Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Who Review, from a Yank's Point of View
Having barely seen an episode or two on PBS in my youth, I really got into the series after seeing the 1997 US TV movie. I quickly snatched up every VHS tape, and found every other missing episode and unreleased story on bootleg videos, to obsessively have every inch of existing Doctor Who known to man. I preferred Jon Pertwee's Doc the best, with Troughton and T. Baker...
Published on 21 May 2005 by Doctor Trance

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars slightly dissapointing.
The DVD took forever to arrive, at least 2 and a half weeks which was a great inconvenience. I am a huge fan of doctor who but these episodes didn't quite hit the spot. Christopher Eckleston is a great doctor but i think that episodes later in the series were much better.
Published 20 months ago by CoolKid12


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully solid start, 21 Jun 2005
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This DVD contains the first three episodes of the new series, and got it off to a wonderul start. True, they all had their weaknesses, but put together they show the show evolving at a remarkable rate, and already hitting it's stride.
The first show is by far the weakest of the bunch. It contains a lot of exposition and not enough plot, giving the whole thing an under-developed feel. Of the cast, only Christopher Eccleston seems completely at ease, with Billie Piper, Noel Clarke and particularly Camille Coduri still settling into their roles. Nevertheless, the episode impresses, with The Autons as thrilling creepy as ever, and The Nestene Consciousness banishing all memories of it's naff previous incarnation.
The End Of The World is, unsurprisingly, an improvement on the opening, with Billie Piper seeming (oddly enough) more at ease in the science fiction setting. The humour also seems easier here, and the supporting cast are uniformly strong, with Yasmin Bannerman and Zoe Wanamaker in particular coming within inches of stealing the show from a once-again inspired Christopher Eccleston. However the story is again underdeeloped, and one can't help but feel that the story needs more than 45 minutes to achieve the proper depth.
The Unquiet Dead is the first episode to reach true 'classic' status, with Mark Gatiss' script proving that it is possible to tell a full story in 45 minutes, though it should be noted that the supporting cast is very small. Simon Callow is wonderful as Charles Dickens, whilst the Gelth are among the most eery monsters yet seen on the show. The actual direction of the show is also good, and the climax, involving Rose and The Doctor being assaulted by Zombies, is the first truly unsettling moment of the show. However, Rose is once again somewhat jarring, though this is more due to the character than to Billie Piper's increasingly assured performance.
All in all, a good start to the season, though there are more than a few glitches that needed to be seen to in later episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 23 April 2005
By 
John Mace "johnmace" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
As I have not got the DVD (of course) I have been watching it on TV! And I must must must say its the best ever! All of my family love it! Go get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic (sort of), 7 Jun 2005
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Let me begin by saying this; Russel T Davies is brilliant. From what i've seen of his work (I don't have regular access to a telly), I would say that he should be reguarded very highly for his production and writing skills, certainly within the genre.
But this is not Doctor Who.
I have no doubt that the pre-production team spent much time looking at the different elements that make up the classic "who", (gadgets, sound effects, sci-fi gobldigook,...etc). Taking them and adjusting to fit the T.V. screen after an absence of so many years.
But this is not Doctor Who.
No. This SERIES should be called "Rose".
Because this new series, (complete with special effects and spectacle that should suitably occupy the young spoon-fed brains of a post "Star Wars" audience), no longer concentrates on the character of our mysterious time traveller. Within the first few scenes, one can tell that the 'Suspense' and 'Terror' of the originals has been replaced with a far more commercial formula. The pre-openning credits trailer and the 45 minute format will probably only comfirm the 'next generation' idea that some fans might have feared.
The first episode, instead of the deep charicter of the doctor that we might expect, presents us with someone far easier for the audience to identify with: a 19 year old I-don't-understand, yet-i'm-still-in-charge teenager, who's normal life is... well... REALLY normal. One can presume that this is done to create an easier fish-out-of-water story that the audience can follow, which seems a little too easy for me. I'm quite sure Billie Piper will do very well in Hollywood!
Somewhere along the story line, (in between the highly succesfull and carefully engineered attempts to avoid boring secondary characters), is the Doctor, played by Christopher Eccleston. I truly enjoyed Eccleston in the other roles he's played, (particularly against Robbie Coltranes impossing character in Cracker), and was curious to find out how he would approach the role. Sadly, one would think he had been chosen for his audience appeal rather than acting ability.
His boyishness, (good greif; I sound like my mother!), and good comic timing sadly cannot compensate for a character who lacks strong leadership and who's "In wiv' da kids!" approach is finely demonstrated by him seemingly answering every other question with "sort ov', yeah"! His sarcastic patter to everyone and everything seem to betray the history of interllectualism that the Doctor used to stand for.
Since the stories are now made to revolve around Rose, this brings into existence Micky, Roses boyfriend, and her mum, Jackie. Being fair, I think these two really do deserve a round of applause. They are both distinct and enjoyable characters and in my opinion, are a stong credit to the series.
Although "Rose" is a story most people either love or hate, one must admit that it would take nothing short of genius to bring back the autons in this way. The idea of living plastic creatures roaming around London, wanting to take over the world for no very good reason, puts us right back into the era of such classic "who". Fans may find themselves longing for such territory in the next story; "The end of the world"
Throwing the audience in general in the deep end, this story is big and bold, challenging the audiences perceptions of the series with the previously mentioned special effects. The Doctor takes Rose to see the planet they both love, Earth, being 'roasted', while solving a vauge 'who-dunnit' onboard a space-station shapped like a crucifix. With a repertoire of trully forgetable aliens in an adventure which is suprisingly well paced, this seems to be an excersise to show how terribly modern the series has become.
This story also seems to demonstrate the broad emotional spectrum that audiences can now come to expect. With dramatic revelations and deep themes of 'letting go' running throughout the story, it is of much relief when the series can also demonstrate it's sense of humour, by having people getting fried to death whilst listening to 'Toxic' by Britney Spears (Fantastic!)
The final story on this disc is probably the strangest of all. Being a historical, it was therefore quite a safe bet, since costume dramas are a speciality of the BBC. A ghost story in a pleasent historical setting starts the adventure of properly. It soon looses it's stablity; the ending is a let down, with a predictable twist-in-the-tail, and a conclusion which throws into light another unwelome change in the form of the doctors new and perverted sense of morality! The end fails to mention the consequences of the doctors poor judgement, which results in needless death and destruction
To end on an up-beat note, the theme tune has never been better. Fastastic bit of composition!
This edition sadly includes no special features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a long time coming, 28 Jun 2005
By 
G. williams "bookworm" (winterhaven fl usa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
i am a brit in america and i was sick of waiting for the series to premiere on this side of the pond,so i got a region free dvd player so i could watch the series on region 2 dvd over here.any way, it was such a joy to see doctor who done PROPERLY,not just special effects wise,but STORYwise.it`s just brilliant!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok but annoyed, 8 Dec 2005
By 
MR H J HALSALL (Horsham, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
this dvd is great. i loved the way Christopher Ecclestone made the 'Fantastic' so much more his! but I am annoyed about the fact it says 'SERIES 1' on the box. doctor who first went on air in 1964 or 1965!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who for the 21st Century, 17 May 2005
By 
Frank William Mills (Liverpool, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
On the whole the new series is very good. The only thing letting it down is that at 45min per story each episode lacks the plot and character development of the old show. On the plus side the production values are extremely high and the money has been very well spend. As an aside Rose's mum Jackie is rather irritating and I fear will be a permanant fixure for the foreseeable future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars only 3 episodes??!!?!?, 22 May 2005
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
i haven't actually got this so i can't rate it on stuff like extras, but basin my review on the tv it's very good! the 1st episode is basically where rose is introduced and the autons(i think thats wat they're called)start controlling plastic. great 1 liners in 1+2. ep. 2 is about the end of the world and some grim-reaper like things comin and tryin 2 take over. ep.3 is about ghost thingys coming out of gas pipes and charles dickens(i know, i know! it'll become clear when u buy it!). buy vol 2. it's got the DALEKS ON IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 111 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who lite for a brain-dead generation., 26 Oct 2005
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Yep, those of you who liked this show are definitely showing your age - at least in a few years you'll be able to vote. Russell Davies directs and writes with his usual camp aplomb for the masses here: daft 'aliens' (Trees, a face lift, the Slytheen - need I go on?) daft TARDIS re-design complete with pedal-power, a daft Doctor no different to any other modern, loud-mouthed trendy, and a daft companion who's crowning achievement is GCSE athletics. To top it all, no exotic locations: all the episodes are located on Earth (UK) or in Clarke Earth orbit. Has the Doctor lost his passport, or did Bully Blair pull a confiscation number? There's a new format too: each 'adventure' is now confined to a standalone 45 minutes - presumably because the British public can no longer handle storylines that extend over more than one week. Mind you, they're so apathetic they haven't noticed it doesn't matter which way they vote in general elections yet, so perhaps that's only fair. Anyway, this is dumbed down twaddle - BBC, why the hell didn't you just let Dr Who Rest In Peace on its laurels, instead of turning the licence into a bland piece of sci-fi pap. Have you no principles? I appreciate the old-style series had its fair share of stinkers, but for every four or five naff adventures, there was a crowning classic, like 'Curse of Fenric', 'Genesis of the Daleks', 'Pyramids of Mars', 'Earthshock', or 'Carnival of Monsters'. New Doctor Who had one or two okay episodes, and the rest were all bad: a wasted opportunity. I'll be giving my review of the final New Doctor Who DVD from the first series soon - if Amazon don't can it for being too plain-spoken, like most of my other reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Series 1 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005]
Doctor Who: Series 1 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] by Christopher Eccleston (DVD - 2005)
4.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews