Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Who Review, from a Yank's Point of View
Having barely seen an episode or two on PBS in my youth, I really got into the series after seeing the 1997 US TV movie. I quickly snatched up every VHS tape, and found every other missing episode and unreleased story on bootleg videos, to obsessively have every inch of existing Doctor Who known to man. I preferred Jon Pertwee's Doc the best, with Troughton and T. Baker...
Published on 21 May 2005 by Doctor Trance

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars slightly dissapointing.
The DVD took forever to arrive, at least 2 and a half weeks which was a great inconvenience. I am a huge fan of doctor who but these episodes didn't quite hit the spot. Christopher Eckleston is a great doctor but i think that episodes later in the series were much better.
Published on 8 Nov 2012 by CoolKid12


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent start to the new series, 14 Jun 2005
By 
Budge Burgess (Troon, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I'm old enough to have watched the very first Dr.Who and to have largely abandoned it after Tom Baker left. The hype generated by the new series meant I switched on to see how a 21st century version might play. I was enthralled.
The DVD enhances the television experience. The first episode, with its animated shop dummies, was hardly a leap into originality - it fact, it echoes a previous Doctor's experience. But it combined the familiar and the unfamiliar new faces, establishing a new cast of characters and situation for wholly new viewers, the old guard, and the curious (and I'm not sure where I fit in there). It also translated the Doctor to a world of much newer technology than the older series ever dreamed of - computers, Internet, mobile phones, etc.
Christopher Eccleston is excellent. He stamped his authority and personality from the very first - a lesser actor would have been more hesitant, less original, might have ended up as a pastiche of earlier Doctors. Eccelston plays the part assertively. He steals the show.
Billie Piper? I'm still not convinced. I couldn't believe she'd been given the part, and I don't think she has particularly stamped her personality on the screen. She's a bit too big mouthed and cor blimey to convince.
The stories, however, have been growing in sophistication. They blend some serious science fiction with intelligent drama and a leitmotif of humour. While each of the first three episodes is complete in its own right, they take on a sequential flow, building into integral parts of the whole series. The first three episodes are stand alone stories, but two-parters will follow ... and there will be themes which dog, or wolf, the rest of the series.
The DVD translation is excellent - good visual and sound quality aside, having the first three episodes playing reel-to-reel emphasises the sense of continuity in the series. Watching a fresh episode each week has its quota of excitement and anticipation, but then being able to play the episodes serially enhances your experience and enjoyment and gives the whole series a dynamic, enduring flow.
An excellent start to the series, well performed, well scripted, well directed, well shot, Doctor Who has proved itself capable of capturing the imagination of both audience and the acting fraternity - there are some seriously good actors appearing in the series, not least Simon Callow performing as Dickens in episode three. It's just a shame that Eccleston has opted not to return. Quality television and a DVD to treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good price, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Great price! Bought for the nephew who loves Dr who. Was a little stocking filler! Old series but that's Ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The other copy of this that I own did not have the last episode on so I was really pleased when this one was delivered as it completed my set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Service, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I love the old episodes and these are some of my favs, the postage was a bit slow, but that was to be expected - it was Christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dr who, 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I only bought this dvd because the box set that we have had for some time, has worn out as it has been seen so many times. I guess that makes dr who brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars slightly dissapointing., 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The DVD took forever to arrive, at least 2 and a half weeks which was a great inconvenience. I am a huge fan of doctor who but these episodes didn't quite hit the spot. Christopher Eckleston is a great doctor but i think that episodes later in the series were much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who: Series 1: Volume 1, 1 Aug 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The first 3 episodes of the revamped Doctor Who were probably a small portion of the best out of the series and really gave Doctor Who a kick back onto our TV screens in 2005. Christopher Eccleston is a great Doctor to have started off the Saturday night routine again. The episodes are as follows:

Rose: When Rose Tyler meets a mysterious stranger called the Doctor, her life will never be the same again. Soon, she realises that her mum, her boyfriend, and the whole of Planet Earth are in danger. The only hope for salvation lies inside a strange blue box.

The End of the World: The Doctor takes Rose on her first voyage through time, to the year Five Billion. The Sun is about to expand, and swallow the Earth. But amongst the alien races gathering to watch on Platform One, a murderer is at work. Who is controlling the mysterious and deadly Spiders?

The Unquiet Dead: The Doctor takes Rose back through time to 1869. But in Victorian Cardiff, the dead are walking, and creatures made of gas are on the loose. The time-travellers team up with Charles Dickens to investigate Mr Sneed, the local Undertaker. Can they halt the plans of the ethereal Gelth?

Overall, the DVD has some of the best episodes of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast, funny, fiery entertainment., 11 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
...
As this version is extras free this review refers to the televised versions of the episodes featured.
If you're reading this in the uk, then you already know what's in store here.
Forget the impressive special effects (doubtless they'll date soon enough anyway as these things are wont to) and concentrate instead on what always made the series what it was when it was firing on all cylinders: good interaction between charismatic leads and good, entertaining writing.
It's funny and - most surprisingly - quite emotional in places, without being sentimental. Episode one introduces the characters and the concept, episode two takes them into the future (to witness the end of the world) episode three into the past for a Dickensian ghost story told at a modern pace.
It stands up well to repeated viewing too.
Good clean impressive fun, though be warned that there's three more discs issued to complete the season or a box-set (with extras) due in the autumn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An icon returns with added contemporary zest, 15 April 2005
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This rush released DVD has the first three episodes of the new Dr Who and jolly good fun they are too. Episode one written by the omnipresent Russell T Davies is a ripp off of an old episode called "Spearhead from Space" and features the Autons, aliens who can control plastic and render it a living entity. So we get the glorious sight of shop dummies jerking to life and running riot down Cardiff high street. The second episode is set at the end of the world where the privileged few including the last human alive have the best seats in the Galaxy with which to view this momentous event and is basically a murder mystery.The third episode reverts to Victorian Cardiff and is written by Mark Gattis of "The League Of Gentlemen" and is suitably darker of tone with gaseous aliens animating the dead.
The scripts are tremendous with some sparky one liners and as every story is a contained episode in itself of 45 minutes they move at a fair lick but still allow for moments of quiet introspection where the characters reveal more of them selves. The excellent Christopher Eccleston is surprisingly light of touch in his portrayal of The Doctor, dispensing witticisms with acute timing and after an overly eccentric start adding a welcome touch of steel to the role. Witness his almost callous dispensation of Justice in Episode two. Billie Piper will never be a fantastic actress but has easily enough natural charm as his assistant Rose and their relationship has a welcome erotic fission and it is hinted that The Doctor is a man not entirely at ease with his own company.
The special effects are nothing err....special but are certainly passable though the set design is often at odds with the period that they are supposed to represent. Five million years in the future and the place still looks like an Eighties telephone exchange?
Shame on the B.B.C. for not tying Eccleston to a longer deal but they were obviously nervous about the series reception and audience figures and only commissioned this one series, only deciding on a second when this one was such a success. Fools. As long as they gave the production values and the character a contemporary twist (No more silly garish costumes and idiosyncratic quirks for the Doctor) it was bound to be a success. Imaginative intelligent entertainment never went out of fashion; we just forgot how to do it well.
Personally I'm going to wait for the extras packed Box Set which I believe is scheduled for November but for those that can,t wait that long this is ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THANK YOU, DOCTOR FOR RETURNING, 2 Sep 2005
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I live in America, and have been waiting for Dr. Who to show up on BBC America. It hasn't so far, but I have a laptop computer that will play Region 2 DVD's. I bought the New Doctor Who season disks, and I love them. The stories are great, and Christoper Eccleston is great as the Doctor. It's a shame that he's only on for one season. Hopefully BBC America will pick up the show, and all of America will be able to enjoy the season
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Series 1 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005]
Doctor Who: Series 1 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] by Christopher Eccleston (DVD - 2005)
£3.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews