Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, colourful and above all, just great fun!
As you've probably gathered, Lumines is a puzzle Game. A great puzzle game. It involves 4X4 squares dropping from the sky for you to make into 4X4 same colour squares. Sounds simple right? Its spiced up by a 'timeline' the sweeps across and deletes all your squares that you made up so its possible to combo squares into huge combos! Fantastic!
Graphics:...
Published on 10 Mar. 2006

versus
4 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear - not really good enough
New platforms usually mean a slew of below-par games immediately after release. The PSP has had its fair share of average games. And that includes Lumines. Its simply not good enough. Graphically, its pleasing enough (though it would have been hard to have got it wrong given the limited nature of the game). Gameplay is simply. But it lacks depth and, crucially for...
Published on 20 Oct. 2005 by Shady-boy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, colourful and above all, just great fun!, 10 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Lumines (PSP) (Video Game)
As you've probably gathered, Lumines is a puzzle Game. A great puzzle game. It involves 4X4 squares dropping from the sky for you to make into 4X4 same colour squares. Sounds simple right? Its spiced up by a 'timeline' the sweeps across and deletes all your squares that you made up so its possible to combo squares into huge combos! Fantastic!
Graphics: Well, they hardly push the PSP to its limits but thats purely because the style of game can't! There's only so much you can do with colourful squares but the backgrounds do look nice.
Sound: This is the 'core' of Lumines oddly enough. The background music is mainly clubby. Although i do not like this type of musci it works well here. It works especially well when you make up squares because you can get a mixture of different sounds. So it is possible to chain up massive club sounds and that can be rather soothing after a hard day's work which is nice for a puzzle game because the genre can usually get quite frantic and brain busting
Gameplay: Very simple, yet very effective. Place coloured squares into a 4X4 square of the same colour. Simple but insanely addictive.
Learning Curve: This is very, very easy to pick up and play but requires skill, determination and dedication to master. The premise of making squares is easy but once you realise how important the timeline is it becomes as deep as hell. (hint: always think about what will be left behind after the timeline deletes your squares)
Originality: It heavily borrows ideas from tetris and columns but the idea of music incorporated into the game is an original idea and works tremendously well
Lifespan: Will last you forever. End of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lumines - A launch game to be proud of..., 10 Jan. 2007
By 
Mr. AJ Perrins "AJ" (Sutton Coldfield, WM UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lumines (PSP) (Video Game)
I am not usually a fan of simple puzzle games, I owned Tetris for the Gameboy a long time ago, but out of the twenty-odd games I have in my Playstation 2 collection, most of them are driving simulators or third-person shooters. Consequently I did not have particularly high expectations when I purchased this game for a bargain price with my PSP two weeks ago.

After firing the game up and entering straight into the challenge mode. I was surprised at how simple the concept of this game is. Like Tetris, it involves fitting coloured blocks together to achieve the highest score, with bonus points being given if more than one block is erased at any one time. Although in Lumines, the blocks are always made up of 2x2 squares, which did seem a little tedious at first. However, this initial downfall is completely forgotten after a few attempts, which is helped by the unique style of the game and the attention to detail found during play. Firstly, the music starts off rather chilled and the block colours fairly plain, however, once blocks are dropped faster and the pace of the game increases, the soundtrack steps up in tempo and the game's "skin" and contemporary backgrounds alter in line with what is happening onscreen. An unobtrusive line constanly moves across the screen in time with the music and if more squares can be erased before the line makes full circle, bonus pints are given. Large amounts of blocks can also be erased at any one time by careful positioning and using the bonus blocks which are sometimes capable of emptying the screen in one go. This can be very convenient at times in the game when I was beginning to become very unstuck! Suffice to say, after a few attempts at the challenge mode I was addicted, just like the old Tetris days.

Although there appears to be little depth throughout the main game, the constant changes in atmosphere drew me back to play again and again, with at least an hour being lost in only one sitting. With the multiplayer and puzzle modes (which asks the player to make shapes out of the squares which can be diverting for a short while) as an added bonus, I was not only very pleased at the originality of the game, but actually taken aback at how good it is. Simple, but very effective!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tetris for the Millenium, 3 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Lumines (PSP) (Video Game)
Arrange a series of falling blocks into squares of certain colour, by which you will prevent the sceen from filling up. Sound familiar? It is, borrowing it`s gameplay style heavily from such classics as Segas Cloumns and Ninty`s Tetris but adding to it a next generation spin of snappy visauls and pumping house music. Easy to play, difficult to master, just what these puzzle games are supposed to be about. Add to this a variety of modes and wi-fi multiplayer and you have a game that you will probably still be playing when the PSP2 comes out.
Arguably the best title on PlaystationPortable. And yes, I do own Liberty City Stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 25 Nov. 2006
By 
brainleek007 (Bracknell) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lumines (PSP) (Video Game)
Lumines is a game which tricks you with its apparent simplicity but which goes on to show surprising depth of gameplay.

On first playing Lumines I thought it must have have been a bit of a joke, that the reviews I read raving about it were all wrong - how could a game that simply let you stack 2x2 cubes in only two colours have any real depth?

I found out pretty quick how wrong I was. The game is great fun. It takes a little getting used to whilst your grey matter gets used to figuring out which types of blocks are best in certain situations but once you start getting it the game opens up and you'll find youself building up the network of blocks only clear half of the screen with a few well placed cubes and earning the big bonuses!

The basic premise of the game is to creat 2x2 cubes of the same colour from blocks that fall from the top of thes creen - sounds simple but can be fiendishly difficult if you let your concentration slip! Every once in a while special blocks appear and when they are built into a 2x2 cube of the same colour any cubes linked to this cube of the same colour will all be deleted on the next pass of the deletion bar - it's great fun to build up the blocks and clear half the screen in one hit to get the big bonuses with this feature!

Blocks are cleared from the screen by a bar whose speed is goverened by the tempo of the music and the timing with which you place your blocks in relation to the beat of music can prove crucial to staying in the game.

The music also reacts to what you do - clear a load of blocks and get a cool breakbeat thrown over the top of the music! Each level has its own tune and unique beats. Another really cool feature is the way the game morphs between levels. You'll be playing and suddenly find your blocks smoothly change colour and the background simply change before your eyes without the game missing a beat. This plays havoc with your brain when you're used to playing with certain colours for the last five minutes!

As you progress through the main game in challenge mode you unlock the specific backgrounds/tunes which you can then play on their own in other game modes and they won't change so you don't need to worry about the colour of the blocks changing and scrambling your brain!

I should give a brief mention to mulitplayer. If you play head to head you each get half the screen at the start and as you clear blocks from your side you take over more of the screen. Needless to say if you're winning you have more space to place your blocks and you leave your opponent scrabbling to place their blocks in a tiny space which is always great fun! Sucks when you're getting trounced though!

Anyways, pick this game up - it's great game for PSP and I'm sure is available for next to nothing now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't stop the beat!, 15 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Lumines (PSP) (Video Game)
When I first played this game I did'nt know what to think.But after a while I began to tap my feet to the music, and before I knew it I was hooked!Lumines is a game very similer to Tetris.Blocks fall and you have to join a colour up into a group of four.A line passes over and makes the groups dissapear.The graphics are vivid and and bright and the music will keep you tapping your feet for weeks.The WI-FI multiplayer is excellent and will encourage you to make more friends,just so you can invite them over for a game of Lumines!Whenever you lose you'll keep coming back for more.You need this game in your life, especially if you like music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brain-Fryingly Addictive, 16 Oct. 2005
This review is from: Lumines (PSP) (Video Game)
Lumines is a super cool puzzle game which has a variety of difficulties. The concept of lumines: you play on a grid and a 2x2 block of 4 squares (each square can be one of 2 colours, which cahnge on each level) fall in the centre of the screen. It is your job to move and rotate these blocks so you get a minimum 2x2 block of the same colour. These blocks will be cleared when the timeline moves past them. Sound Hard? It isn't. This game isn't visually staggering but the graphics do the job just fine. Extra points are rewared if you can land the blocks on the beat and this is where Lumines really shines. As the game gets harder, you'll most probably focus on getting the screen clear. There is a challenge mode where you unlock skins (levels) which can be played individually in single skin mode. There is a puzzle mode where you have to make certain shapes out of the blocks and versus mode where you can play against the computer. The more blocks you can bust the more territory you get and the less the computer gets. It's a slight change to the gameplay. You can also unlock profile characters which will be displayed when you go on the Wi-Fi, Infrastucture or Ad-Hoc. Playing against your other friends is great and it gives Lumines a new dimension. The auditory aspects of the game are good, but the techno can get agitating. Lumines is huge and the challenge mode can take tens of hours to conquer it alone.

Lumines provides a unique experience. If you are just playing it for 5 minutes or for 5 hours, it doesn't matter, it's just as fun. The challenge mode will defeat even the most experienced gamers but you'll keep on playing. If there's one reason not to buy it, it would have to be if you don't like puzzle games. But. nonetheless, there is nothing better than finding an addictive game that will get you and your mates hooked for months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good long-term value, 4 Sept. 2005
This review is from: Lumines (PSP) (Video Game)
A frantic block-building puzzle, this is one of those great games (like Tetris) that you will still pick up and play in 5 years time.
The great visuals are difficult to pick up on while playing (but are pretty mind-blowing when spectating), but the audio is a different matter. Building up the atmosphere and rewarding good play, it takes an otherwise simple game into something superior.
Another thing that makes this game different is the fact that it also appeals to my wife, a lifelong gaming sceptic. She even managed to get the high-score for a while...
A couple of other playing modes thrown in make this a great long-term proposition that you will enjoy for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addicted!!, 16 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Lumines (PSP) (Video Game)
I bought this game after reading the reviews on Amazon. Im quite a sceptical person. So convinced myself that no puzzle game could be this good.....WRONG! My social life is non existent. my partner (who is also now "addicted") and myself,rarely talk. And who`s fault is this. Lumines. The most addictive puzzle game you could wish to find. its annoyingly good. you find yourself saying "ok,this is the last go" 2 hours later, your saying it again. I could go on and on. Graphics "mesmerising" music "fab"
gameplay "never ending addiction" AWESOME GAME"
An essential addition to your PSP games. Infact it was the 1st Psp game i bought. Still only have the 1 game. Its that good!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best PSP launch titles, 11 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Lumines (PSP) (Video Game)
I've had a japanese PSP for about 3 months now and have bought Ridge Racers, Tony Hawks Underground Remix and Lumines and think that in terms of originality and value that lumines is probably the best option. It is a very addictive and easy to pick up game (ideal for a portable console) with many backgrounds to choose from and some great tunes to go with them. The concept of the game involes connecting 2x2 squares of the same colour (out of 2 colours in total) and every few seconds an erasing line will come across the screen and delete the made up squares (sounds a bit wierd but don't knock it 'til you've tried it!). The visuals are not pushing the PSP to its limits (get tony hawks if you aren't already bored with the franchise), but this is a simple, addictive game that really is designed to be played on the move. It lacks 5 stars as I thought the makers really could have added a random skin option into the game, but this is really not that noticeable with the numerous modes including: VS computer or player (using 2 psp's) and puzzle mode, where you have to create different shapes out of the blocks. In short, if you want an original, long lasting puzzle game and liked Tetris or Rez, this is a must have for the first games you get for your psp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best PSP Title so far, 20 Sept. 2005
By 
Paul Treston (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lumines (PSP) (Video Game)
I have bought a number of games for the excellent PSP. Burnout Legends, Untold Legends, Virtua Tennis and Wipeout Pure. All of these games are brilliant and I can't fault any of them. I then picked up Luminies and I have not put it down since. It is one of those annoyingly addictive games where you don't realise the time go by.
Last Saturday I played it all evening till about 2am and then woke up at 7.30am and rather then turning over and going back to sleep I started to play Luminies and didn't stop until I got up 2 hours later !
The great thing about this game is that you can play it for a few hours or even a few minutes. The music is really catchy and the constant want of trying to beat your high score in challenge mode keeps you coming back for more and more. My current High Score is 46,000 in Challenge mode which I got on the first day and I haven't managed to beat it since.
If you are looking for a game with long term playability go for this. 5 stars hands down !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lumines (PSP)
Lumines (PSP) by Ubisoft (Sony PSP)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews