Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate 'bloke flick'
I first saw this film with a group of my mates at Uni and it was almost the perfect audience for this film. There are many so-called 'chick flicks' that combine tales of relationship with humour and "that's me" moments (or so I'm told) - think Bridget Jones - but few of the same for guys.
Well, Swingers fills that void. Instead of being a story about a group of...
Published on 13 Sep 2005 by Invicta13

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a film that is only enjoyable when the dialogue is good
This film is about a group of male friends who travel from bar to bar and club to club drinking, chatting up women, and philosophising on why they haven't got the jobs they want and the women they want. Some of the dialogue is long-winded but the good dialogue is very funny. As a bunch of
wanabees who were probably going to get nowhere in life, these actors were very...
Published on 23 Oct 2007 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate 'bloke flick', 13 Sep 2005
By 
This review is from: Swingers - Special Edition (2 disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this film with a group of my mates at Uni and it was almost the perfect audience for this film. There are many so-called 'chick flicks' that combine tales of relationship with humour and "that's me" moments (or so I'm told) - think Bridget Jones - but few of the same for guys.
Well, Swingers fills that void. Instead of being a story about a group of guys getting into slapstick scrapes and unfeasible situations with women, like Old School or Road Trip, it goes deeper and has a more sensitive edge - but with a wicked wit that ever prevents it becoming sentimental.

The comedy is subtle and clever, having some of that uncomfortably realistic and awkward quality that made "The Office" so unwatchably watchable. Favreau and Vaughn's breakthrough performances create rounded characters that are right on the 'money'. Doug Liman (of later Bourne Identity fame) makes superb use of the low budget set up and borrowed locations to bring to life an atmospheric, cool but unglamorous Los Angeles, that is by turns unpretentious and overblown.
The real genius here, though, is Favreau's script, which contains the kind of true-to-life, quickfire, vernacular-filled dialogue that a group of guys can evolve amongst themselves. It will be easily recognisable to any chaps watching and the emotions expressed through it, ranging from anxiety over how best to chat up a girl to wondering why she hasn't called, will also be all too familiar.
Buy it. Oh, and get used to the words 'Money' and 'Baby'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I really, really like this film . . . but I don't know why., 1 April 2008
By 
Beedo Sookcool (Torbay, Devonshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swingers - Special Edition (2 disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoy this quirky movie quite a bit, and get more out of it with each subsequent viewing. Okay, so it's got Vince Vaughn playing yet another semi-obnoxious lothario. It's got a displaced New Yorker who is -- SURPRISE! -- neurotic and whiny, something we've only ever seen in almost every single Woody Allen film (amongst others). It's got the Token Cool African-American Friend Who Doesn't Have That Many Lines. Yet at the same time, this was actually Vince's FIRST semi-obnoxious lothario role (which no doubt set him up for being cast in further such roles), and his character does redeem himself by being sincerely concerned about his friends, going above and beyond the call of duty to help them. The Neurotic Displaced New Yorker actually grows as a person with the help of his friends, and becomes balanced and likeable. And the Token Cool African-American Friend STAYS cool throughout the film without any over-the-top comedic cracking of the veneer during stressful moments.

The music is excellent, especially if you're into Swing, Big Band, and Jazz. I think it was the music (and the attendant anachronistic zoot suits) that caught my fancy on the first time through, and the plot and characters kinda grew on me in subsequent viewings. The excessive use of pseudo-hipster slang either enchants you or grates on your nerves; it's not a take-it-or-leave-it part of the film. Personally, if I hear anyone using "money" as an adjective ever again, my first response will be physical violence. And that's the ONLY reason I haven't given this film full marks. But it IS a fairly big reason for me.

Still, this is one of those films where the popularity and fan base started out slow and small but grew to cult status with exponential speed. Like most cult films, it's realistic(ish) and a Thought-Provoking and Irreverent Commentary on Aspects of Modern Society, but it's nowhere near as "gritty" as most cult films. In other words, it's in colour, it doesn't have a depressing ending, and there are no supremely wise taxi drivers dispensing zen-like wisdom. Also, not a lot really happens in the film, but it plays so much like the better kind of fly-on-the-wall Reality TV show that it's easy to get sucked into the (admittedly thin and rambling but engaging) plot. It's got loads of homages to other popular films, TV shows, and whatnot. It's very well-written, very well-acted by all involved, it looks really good, and (apart from hearing "money" and/or "baby" every 20 seconds) it sounds really, REALLY good. "Swingers" is one of those small, independent films which far outclasses most of the big-budget blockbusters, and launched a LOT of promising and successful careers. The behind-the-scenes documentaries are good for watching through ONCE, to get the stories behind the making of the film, but are so full of self-congratulatory back-slapping and gag-reflex-inducing mutual appreciation that you probably won't want to watch them ever again. The "Swing Blade" short film included in the bonus features, however, I could watch again and again and again until my eyeballs shrivel; it's hilarious!

However much fans of this movie rave about it (and I count myself as one of those), "Swingers" admittedly isn't going to be to everyone's taste. I would recommend renting it first to see if it's your kind of film, and if it is, THEN buy it. It's an exceptionally good kick-back-and-relax film to watch while downing a few cocktails, either alone or with your friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boys keep swinging, 23 Jun 2005
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Swingers - Special Edition (2 disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I expect anyone who's a fan of this film will already own it on DVD, but here nearly ten years after its theatrical release (1996) is the Special Edition. Whether you buy depends on how much you love the film and how badly you want to hear the various commentaries or the making of or the deleted scenes. Worth seeing/hearing though they undoubtedly are, the real reason for owning this is the movie , a series of pacy fast talking comedy vignettes set in the L.A. lounge social scene and revolving around a bunch of young studs all out to have as good a time as possible as young guys are wont to do.
This is the debut feature of Doug Liman ("Go", The Bourne Identity") who clearly wasn't blessed with a large budget but directs in a metricious understated manner and is privileged to have a cracking script from Jon Favreau who also plays the lead role of Mike Peters, a jobless actor who is still hung up on the split from his ex- girlfriend. Peters is by turns annoyed and cajoled by his rapaciously slick best mate Trent who is played superbly by Vince Vaughn, as he attempts to cure his friend of his moribund obsession with his ex. They go to bars, have confrontations with other men, argue and try to pull women. It doesn't sound much but it's very funny and furnishes us with a some unforgettable scenes. There is one involving an answering machine that comes close to genius and Vaughn's attempted seduction of a young women across the seats of a bar diner is almost as good. Best of all though is the scene where Mike finally hit's it lucky, dancing with vertiginous glee to the swinging Big Bad Voodoo Daddy which brilliantly encapsulates the thrill of meeting someone new and just letting go.
This is a terrific hugely enjoyable film, crackling with energy and spiky wit. The sound track is superb, and is actually worth owning in its own right. If you don't own this already then this is the version to go for.It, s a bit of a paradox but no film has made going out away from your T.V seem so enticing. If only bands like Big Bad Voodoo Daddy played near where I live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, shame about the DVD, 24 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Swingers [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Swingers has got to be my all-time favourite film, and there is no question that everybody should own it on some format or another. That said, this DVD is not what I had hoped for. The only extras are subtitles in English and a couple of trailers. No commentary, no documentary. Even the scene selection is a bit dodgy, as the movie is divided into just ten parts, which makes it hard to pick out the classic moments. If you're a Swingers fan, buy it, but don't expect too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this movie is money baby!, 23 Jan 2002
This review is from: Swingers [VHS] [1997] (VHS Tape)
man this film rocks,if your like me and your feeling low about yourself due to being single or recently dumped by your girl then this movie is a real pick-me up.the main man 'mikey'is just that guy,he has low self-esteem and cant get to grips with chatting up women in bars,but his buddys rob ,trent and sue make sure he gets what he needs. a funny,well written and filmed movie,made on such a small budget ive seen it 5 times and im gonna see it again.afterwards youll wanna slick your hair back,find a nice jazz/swing bar and kick it ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's so money and it doesn't even know it!, 6 July 2007
This review is from: Swingers [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Ignore any negative comments you might read about Swingers, this is an absolute classic. It's brilliantly scripted, acted so naturally and most guys can relate to it. Even though it is a lad's movie, women can enjoy it at another level. Jon Favreau (Mikey) and Vince Vaughn (Trent) clearly feel good working together and you can tell they are mates off-screen, as this shows in the two main character's relationship. I would say, don't buy this version, buy the Special Edition version which has got loads of extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For once, a realistic lads' film!, 11 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Swingers [VHS] [1997] (VHS Tape)
This movie is brilliant, very funny but with a subtle message too. Basically it's about a bunch of lads on the pull, looking for the "beautiful babies" of LA. There aren't many films that make you feel good after you watch them, but Swingers is one of them. Thoroughly enjoyable, excellent dialogue. This film does not take itself too seriously either unlike Tarantino's films. Lots of eye candy on show too, particularly the girl that Mike meets in the bar after the house party!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cult classic which I now watch religiously, 27 Jan 2002
This review is from: Swingers [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
The most realistic, funny, charming, painful, and feel-good dialogue ever to come out of America. Trent Walker, superbly played by Vince Vaughan, is a modern day gigolo who helps best-mate Mikey, also superby played by creater Jon favreau, overcome the emotional turmoil and self-confidence problems after the break up of his long-term relationship - with hilarious consequences. Personally, this is my favourite movie, and even more-so because it references all my other favourite movies.
Please take a chance on this film. You wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Film On A Number Of Levels ..., 23 Jun 2007
By 
m.bison (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Swingers [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Although this is an old film now, I only rented it out a week ago. There were two reasons for renting this 1997 film in 2007: 1) I'd recently read about a very funny scene where a guy messes up the next day call back after meeting a girl in the bar. 2) A long-term relationship had ended and I was going out with friends to bars and clubs more.

I was expecting a funny and accurate account of the trails 'n' tribulations of twentysomethings hitting the town and trying to meet women. While I found this film in Swingers, I also discovered something very unexpected that helped me a lot. Not only do you get a film about single guys hitting on girls in clubs and occasionally making a fool of themselves, there's a great film in here about how to deal with the sadness and confusion of losing someone you love.

The main character is Mike, a guy who has just lost his girlfriend of six and a half years. He waits and waits for his ex-girlfriend to call. He bores his friends by continuously talking about her. He agonises over calling her or not calling her. Completely out of the blue and in this film about insensitive, sex-mad `players`, there was a guy who mirrored exactly what I was going through. The dialogue and the concerns of the character weren't overly sentimental or like a daytime soap opera, they were realistic and very well written. When one of his more sensitive friends tell him that "you begin to miss the pain for the same reason you miss her ... because you lived with it for so long" it was the most help I ever got in the six months since my break up. And when his ex-girlfriend finally calls him towards the end, it sent shivers down my spine and I wrapped my arms around my chest ... not bad for a film called "Swingers".

Indeed, for me personally, this film has been an unbelievable find and I'll be buying it without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're a single man, this movie will change your life!, 19 Jun 2001
This review is from: Swingers [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I watched Swingers a couple of years ago on the big screen. I came out of the movie not only believing I was 'money', but I could pull any woman I wanted. I did, and now I'm married to her. My wife even loves it! It will also appeal to anyone who ever owned Sega NHL Ice Hockey. There has never been such a feel good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Swingers - Special Edition (2 disc Box Set) [DVD]
£4.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews