Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding, Stunning, Sensational!!!
This is an absolutely stunning album, which I cannot recommend highly enough. Lizz Wright's gorgeous, soulful tones are just spellbinding and the album is an absolute joy to listen to. Lizz's voice is unparalleled in the modern age and it has already earned her comparisons with greats such as Ella Fitzgerald and Billie Holiday, with this album truly showcasing her...
Published on 3 Jun. 2005 by dom

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only Three Stars?
I got this album for Hit the Ground. There's no doubt she's got a beautiful voice as you'll hear but I thought the material was too similar but that's personal choice. No doubt she's got talent.
Published on 4 Sept. 2007 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding, Stunning, Sensational!!!, 3 Jun. 2005
By 
This review is from: Dreaming Wide Awake (Audio CD)
This is an absolutely stunning album, which I cannot recommend highly enough. Lizz Wright's gorgeous, soulful tones are just spellbinding and the album is an absolute joy to listen to. Lizz's voice is unparalleled in the modern age and it has already earned her comparisons with greats such as Ella Fitzgerald and Billie Holiday, with this album truly showcasing her phenomenal talent. A beautiful take on Neil Young's 'Old Man', original track 'Hit The Ground' and the title song 'Dreaming Wide Awake' are personal favourites, yet the whole album is bristling with tracks that are set to become future classics. Despite her early jazz and gospel influences, this is in no way a niche record. It has a far broader appeal; the subtle production, great songs and THAT voice (!) mark 'Dreaming Wide Awake' out as the must-have record of the summer. I was taken on first listen but this album grows each time I hear it, revealing hidden depths. Her exquisite vocal talent is simply unique - warm, rich and engrossing. If you have trouble deciding into which section of your collection this should sit, simply file under "classic".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In awe!, 18 July 2005
This review is from: Dreaming Wide Awake (Audio CD)
Like a previous Lizz Wright fan, I was able to catch Liz Wright at a concert in London. I, like all who were present where blown away by her voice, presence and the sheer quality of her music. Lizz is able to use her gospel roots to underpin her blend of jazz / soul / blues compositions.
I then followed a few media reviews to capture further news and info regarding this woman. Specifically Michael valentine studio, a site that captures not only photography, but follows up with a review. I was able to relive the concert in full.
I agree with the similarities placed towards Norah Jones (especially regarding producers), but Liz stands on her own two feet in every respect. I hope she will return to London, as we tend to be a little starved of music with substance from time to time.
I am still exploring the Dreaming Wide Awake recording. I was so pleased with her debut "Salt". It took some time before I felt comfortable enough to take it out of the CD player
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars class act, 2 Aug. 2005
By 
Mr. K. Taylor "taylorkwinship" (near Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreaming Wide Awake (Audio CD)
I have bought both Lizz's albums within the last couple of months and she is a class act. I cannot reccommend her highly enough. I was dissapointed not to get down to London to see her recent performance. A very interesting blend of soul singer and singer/songwriter, with a voice like liquid caramel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous voice and new cross-genre sound., 16 Dec. 2005
By 
Mary Whipple (New England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dreaming Wide Awake (Audio CD)
Lizz Wright, with her full, rich contralto, captured my interest from the first notes of her first song, "A Taste of Honey," not usually one of my favorite songs, but sounding completely new--and even exciting!--in her hands. With a guitar, bass, and subtle percussion accompaniment, Wright confidently interprets the lyrics of this standard, creating new meanings without sounding "folky" with her guitar accompaniment. She continues this approach with "Stop," another wonderful song with minor-keyed overtones, and the addition of a keyboard (piano-like) accompaniment.
Throughout the CD, for which she has written or co-written three of the songs, she keeps things simple, often combining a funky beat with a simple guitar accompaniment, as she effortlessly combines folk, jazz, pop, and soul in unique ways. Occasionally, as in "Hit the Ground," she includes backup singers, but the overall mood throughout the CD is easy and mellow--and simple. Neil Young's "Old Man" never sounded so rich, complete, and beautiful, and her own title song, "Dreaming Wide Awake," a quiet, mysterious song with a long instrumental introduction, is moody and contemplative.
With a voice that can do anything without ever sounding harsh or abrasive, Wright is a fantastic new talent, capable of appealing to lovers of '60s folk, jazz, or soul. In this CD, with an accompaniment that emphasizes the guitar and a light bass and percussion, she creates her own sound, bringing traditional lyrics to life and setting off her new songs. She is not imitating Billie Holiday (though she sang some Holiday songs in a road show), nor is she following in the steps of Sarah Vaughan, Carmen McRae, or the great folk and soul singers. A genuinely unique performer who never sounds "rushed," she is on her way to her own kind of stardom in this second album. The sky is the limit for Lizz Wright. Mary Whipple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding, 11 April 2010
By 
Blackmale (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dreaming Wide Awake (Audio CD)
Let me qualify before you read on. Lizz's style will polarise.
The genere is Jazz, or maybe Folk, then again R'n'B, or maybe....better to make up your own mind, but you won't resist the "haven't I heard this voice somewhere before" emotion. Give the album the space it deserves, listen without the prejudice and you'll find a quite exceptional performance delivering one of the finest musical hours of the last decade.
Lizz is a challenge to pidgeon-hole, but a development of the Tracy Chapman theme might be as close as it is generous to both.
Alternatively take an edgy precocious rasp from Sheryl Crow, stone bake it until the rooster crows and you might just have the opposite side of the same spectrum.

Very difficult to spot a single standout track, and all are sufficiently durable to warrant several plays before you become over-familiar. Take the middle third of the Album and you'll find four tracks that point North, South, East and West in quick succession.
The whole show is deliciously acoustic, real blokes and gals, impossibly adorned with facial hair(irrespective of gender)skillfully sawing and lashing at wooden boxes of all shapes and string with a single thought in their mind - Performance.
We arrive to find Ms. Wright at the top of her game. Tempered, but never temperamental, paitent and ultimately smoothed. Lizz delivers each track with just what it needs and not an ounce more. No overbearing self indulgent howling, but the deepest emotional connect from someone who lives and breathes the blues.
At times luscious, but always delicately produced, this is a beautifully musical piece of cajun magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply ASTOUNDING !, 10 April 2010
By 
Blackmale (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreaming Wide Awake (Audio CD)
Let me qualify before you read on. Lizz's style will polarise.
The genere is Jazz, or maybe Folk, then again R'n'B, or maybe....better to make up your own mind, but you won't resist the "haven't I heard this voice somewhere before" emotion. Give the album the space it deserves, listen without the prejudice and you'll find a quite exceptional performance delivering one of the finest musical hours of the last decade.
Lizz is a challenge to pidgeon-hole, but a development of the Tracy Chapman theme might be as close as it is generous to both.
Alternatively take an edgy precocious rasp from Sheryl Crow, stone bake it until the rooster crows and you might just have the opposite side of the same spectrum.

Very difficult to spot a single standout track, and all are sufficiently durable to warrant several plays before you become over-familiar. Take the middle third of the Album and you'll find four tracks that point North, South, East and West in quick succession.
The whole show is deliciously acoustic, real blokes and gals, impossibly adorned with facial hair(irrespective of gender)skillfully sawing and lashing at wooden boxes of all shapes and string with a single thought in their mind - Performance.
We arrive to find Ms. Wright at the top of her game. Tempered, but never temperamental, paitent and ultimately smoothed. Lizz delivers each track with just what it needs and not an ounce more. No overbearing self indulgent howling, but the deepest emotional connect from someone who lives and breathes the blues.
At times luscious, but always delicately produced, this is a beautifully musical piece of cajun magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful voice, 24 Mar. 2011
By 
Aremess "AremessUK" (Littlehampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this lady's album Dreaming Wide Awake whilst simply searching for a particular style of soft jazz singing. I was knocked off my feet by this singer. Anyone reading this review who is not a jazz fan should not be put off by the word jazz. This album is for lovers of a wonderful voice singing gentle, well written music. As to well written music, the song "Get Together" written and released in the 60's, although with wonderful sentiments, I hated - Lizz's version is nothing like that 60's style, this is laid back easy listening which allows the listener to appreciate the words. My favourite track - a split between Get Together, I'm Confessin' and a terrific rendition of A Taste of Honey (which I think probably is my favourite)

Can I recommend this album? - You Betcha!!!!
Who would enjoy it? - lovers of easy listening, light jazz or similar tastes. If you're not sure, go to Amazon's MP3 site, type in the album name and listen to the extracts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Grace, 30 Oct. 2005
By 
Mr. K. Taylor "taylorkwinship" (near Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreaming Wide Awake (Audio CD)
Further to my earlier review, I have now seen Lizz perform at the Sage Gateshead and it was unforgettable. Lizz took to the stage in jeans and t-shirt, looking very different from how she looks in all the beautiful publicity shots on the lp. She even joked about this. Lizz came across as a complex mix of very shy young lady yet an artist accomplished beyond her years. Her performance was outstanding and the crowd lapped it up, giving Lizz and her band 2 encores. Yes she did come out twice, firstly she sang 'Amazing Grace', which was tear enducing, and then a very funk version of 'Salt'. Lizz managed to change the tempo and the intensity of every song she performed. Very few of the songs remained as on the albums. They were either infused with funk and gospel or extended into chilled out meditations. The phrasing of the wonderful lyrics was also changed which added new context to the songs - absolutely amazing. I would encourage everyone to go out and buy Lizz's music and do go to see her if you get the opportunity as she was amazing live.I look forward to many years of wonderful music from this outstanding and engaging performer. Can you tell I enjoyed the concert.....?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shazam, 2 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreaming Wide Awake (Audio CD)
Thanks to shazam I heard this hilts sipping on coffee - the song I'm confessin
I can't believe I'm just discovering her now! Her voice is silky smooth and hypnotic. Great easy listening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A showcase of talent, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreaming Wide Awake (Audio CD)
I am so pleased to have tried this album. Lizz Wright has a great voice for many styles and this album presents a good selection of songs to showcase her talents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreaming Wide Awake
Dreaming Wide Awake by Lizz Wright (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews