Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nostalgic, 28 April 2008
By 
C. Knight "old fashioned" (northants england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Songs That Won The War: Celebrating The 60th Anniversary Of VE Day (Audio CD)
i wanted a compilation that contained a bit of eveything, well this certainly does. it has eveything from the well known songs to the less well known and even speeches that were headline news of the day. it made me think what it must of been like during those terrible years of war for the soldiers and for those left behind to cope. i would thoroughly recommend buying this, it made my day listening to this wonderful war time music which we dont seem to get these days, how sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 5 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Songs That Won The War: Celebrating The 60th Anniversary Of VE Day (Audio CD)
May I say what a fantastic compilation. A wonderful design and obviously great thought has gone in to this compilation. The striking image captures the spirit of the album and I was delighted with the content. Well done DMG TV!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ONLY WW2 collection you'll ever need!, 19 Mar. 2009
By 
L. Beaumont (Hendersonville, North Carolina, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Songs That Won The War: Celebrating The 60th Anniversary Of VE Day (Audio CD)
All I can do is to echo the previous 2 reviews: this is just the BEST compilation of WW2 songs and speeches! I was born 6 years after the war ended, but these recordings take me right back to before I was born, if that's possible! Some numbers are sentimental, of course, but others are so cheerful and toe-tapping that they can't help but make you feel good (and you also find yourself singing along!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent compilation, 14 Oct. 2009
By 
mrs c j doran "Jim Taffy" (crowthorne, berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs That Won The War: Celebrating The 60th Anniversary Of VE Day (Audio CD)
I bought this for my Dad who was an engineer in the war and he is now 90. At one point we had to turn it off after all the memories became too much to bear, but he loved it and I think it is brilliant. It was good to hear him singing along!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Re-living the past, 22 May 2009
By 
J. E. Matts (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Songs That Won The War: Celebrating The 60th Anniversary Of VE Day (Audio CD)
My father, who has advanced vascular dementia has great difficulty expressing himself. These songs clearly give him pleasure, taking him back to a vital time in his life. He will join in with the words, recalling them with remarkable ease. It is good to see someone who has become very passive and confused react so positively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of nostalgia?, 6 May 2014
This review is from: Songs That Won The War: Celebrating The 60th Anniversary Of VE Day (Audio CD)
I did not even enter this world until 1956 but have often talked to my Mum about her evacuation during the blitz on Coventry during those troubled times, then along came this anniversary collection so I thought I'd give it a go as I have always liked music from this era and am not disappointed with this collection. This really is an excellent compilation and was certainly worth every penny as it revived even more of my Mum's wonderful and often stunning memories. After all this time she can even/still remember and sing along to a lot of the songs. Notwithstanding this it is vital we do not forget either the time or the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Value, 5 Sept. 2012
By 
Melvyn Green (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs That Won The War: Celebrating The 60th Anniversary Of VE Day (Audio CD)
For what I paid I am very happy, a lot of the songs I have on other CDs but there are also a lot I dont the CDs also include some speaches from Chamberlain and Churchill, found some of them a bit long, and some of the recordings are not great but all in all well worth getting to add to your collection if you are into the 1940s. I got the four CDs at a great price and well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best set of CDs, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs That Won The War: Celebrating The 60th Anniversary Of VE Day (Audio CD)
This CD set is an awesome tribute to the war years and contains songs that seniors can relate to. My Dad is thrilled with the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars xmas, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs That Won The War: Celebrating The 60th Anniversary Of VE Day (Audio CD)
Bought it for my wife who needed it for a charity show which went down well, money raised went to a good charity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Songs That Won The War, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs That Won The War: Celebrating The 60th Anniversary Of VE Day (Audio CD)
Good product . I sent it to a history teacher in New Zealand and both He and the Students loved if
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews