Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A New Day Yesterday, Joe Bonamassa (2005 reissue) - A new Blues Legend is born, 9 Dec 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Day Yesterday (Audio CD)
Wow. Is this cracking album really the debut recording from Joe Bonamassa? The talent on show here is simply breathtaking, with technical mastery of the guitar and some excellent vocal work. Bonamassa started out as he has gone on, as a guitar god to rival Hendrix or Jimmy Page, turning out track after track of rocking blues tunes driven by catchy guitar riffs interspersed with lots of real fireworks.

It is interesting to note that the first three tracks here are covers of songs originally penned and recorded by British artists. Rory Gallagher's `Cradle Rock' provides the barnstorming opener, followed by Free's `Walk In My Shadows' and the quintessentially English Jethro Tull's `New Day Yesterday'. Talk about setting your sights high - in Gallagher, Paul Kossoff and Martin Barre Bonamassa has three superb guitarists to pay tribute to, and he does not disappoint. The recordings are similar enough to the originals to not be annoying to fans, but Bonamassa makes them his own and makes them different enough to be interesting. A real achievement!

Most of the rest of the record is made up of Bonamassa originals. This allows him to show off a range of guitar skills, and sonically he manages to pay tribute to a host of other guitar gods. There are phrases that sound straight from Led Zeppelin, Stevie Ray Vaughn and Jimi Hendrix. Not only can he play in the same style as all of these distinctive guitar voices, he also has his own unique sound which he uses to great effect. His technical mastery really is something else again.

This 2005 reissue of the original 2000 album has one extra track. The full version of `Miss You, Hate You' is fully two and a half rock packed minutes longer than the cut found earlier on the album, and is by far the better version.

An excellent album, heartily recommended to all lovers of blues rock in the style of Cream, Led Zeppelin, Hendrix or SRV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Green Shoots of a Blues Great, 24 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Day Yesterday (Audio CD)
I got in to Joe Bonamassa on the release of Sloe Gin and have become a massive fan of his since. I have now delved into his back catalogue and picked up, amongst others A New Day Yesterday. An apt title as I think this could well have been a turning point in Joe's career, the album where it all really started to come together. The 13 tracks here bring together the blues, rock and a dose of soul, all underpinned with Bonamassa's languid and sassy guitar playing. Such is the quality of this album that tracks like Walk In My Shadows and New Day Yesterday are still live favourites today.

Bonamassa is the vanguard of the current blues renaissance, it is easy to see why!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 14 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: New Day Yesterday (Audio CD)
I had never before heard of Joe Bonamassa, but on hearing this CD I was surprised; at the tender age of 23 he has got some superbly crafted blues and rock songs in his arsenal as well as great guitar playing skills and a superb voice. If you are into blues or rock BUY THIS ALBUM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luv It, 6 Feb 2009
This review is from: A New Day Yesterday (Audio CD)
This album was my introduction to Joe - having only recently heard of him - (where have I been!) I think it's brilliant & I luv it. Walk In My Shadow, A New Day Yesterday, Nuthin' I Would'nt Do, I Know Where I Belong, Miss You,Hate You, Current Situation & Don't Burn Down That Bridge are all my favorites on this album. The others are still great tho. If you are in any doubt, buy it & try it, if you like rock/blues, I'm sure you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars best man around, 25 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Day Yesterday (Audio CD)
I just want to say that Joe Bonamassa is deservedly hyped as one of the best guitar players around these days. Being "the best" is a matter of taste but he is in the top club. He plays the blues from the inside, but he can play anything, you hear this is a guy of wide musical tastes and he is just really worth listening to. However this album - his first - is not my favourite by far. If you want to discover him, try the "live from nowhere in particular" (which is also a best of) and the amazing "blues deluxe" first. Anyway, after those two, I guarantee that, like me, you will try and buy everything he has recorded. He is THE MAN. I can't wait to see him live when he comes to Europe this December.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good all round blues, 25 April 2014
By 
This review is from: A New Day Yesterday (Audio CD)
Some classic and some new Bonamassa written blues, a heady mix. I thought that the first track, 'Cradle Rock' a Rory Gallagher staple track was very good and draws you into the rest of this albums offerings. Its an early part of this blues man's career but already you can tell that this boy is going to do well. There's influences from Gary Moore and many others. Good solid blues rock great listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album and some great cover versions, 21 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Day Yesterday (Audio CD)
Always loved the Jethro Tull and Sam Brown versions but Joe has put his own inimitable stamp on them. A great CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly promising debut, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Day Yesterday (Audio CD)
Classic blues/rock from a guitarist who is destined to become a legend. From the title track through a great interpritation of Free's Walk in my Shadows and the moving If Heartaches Were Nickels to some well written original tracks as in Colours and Shapes JB proves he has a real feel for the genre. A truely excellent debut album !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great album, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Day Yesterday (Audio CD)
Joe does it again, although not his best certainly worth a place in my collection.
Starts with a great riff and finishishes with a Lynyrd Skynyrd style ballad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting there, 23 Aug 2009
By 
L. Baldry "barry laundry" (Pewsey Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Day Yesterday (Audio CD)
Joe is getting there on this CD, still better live than studio but worth listening to as a retrospective look at his skills before he became so well known.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A New Day Yesterday
A New Day Yesterday by Joe Bonamassa (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews