Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kirby is Nintendo king!
Being one of the less famous Nintendo heroes here in Europe, i think that it is fair enough if you are debating over whether or not to purchase this game. Well let me tell you that if you do you won't regret it. Kirby Power Paintbrush is easily one of the best titles on the Nintendo DS. The control system is inspired and you can't help but grin as you make Kirby do death...
Published on 20 May 2006 by Mr. A. D. Coyle

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than you expect, but not as good as the reviews
I bought Kirby Power Paintbrush (also known as Canvas Curse in America) on the basis of a whole string of reviews on many reliable sites which all said it was one of the best games on the DS, with an astounding addictive new kind of gameplay. I'm not a Kirby fan and I wouldn't have bought this without those reviews' enthusiasm.
Well... it isn't...
Published on 31 Jan 2006 by mobile464


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kirby is Nintendo king!, 20 May 2006
By 
Mr. A. D. Coyle "metal_thrasher" (Coleraine, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kirby: Power Paintbrush (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Being one of the less famous Nintendo heroes here in Europe, i think that it is fair enough if you are debating over whether or not to purchase this game. Well let me tell you that if you do you won't regret it. Kirby Power Paintbrush is easily one of the best titles on the Nintendo DS. The control system is inspired and you can't help but grin as you make Kirby do death defying loop-de-loops throughout the many entertaining levels, all the while stealing abilities from the many nasty critters that roam around the Dreamland games. The boss battles are also very cool, as you get to choose what type of boss battle you want and all of them are, in my opinion, very fun indeed. There is loads to do in this game too. The main adventure may take around seven hours to complete and then you have the opportunity of buying new characters, including King De De De and Metaknight and then there is also time trial mode like in Sonic games.

Let this game ignite your love for this little pink super hero and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but too much of the same thing!, 8 Nov 2005
By 
Dpl "dnl23" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kirby: Power Paintbrush (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Yes this is a good game. It uses the stylus exceptionally well and the only button you need to press is start when you need to pause it. You get good value because there's alot to do like completing the main game or collecting the medals. The graphics are pretty good for this sort of game, and the gameplay uses quite a unique way of killing enemies, instead of hitting them or shooting them you paralize them and then simply roll into them. And getting the special moves like fireball, ice and rock are quite fun to use. So why not 5 stars? You get too much of the same thing! The levels may look different but alot of them are too similar. Quite a bit of them have alot of cannons to shoot yourself out of, in 2 or 3 you have to keep turing the lantern back on and too many levels have water in them because the water levels are crap. Maybe a boss to fight or more puzzles would have made it better. It does well as a platformer though. But that was the main game. You do get some other games but like the medal collecting and the race thing but the medal collecting's the only one worth playing. I do agree with the other reviewers in saying that it's a good game, but maybe some different levels in the main game would have made ot better.
Graphics - 8
Gameplay - 10
Value - 8
Music - 5 (not really noticable)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly superb, 4 Oct 2006
By 
kingg (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kirby: Power Paintbrush (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I bought this game after reading all the great reviews and I must admit that I was a bit disappointed after playing it for a few hours. Moving Kirby around with the stylus was new and interesting but frustrating at the same time. I also didn't feel much reward for completing the levels and gaining coins.

It didn't get back into my DS for about a month, when I thought I'd give it one last chance before selling it. I was suddenly hooked. I saw the game in a new light and it has since become a joy to play. The control can be frustrating at times but the more you play the better you get and it is very satisfying when you manage to direct Kirby over a long line of electrifying blocks and past numerous enemies to gain a coin on your first attempt. As you get into the game the coins become more important as you realise you can swap them for better things than just Kirby songs. You can gain extra health, minigames (through which you can earn more coins) and characters. For each level in the main game you complete you can do time trials and line trials (where you have a limited amount of paint to manipulate Kirby). These can be more fun than the main game in my opinion and also provide opportunities for further coin collection.

One of the best games on the DS if you stick with it. As good as New Super Mario Bros in my opinon - I've certainly played Kirby more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Painting a beautiful picture, 24 Oct 2005
By 
Mr. R. T. Neylan "rogern110" (South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kirby: Power Paintbrush (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
After having the American version of the game for about 4 months now, I can honestly say that this is a quintessential title for the DS - it most certainly is up there amongst the handheld's great titles, and perhaps even better!
Why is this? Simply because not only does Kirby: Power Paintbrush actually use the full power of the DS, it utilises it very well. Only the stylus is used throughout the whole game, and the interaction between player and action is spot on. This is one of the objectives the DS told the gaming market about - that it opens up a whole new dimesion of gaming - and Kirby is the first game to wholly show this.
So what do you get for your money? Well you get not only a fantastic platforming/adventure game which has all the trademarks of the underrated Kirby franchise, but you get a game that lasts for a VERY long time - you have a main game to complete 5 times - you have all the medals to collect - you have three mini games which are quite difficult and you have two other methods of play - Time Trial and Ink Trial. Essentially throughout these modes you will use the stylus to guide Kirby along the levels which are broken into stages, very much like the other Kirby games. However, this game has many clever moments and could not simply be done on other consoles. On a final note, Kirby: Power Paintbrush has some of the best 2D graphics and effects that I have seen.
In short, Kirby has not only the best graphical style on the DS, but also innovates the platforming franchise. A must-have title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rewards once you learn the controls, 12 Mar 2006
By 
Mr. Thomas M. Gane "newbornfish" (UK, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kirby: Power Paintbrush (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Once you get used to only using the touch control I found this game very addictive. Some of the music I liked, which I didnt really expect. It's quite cutesy, but definitely not sickeningly cute. The sounds are good quality and dont get annoying or repetitive. If you like the music, then theres a sound test waiting to be unlocked.
It isnt a very easy game, but once your experienced theres little you can't do. (some of the unlockables are more challenging and take a fair few attempts if you can be bothered.)
Once your expereinced you can fling kirby around with impressive style!
I found this game great when I showed it to my friends and they instantly thought "hey thats cool, can I try..?" and they're all 18 years old so its definitely not something that only children would want to play. It shows off the DS's functions, and puts normal control methods (dpad, analogue, buttons etc) to shame, until you yearn to use buttons again.
Theres lots to unlock and replay, I have just come back to it after a few months to get some more medals, which are necessary to unlock certain things. It's a good game and highly worth buying if you have a DS, and/or want to play something a little different in style. But I wouldn't call it essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, very good!, 26 Nov 2008
By 
Ms. R. Graham "Rachy rach" (Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kirby: Power Paintbrush (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
First off its value for money as I have played on it for about 20 hours trying to complete the game 100%. Its cute, colourful, great gameplay and it manages to be progressivley harder throughout the game yet still be fun through out and not too frustrating so its engaging for people of all ages and levels of skill. This game makes full use of the fun stylus, I've had my DS lite for over a year and when a game makes comprehensive, fun & clever use of the unique control system like this game has, it never fails to amaze and excite me. An absolute must have for the DS - there are so many shoddy DS games out there so spend your money wisely and get this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 9 Oct 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kirby: Power Paintbrush (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I got this game after watching some videos of it on the internet.once id start playing I thought,WOW!THIS IS AWESOM!It was my first DS game and ive now got 22 others.Yup its still my favourite.You controll the cool and cute kirby by drawing pathes for him on the touch sceen and speeding up by taping him.Kirby And The Power Paint Brush only uses the touch screen.You can also get power-ups for him with medles,there are 3 medles in each level you can also get kirby songs,charecters when youve done every level,diferent lines to draw pathes with etc,ect,ect.Anyway I totally recomend this game for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite DS game so far., 24 Aug 2005
By 
Blondesim (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kirby: Power Paintbrush (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
In this game you have to draw lines to direct Kirby around the screen, you can touch him to make him spin or touch enemies to temporarily paralyze them. That's basically the abilities that you use in the game as well as being able to copy enemy techniqes from certain defeated enemies.
It's quite a simple game, but it's very addictive and quite hard after a while too.
Apparantly it's a bit like a fast Yoshi's Touch and Go, but I've never played that.
It's a 2D platform game, but instead of exploring just left-right, you can make Kirby go in all directions in the sky and underwater to look for the exit or medals that you can find 3 of in each level.
It's perfect for handheld because you can play for long sessions or just have a quick play to fill time.
The game structure is simple, you get the choice of 3 levels and each one consists of 3 areas. After you've done all 3 levels you pick which boss you fight, then you get another 3 areas to choose from.
The 1st few levels are easy but fun and good to get you into the game- they are good for improving your time on, but later levels are quite abit more challenging.
There are other game modes as well-
A time attack game where you have to complete the level as quick as possible to earn up to 3 medals per level.
Also a mode where you have to draw as few lines as possible to save paint and the less you use the more medals to earn.
There are also minigames, and things to unlock with your hard-earned medals. These range from music to special levels where you automatically have a specific enemy ability.
It's quite a surprise after Kirby's recent games, but he seems to have the best DS game so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great platformer which has fantastic touchscreen controls., 27 May 2009
By 
Dragonlord (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kirby: Power Paintbrush (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I have never really been a big fan of Kirby because his games were never so good as the Mario or Donkey Kong games overall. Thats untill now where Kirby: Power Paintbrush really pushes the ds touch screen controls to it limits and it plays like a dream. You can hand draw rainbow paths for our pink Kirby of joy to move on and you can even make him do crazy loops on them too. The graphics are nice and cute with lots of great style. You can also use the rainbow paths to block laser beams or connon balls. The levels are very inventive and are a absolute joy to play. To beat your foes you must hit the enemy with the stylus first then roll into them with Kirby. Some enemies give Kirby special powers such as fire or motor speed. Kirby: Power Painbrush is the best example of how to use the ds touchscreen controls to there fullest after the wonderful Soul Bubbles. This really is a must have game for any platformer fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than you expect, but not as good as the reviews, 31 Jan 2006
This review is from: Kirby: Power Paintbrush (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I bought Kirby Power Paintbrush (also known as Canvas Curse in America) on the basis of a whole string of reviews on many reliable sites which all said it was one of the best games on the DS, with an astounding addictive new kind of gameplay. I'm not a Kirby fan and I wouldn't have bought this without those reviews' enthusiasm.
Well... it isn't astounding, and I didn't find it that addictive.
Now, don't get me wrong, it does give platform games a great new twist, and if you're a big fan of platform games then you might well want to check this out. But I just don't think it's anywhere near as amazing as most of its reviews have made it out to be. Let me explain a bit about the game so that you can understand what I mean.
Kirby Power Paintbrush is essentially a platform game but it has a novel control system. Instead of the usual direct control of the main character Kirby (a round pink blob), you have to manipulate the environment around it so that it goes where you want it to and comes to no harm. The gameplay is entirely with the stylus, and Kirby will continue in its current direction unless it runs into a path of rainbow light drawn with the stylus, which disappears after a few seconds. The path can be vertical, in which case it's a wall and Kirby simply changes direction, or it can be a slope in which case Kirby will follow that instead of the platform its on. By choosing the right kind of slope you can make Kirby do different things, and drawing a chain of slopes one after the other lets you make Kirby climb where there are no existing platforms. You can also use the stylus to neutralise enemies by tapping on them.
The game KPP most reminds me of is that 16-bit classic Lemmings, crossed with a standard platform game like Super Mario World, with platforms, enemies, collectables etc. The trouble I had with the game stemmed from the lack of variety in the actual levels. Time and again I found myself running into the same problems that can curse platform games such as very boring levels which only offer a challenge if you're the kind of person who has to collect absolutely everything, and levels that don't seem to have an obvious exit which lead to aimless wandering.
So why the mismatch between the game and the reviews? I'm not sure, but one reason might be a very similar game called Yoshi: Touch & Go which was released early in the DS's life. It had an extremely similar idea to Kirby PP, combining a platform game with drawing lines on the screen (this time made of clouds), but Yoshi T&G was let down by a shallowness of gameplay and received a lukewarm reception from reviewers. Kirby essentially took the same concept but added deeper more varied levels, so it seemed at first viewing as everything Yoshi was meant to be. Maybe the reviewers were so chuffed at getting a "fixed" version of Yoshi T&G, that they overlooked Kirby's own limitations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kirby: Power Paintbrush (Nintendo DS)
Kirby: Power Paintbrush (Nintendo DS) by Nintendo (Nintendo DS)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews