the original trilogy, they don't really add much to the great Star Wars legacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of the prequels is still a missed opportunity, 1 July 2011
By 
Jonathan "jonathan4433" (Lisburn, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Is it possible to think of popular culture without the influence of Star Wars? Probably not, but it is hard to have any other opinion than that George Lucas missed an opportunity with the prequels. Why? - he certainly had enough time to get it right.

Revenge of the Sith is definitely the best of the three, and if you need to see only one of the prequels, this would be it. That might be part of the problem: Lucas left himself with too much to do, and not enough time to do it in. Anakin goes from being a decent enought Jedi, with a few troubles, to a child killer, following one bad decision. It was a pretty bad decision, granted, but also perhaps one that didn't appear to be on the cards - he did shop in Palpatine after all. One can't help thinking that his fall from grace to embrace the dark side just wasn't convincing enough. Surely he would have had to have been at rock bottom. Whose fault was it anyway? - it's not as if he got any decent support from the rather sanctimonious Jedi. In what other democracy would an unelected group of clerics be justified in attempting to overthrow a democratically elected leader just because their own sense of right and wrong was apparently superior. Lucas may have portrayed the Sith as ruthlessly and unscrupulously pursuing their own means, but exactly what was wrong with Palpatine's opinion of the Jedi? Perhaps that also is part of the difficulty. How can there be a magnanimous group of people associated with good and what is right, who also can kill, spy and plot at need? Perhaps their role should have been adjusted, for example as a roving band of samurai, rather than an organised group interfering at the seat of power. Why did the Sith want revenge? - perhaps they deserved it.

Part of the problem may also have been Lucas' ability to do whatever he wanted due to CGI. Part of the reason that the originals were so good was that limitations were there to be overcome or worked around. The "one minute" feature illustrates this point perfectly - just when you thought the effects were done, another layer was added to them, not necessarily to their benefit. The prequels also lacked humour, and moments to step back. There is no time for a pensive gaze at the binary sunset to wonder what it is about your life that you don't like.

If only Lucas had thought about what made the original film so good. For me, it was things like: Who was Obi Wan Kenobi; "That's no moon, that's a space station"; the music; "For a thousand generations the Jedi Knights were the guardians of peace and justice in the old republic, before the dark times. Before the Empire." That latter quote gave more than the entire three prequels.

On the other hand, there are excellent moments. The final cordial farewell between Anakin and Kenobi isn't too obvious, and is nicely done. There is also an excellent sense of the building of tension on that night of importance. I also liked the concept of absolutes, only really briefly touched on. And the general sense of excitement, no doubt helped by the as ever thrilling music, remains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST OF THE STAR WARS PREQUELS!, 15 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
After severe fan disappointment with THE PHANTOM MENACE and ATTACK OF THE CLONES, it was obvious that GEORGE LUCAS had to really pull out all the stops for REVENGE OF THE SITH.

This was to be the film, after all, that Jedi Knight Anakin Skywalker finally becomes Sith Lord, Darth Vader! A darker approach would be needed, something akin to Irvin Kirshner's monumental THE EMPIRE STRIKES BACK, and although by no means perfect, this third instalment is by far the best of the prequels.

Things begin at breakneck speed with a mighty fleet engagement between Separatist and Republic forces above the planet of Coruscant, where the Separatists have kidnapped Chancellor Palpatine but been thwarted in their escape. Jedi Knights Obi-Wan Kenobi and Anakin Skywalker attempt to rescue the Chancellor from the Separatist flagship, only to endure fateful encounters with Count Dooku and new villain, General Grievous.

Events then slow down considerably and we are back to the politics which some thought marred THE PHANTOM MENACE. This time Anakin Skywalker is central to the plot, a pawn in a deadly game of cat-and-mouse. He is used by both Palpatine and the JedI Council to spy and report on each other, a role which severely tests his loyalties to both causes. Lots of dialogue follows, but it is the battles which the fans are really waiting for.

When fighting does start, events whiz by at great speed! There are lightsaber duels galore, with even Palpatine showing his combat abilities, and an opportunity for LUCAS to introduce fan favourite Chewbacca (in his pre-partnership days with Han Solo) when Yoda visits the Wookie home world. The jewel in the crown, though, is undeniably the long awaited duel between Obi-Wan and Anakin, newly turned to the Dark Side of the Force and proclaimed Darth Vader! It is certainly worth waiting for.

In among all the action of the film's second half loose ends are tied up which will set future (original trilogy) events in motion. The Jedi Temple is ruthlessly destroyed by legions of Clones, then "Order 66" is given by Palpatine allowing his Clone troops to slaughter their Jedi Generals (in a series of moving scenes), and a now disfigured Palpatine creates the First Galactic Empire with himself installed as Emperor. Meanwhile, Padme gives birth to a certain set of twins while Anakin, critically injured in battle, dons his life-saving, iconic black helmet and armour...

The cast performances are, for the most part, fine. CHRISOPHER LEE sadly has little more than a cameo as Count Dooku this time round, although IAN McDIARMID is superb as Palpatine and EWAN McGREGOR finally puts his mark on the role which SIR ALEC GUINESS had made his own. LUCAS, too, has listened to fan advice and moved hate figure Jar-Jar Binks into the background so his CG creation is barely seen, although he is still heavily dependent on computer animation throughout.

The second disc contains hours of bonus material - trailers and TV spots, several featurettes, a feature-length documentary and the "A Hero Falls" music video. There are also six (rather dialogue heavy) deleted scenes including Bail Organa and Mon Mothma, the future leaders of the Rebel Alliance, discussing rebellion, plus Yoda's arrival on the planet Dagobah.

With a good film and so many features, fans of STAR WARS will certainly find much to enjoy with REVENGE OF THE SITH!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Mar. 2011
The best of the prequels without a doubt. I think in general the prequels have come in for some harsh, undue criticism. They couldn't possibly live up to the originals so I don't know why people are so disappointed in parts I and II.

Star Wars is appreciated by old and young alike but lets not forget its the kids who make it what it is, they're the ones that buy into it.

There's 2 things I don't like about this movie, first is the big exaggerated 'NOOOOOOOoooooooooo' from Vadar at the end, stony silence would have suited better.

The other thing is Anakin's 'What have I done?!' moment, pfffft, the boy clearly needs a jaw rattling slap. All that pap about saving Padme from death. Stupid boy. Consumed by his own power he was.

Also, over the prequels I'm not sure if anyone noticed that Padme is infact a Sith agent sent to do Palpatine's bidding. There is the scene in Clones where Palpatine finishes her sentence for her, she goes to say "I don't think the situation is that serious" but doesn't get to because he jumps in. Yoda sniffs the dark side in Palpatine then.

Now cast your mind back to Phantom Menace (painful as it is to do so), there's a scene where she does the same thing to Anakin. The boy is about to say he misses his mother and she jumps right in there and says it for him. The girl is drenched in the dark side. Check out her overly gothic funeral for further evidence. I'm not sure George Lucas knows she's a Sith.....but I know my young padawans.

Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars And so ends the greatest saga in the history of the cinema..., 16 Jan. 2006
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Notwithstanding some disappointment in the action scenes (especially the fight between Obi Wan Kenobi and general Grievous), this is an amazing movie and a magic moment of cinema. The story is great and tragic. Actors do their best and even Hayden Christiansen, who is still learning his craft, manages to do well. Ewan McGregor, Ian McDiarmid and Samuel Jackson are great, but it is Natalie Portman who steals the show, with her talent and amazing beauty.

This is a great movie once you let abandon yourself to the magic of the Saga. The maddening fear for the life of his pregnant wife, which will finally push Anakin towards the dark side, is a very credible motivation. The snakelike temptation by the Chancellor/Darth Sidious and the silly and mean attitude of Mace Windu and the rest of the Jedi council which alienates further Anakin together complete successfully the long trip to the Dark Side of the most powerful Jedi ever. And when looking at Natalie Portman it is clear that it was not possible for Anakin to let her die without trying ANYTHING and EVERYTHING - it suddenly becomes easier to understand how he could slay the younglings and accept damnation...

The story is in fact quasi Biblical - it is the falling from grace of a powerful angel who is then transformed into a migty demon. And it gives us a big lesson: whatever Satan offers, it is wise to reject it no matter how heartbreaking the consequences, because if one accepts anything from the Devil, this thing will not only fail to achieve the expected results but it will also cause the damnation of the recipient. And the Temptator will simply laugh at his target/victim...

I liked this movie very very much - and if you let the magic play deep in your heart, I am certain you will like it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fan-pleasing deleted scenes, 1 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Okay, I won't talk about the film; everyone's already seen it and made up their own mind (I loved it). But I do want to mention some of the deleted scenes which have been announced.
The previous two episodes had some deleted scenes, but although they were interesting, they didn't really generate a great deal of excitement. However, this time it's different; the fans will be thrilled with some of these newly-completed sequences confirmed for the DVD release:-
*** Yoda arriving on Dagobah to begin his exile
*** The birth of the Rebel Alliance, featuring Mon Mothma
*** Anakin and Obi-Wan swimming through a cruiser's fuel tanks and battling new underwater battle droids
*** The execution of Jedi Shaak Ti by General Grievous (which follows on from the 'Clone Wars' cartoon)
*** other scenes yet to be revealed
Plus of course the usual documentaries, trailers, etc.. I can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Film of Moments, 28 Nov. 2012
By 
Dickie "The Bear" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Revenge of the Sith may be the best of the prequels but it's still way below the excellence of the original trilogy and the undeniable truth that all should accept is that the sole person to blame for this is George Lucas. Even though this is the better of this new trilogy, Sith is still plagued by the same issues; general bad acting, at times atrocious dialogue and an over reliance on special effects. Yes you can say the originals also heavily featured special effects but there was a charm and believability in its characters and storytelling; something here that feels lost. The special effects are amazing as is the action but this isn't a film that flows very well from scene to scene; even to Episode 1 and 2 standards, Sith feels the most wooden. But I am a Star Wars fan and there are a lot of things here to admire and enjoy; Ian McDiarmid steals the show and Ewan McGregor really ups his game and there are scenes that really do deliver what you'd expect. As a Star Wars film it is one of the better films but with many issues that prevent it from achieving any real greatness. The prequels for me as a lifelong Star Wars fan generally feel like a missed opportunity and Sith has a lot of moments that lift it but, for me, it is only a film of moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars pantomime on a grand scale, 15 Oct. 2011
Of the three Star Wars prequel movies, this is the least encumbered by special effects, and also has the strongest acting. Ewan McGregor finally achieves something of the gravity missing from the other episodes, although still undercuts it with some silly lines. Hayden Christensen portrays Darth Vader as morally tormented rather than simply the embodiment of evil. Christopher Lee and Ian McDiarmid are, as ever, brilliantly natural villains (Lee's role is rather brief in this episode, however). The movie is plagued with minor flaws that irritate both aficionados and film-lovers in general, and the scenes with the Wookies are a bit daft. Perforce it also lacks the originality of the initial trilogy. However, the design is lavish: in particular, Trisha Biggar's extravagant costumes provide a reminder that this is really just a pantomime on a grand scale. The movie is certainly worth having on the shelf, to aid the digestion on long winter holiday nights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Force is with this one!, 8 Aug. 2005
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Let's, maybe, forget Episodes I and II. George Lucas should have started the prequel trilogy with this! All past sins are redeemed George - Even creating Jar Jar Binks!
Up there with the generally conceived best one of the lot, The Empire Strikes Back, Revenge of the Sith is a mouth watering prospect for any movie goer.
The birth of Darth Vader. That is what makes this film ESSENTIAL! And Hayden Christensen, slightly meek in Episode II, really proves to be inspired casting here. It's a shame that Natalie Portman is wasted (apart from one scene when she confronts anakin on Mustafar) with a tiny role, but Hayden's scenes opposite Ewan, especially the famed lightsaber fight to end all lightsaber fights, is astonishingly good.
This has got some of the most emotional scenes in the entire saga. Check out anakin's and Obi-wan's last conversation as friends; the emotion filled climax; and the dialogue free scene with anakin and padme looking out of windows, seemingly at each other, but it has so much meaning - this is when he chooses the Dark Side. It's haunting, epic and legendary.
This is what the Star wars story boils down to, what everyone has been waiting for, and it delivers in spades. Do we need to mention the special effects? Amazing as usual, particularly the opening space battle. Ewan is more at ease in his role, and seems genuinely having fun with his last foray into star was. Ian McDiarmid is all cakles and evil grins as the Emperor, finally coming into his own - and getting to grips with a lightsaber!
It ties up all loose ends, but there are a few niggles. General Grievous, although a brilliant character, was not really needed. Count Dooku was dispatched of far too early on. But in the end, you are just shocked at seeing what is up there on screen.
Afterwards, you have to watch the original trilogy. Just to see the man, who did so much wrong in his life, who had so much potential and blew it, finally redeem himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some clunky character development, overcome by some terrific action, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III : Revenge of the Sith (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Rather enjoyable conclusion to the prequel trilogy, with some gaping flaws (Annakin turns to the dark side on some really dodgy-sounding arguments from Palpatine - I think the rationales used are fine, but the dialogue is weak), but some rather great bits too. The entire last two acts contain some great action and fight sequences, and is extremely dark (and the darkness of Annakin's actions seem way too extreme a change for the weak-ish arguments used to change him to the dark side).

The last act does feel like a headlong rush to tick all the boxes of known Star Wars lore (Vader's disfigruments caused by burning up in lava? Check. Obi Wan watching Luke from afar? check. etc etc), but it still works well - any slower would have been frustrating to watch.

I think I still enjoy Attack of the Clones more, but this was fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews