Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sound of the Year
What a voice! A voice which reaches in and grabs you and won't let go.
Within 30 seconds of hearing Missy sing I was scouring the internet, buying everything I could find that she had released. This cd has been playing in my car continuously for a week.
The Sound of White is an extremely mature album for such a young singer, with a superb turn of phrase and...
Published on 18 Jun 2005 by Robert Rhead

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Go Aussie
It would be fair to say that Miss Melissa Higgins does not have the best voice you will ever hear, nor is she among the greatest pianists on the planet.

However, she clearly has a special talent for writing infectious pop tunes, combined with emotive and heartfelt lyrics, which will seep into your subconscience after only 2 or 3 plays.

Each track is...
Published on 19 July 2006 by Mr. S. E. Gascoyne


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sound of the Year, 18 Jun 2005
By 
Robert Rhead (Newcastle, Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sound Of White - U.S. Version (Audio CD)
What a voice! A voice which reaches in and grabs you and won't let go.
Within 30 seconds of hearing Missy sing I was scouring the internet, buying everything I could find that she had released. This cd has been playing in my car continuously for a week.
The Sound of White is an extremely mature album for such a young singer, with a superb turn of phrase and simple musical arrangements and it's great to hear someone sing with such a strong Australian accent.
She covers the usual subjects of love lost and found but there is also a darker side to some of her music. Listen, for example, to "River". A quite jolly tune, but listen to the lyrics and a disturbing picture emerges.
The recent single "Ten Days" stands out as does "Scar", which tells of the pressures brought to bear by partners in relationships, and "The Special Two" - full of regret for a mistake made. "Don't Ever" paints a picture of love and hope whilst the openining lines of "Nightminds" are sung so beautifully, it'll break your heart.
There are a couple of songs which I'm not too fond of, "Casualty" being one, but overall this a fantastic first album from a singer I believe we'll hear more of in the future. In this world of manufactured pop this album makes refreshing change and she deserves every success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missy Magic!, 5 Jan 2006
This review is from: The Sound Of White - U.S. Version (Audio CD)
This album is absolutely fantastic. I was recommended the album by an aussie mate. The music is quite chilled, but more rocky than Norah Jones. Some people describe her as a female James Blunt, but it is more upbeat than that. There isn't one song on the album that I don't like. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Sound of White, 6 Oct 2005
By 
This review is from: The Sound Of White - U.S. Version (Audio CD)
Having only had this album a week, I should probably wait to review it but so far I am suitably impressed with Missy Higgins' debut album. It is hard to place her in any one category, I can definitely see why she is compared to Alanis Morisette, and perhaps a little of Tori Amos in there too.
My favourite song is not on this version of the album, and is called 'They Weren't There', a haunting tale of love and loss. Instant attractions to the album are 'Scar', 'Ten Days' and the title track 'The Sound of White'.
Don't be put off by the reviewer who thinks she is mimicking a cockney accent. Her brusk Australian accent makes a change from the Americanisation (or should that be -zation?) of nearly all bands and singers nowadays.
Overall a solid start for Missy, and a must for anyone who appreciates heartfelt lyrics with mature songwriting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars plus!! An amazing young lady!!!, 29 Aug 2006
By 
S. Brundrett "Tinker" (Liverpool, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sound Of White - U.S. Version (Audio CD)
What can I say other than WOW? Melissa Higgins is simply an amazing raw talent. I was introduced to her music a year ago when a friend returned from her travels and I've got to admit that in that year I've become a huge fan.

Her debut album 'the sound of white' is a mixture of material where the lyrics will make you laugh, smile and cry all in the one album! Each song is written from the heart, with not a single weak track!! My personal favourites include 'Don't ever', 'Scar' and 'Nightminds'.

Although Missy's music is fabulous on cd, nothing can compare to this ladys voice live! She tours the UK every year, you missed her this summer as she's already been and gone (what an amazing experience that was!!) but be sure to catch her next year!! She's a relatively undiscovered talent here in the UK so her gigs are small and intimate.

If you can't wait to see her live in person then you can purchase her dvd from her official website which has been mentioned in previous reviews!

Roll on album number 2!!!!!

Enjoy . . . . . . . . x

And as for the individual who said that her accent was grating??? Go and wash your ears out as you obviously don't recognise talent when you hear it!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Songs Great Sound, 13 Oct 2005
By 
Ying Chan "ying chan" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sound Of White - U.S. Version (Audio CD)
Saw the video for Ten Days and was blown away by the song and her sound, she has an accent which does sound a bit cockney to me but that does not detract from the beauty of this album. Scar and Ten days are my favorites but the other tracks are of the same qualtiy. Go to website to view the videos [...] .. youll be hooked. The only issue is that there is one song missing "they werent there", shame fantastic song , not sure if it is on the australian import,equally fantastic. You wont be diappointed if you buy this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeously talented, 9 Mar 2005
By A Customer
Missy Higgins is a breath of fresh air. Finally, a female singer with real talent and ability - and she writes her own songs! I went to a ray lamontagne gig the other night, and she was supporting. As soon as I got home I bought her album. The album is simply gorgeous, and she is so unbelievably talented. She glides through slow, fast, angry, love, jazz songs with effortless talent & aching passion. If anything this album does not do her live ability credit. I recommend it to absolutely anyone with love of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an amazing new star, 24 Sep 2005
This review is from: The Sound Of White - U.S. Version (Audio CD)
Thank god for amazon otherwise I never would have discovered this amazing talent! Missy Higgins is fantastic. The kind of music i love at the moment is James Blunt, KT Tunstall, Daniel Powter, Jamie Cullum etc, but Missy Higgins fills the gap that still remained. I completely disagree with the person who said it's the kind of album you thought KT Tunstall's was going to be because both are fantastic. Even though I bought this only a couple of hours ago I know it's not going to leave my cd player for a long, long while. If you like Norah Jones, KT, Daniel Powter's slower songs, Anna Nalick or maybe a more upbeat interesting Dido then this is for you. Stand-out tracks are The Special two, nightminds, ten days, scar and this is how it goes. buy it and don't look back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MISSY HIGGINS IS FANTASTIC !!!, 2 Oct 2005
This review is from: The Sound Of White - U.S. Version (Audio CD)
Take no notice of any negative reviews this album may have received and listen up. I first heard Missy when in Australia where she is massive and have since seen her live numerous times. This album is one of the best collection of songs i have ever heard there is not one single tune on it that makes you skip onto the next. Of course she has an accent she is Australian, however this only adds extra charm and depth into her songs. All are melodic masterpieces which you can hear time and again without getting bored.Big guitars, pianos and catchy numbers (all written and played by Missy). Missy is gonna be huge !! if you don't own this album your crazy its a brilliant buy and one you won't regret!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 17 Dec 2004
By 
G. Ormrod "georgie" (lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is another one of those amazing singers who puts people like Katie Melua and Dido completely to shame.
A brilliant mix of piano, guitars, strings and wonderful vocals. Missy Higgin's voice sometimes reminds me of Scarlet, Lisa Loeb, Fiona Apple and even The Sundays.
The album mixes upbeat songs with ballads perfectly and doesn't once stray into that cringable female singer-songwriter territory that so many other singers do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sound of love?, 25 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound Of White - U.S. Version (Audio CD)
A friend of mine recently introduced me to Missy Higgins. From the first couple of lines of Warm Whispers, I knew it was love. I simply adore Missy's voice, it is absolutely beautiful. She sings from the heart and you can feel it in each of her words. The Sound of White is an amazing song and Nightminds never fails to give me goosebumps. A truly talented lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sound Of White - U.S. Version
The Sound Of White - U.S. Version by Missy Higgins (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews