Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal Mayhem from the Mental Maiden Mainman!, 27 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Tyranny Of Souls (Audio CD)
Tyranny of Souls is proof positive that so called 'nu metallers' need to go back to school and study the classics. Far and above almost ANYTHING else out so far this year, Bruce's latest solo effort is a masterclass in metal.
And when you consider that Bruce knocked this out whilst touring with Maiden, doing his BBC Radio 6 rock show AND working as an airline pilot - well, it's simply astounding. The man is a legend.
The production from Roy Z is as scalpel clean and precise as we have come to expect, as are the musical performances. This is a classy album, managing to stay both true to a sound that was pretty much invented by Iron Maiden whilst at the same time bringing in more up to date influences which keep it fresh and exciting. Elements from previous Dickinson solo work are here, from Accident of Birth to Chemical Wedding, and the whole piece is infused with Dickinson's manic, rich, unique musical energy.
Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is best in life?..........., 10 Aug. 2005
By 
Mr Phil Bennett (Aylesbury, Bucks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tyranny Of Souls (Audio CD)
There are somthings that are reliable and quality. Things you can buy and know you will enjoy. There are joys in life and music is one. So when you can buy an artists CD and know it will be good shows the tallent of the musician. All hail Mr Bruce Dickinson! He is the bard of old, the story teller, making mood and setting theme with his majestic voice (air raid siren :o) ) Maiden were great, bruce left they were average, now he is back they are great again and so is his solo works. I bought Tyrany of souls 'cos I knew it would be great.... and it is.
What more can I say. Keep it up Bruce and thankyou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff as ever, just like you'd expect from Bruce, 13 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Tyranny Of Souls (Audio CD)
Not really too much I need to say about this one, anyone interested will know exactly what to expect; Bruce's voice is the Air Raid Siren as ever, Roy Z's guitar and production skills are as impeccable as usual, it adds up to a great Metal album. The stand-out track for me is first single 'Abduction' but there is not really any weak links on it. All fans of Metal would be well advised to check this album out, just because Dickinson is also a DJ, TV presenter, author, fencer and pilot, not to mention still the frontman with one of the biggest Metal bands in history, he's still obviously got plenty of energy left to concentrate on his solo project, resulting in probably his best non-Iron Maiden album to date. Great stuff from a genuine Metal icon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My new favourite Bruce album., 25 May 2005
This review is from: Tyranny Of Souls (Audio CD)
Well I don't know how Bruce finds the time really to make an album at all let alone a real scorcher like this one. This album is really good, out of the all Bruce Dicksinson albums I really think this is the best one. No disrespect to the current re-releases which are worth checking out for the additional material, but this is a fine one.
The theme of this album seems to revolve around flight and fantasy. The fantasy revolves around the artwork of the album from the 15th century which depict hell and this theme really does work. This record sounds more like a complete album where each track compliments the other which is quite rare I find these days. It really comes together well and Roy Z shines as the producer (as well as guitarist and bassist).
The first track lets you in on the 'style' or theme of the album when this track finishes thats when 'abduction' hits you. When I first heard the song I new the album was going to be special, but 'soul intruders' was amazing. It is a very visual track with Bruce shinning as the great lyricist he is. But track 4 takes the biscuit, I think this was previously played on the radio and it is a scorcher. Metal as it should be.
'Navigate the seas of the sun' could really only be influenced by Bruce's day job, which is flying a boeing 747. This is an important track on the album as it slows it down a little and holds it all together. When the soft white underbelly of Bruce's acoustic side is unveiled it's then promptly gutted.
'The river of no return' seems to stretch the theme a little and it reminded me a little of Rammstein. When you here it I think you'll know what I'm saying.
'Power of the sun' is a bit of a foot stomper and really puts all those metal pretenders of today well and truly in their place.
'Devil on a hog'...what else can I say about that. The title alone is enough reason to buy the album. Though this is a bit of the old "isn't this a single" track that you can see being released soon enough. Though that's not to say it's weak, like Iron Maiden's last album you knew that 'Wildest Dreams' was meant for one purpose. But what a great track.
'Believil' is pure rock and roll. This is the darkest track on the whole album and has a touch of Black Sabbath in it.
'Tyranny of souls' is everything a closer should be. Enough said really.
To sum up this album has a lot of weight to it and packs a punch. Though the theme of the album is rather dark Bruce seems to add adventure to the whole element of the album. And you get what you pay for, an album where each song belongs where it is (though I don't want to pigeon hole it as a "concept" album - but it is) Also great artwork, though thats not a really big selling point but I think it gives the album the charachter that it has.
BUY NOW!!!
UP THE IRONS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce is back and is always the best!!!!!!!!, 10 Jun. 2005
This review is from: Tyranny Of Souls (Audio CD)
Bruce Dickinson is an artist who has influenced thousands of singers, musicians and fans alike in his outstanding role as the front man of legendary band Iron Maiden. He has also on to achieved great success as a solo artist, and is also acclaimed as a Radio DJ, TV presenter, pilot, author and voice of modern music.
'Tyranny Of Souls', Bruce's new solo venture, sees him return to once again to collaborate with guitarist/producer/writer Roy Z in Los Angeles. The album is adorned with a 15th century depiction of hell by Hans Hemling and continues this theme to explore dark apocalyptic themes delving into science, theology and of course his love of flight, with thought provoking, intelligent and menacing lyrics that are sure to leave the listener's mind unsettled. Heavy riff laden songs and explosive virtuoso guitar work from Roy joined with the definitive Dickinson soaring vocals make this ground breaking album a tour de force of modern Metal.
Definitely a must buy for all metal fans!!!!!! This album is all that Dance of Death wasn't!!!!
UP THE IRONS!!!!! SE YOU AT THE GODS OF METAL IN ITALY!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really enjoyable, 28 Feb. 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tyranny Of Souls (Audio CD)
Released in 2005,and 6 years after rejoining iron maiden,tyranny of souls is a very accomplished solo album,his seventh in total,and showcases a sound both heavier than maiden and at times a lot more melodic and fused with keyboards and synths than modern day maiden.

Of course it is unfair to compare his solo work to the work of his band but its inevitable im afraid but tyranny of souls is no poor mans maiden,it is the sound of a man enjoying a sense of freedom,away from the demands of the group and writing straight forward rock/metal anthems.

The album opens with a quick intro of sorts then it snarls into the brilliant 'abduction' which is metal in the pure sense,bruce sings like the icon he is here,the album has some great riffs and we see a different side to bruces vocal range on the ballad 'naviagate the seas of the sun',this affords him to do stuff that he wouldnt normally do with maiden sprung to my mind when i heard this,'devil on a hog' is a more straightforward rock n roll song but still works here.

For 43 minutes you get an album that doesnt take itself seriously and is good fun performed by a true great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bruces greatest single work ever, 18 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Tyranny Of Souls (Audio CD)
What else can be said, the worlds greatest frontman in iron maiden and know a great single album to go with it, some of his other work is only average but this album is definetly worth buying. A must for all metal fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Dickinson - Tyranny Of Souls, 25 May 2005
By 
Michael (Hastings, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tyranny Of Souls (Audio CD)
Tyranny of Souls is, in my opinion, Bruce's best solo work and is up there with Brave New World by (as I'm sure you know) Iron Maiden.
The best songs on this cd are Soul Intruders, River Of No Return, Navigate The Seas Of The Sun, Power Of The Sun, Abduction... Ah hell, THE WHOLE DAMN ALBUM IS GOOD!

Just do yourself a huge favour, buy this album ASAP.
Trust me, when it comes to buying this cd, there is no such word as 'disappointment'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No extra tracks!, 30 Mar. 2010
By 
Rene Lund Hansen "the Rebel" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tyranny of Souls (Audio CD)
This may be an import-version, but there is absolutely no extra tracks when you compare it to the european version! But great record indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another great album from Bruce!, 28 Jun. 2009
By 
George Spiros (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tyranny Of Souls (Audio CD)
What can I say, this album is simply great.

It may not write history, but it is nevertheless great. Great Ballad included (Navigating the seas of sun), great speed-power songs, great hard-rock approaches. You may listen to it from start to end, and then put in repeat.

I admit that it is not as good as Chemical Wedding or Accident of Birth, but is a great metal album, with great power, melody, vocals (well of course), lyrics. If only last Maiden's album were half as good...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tyranny Of Souls
Tyranny Of Souls by Bruce Dickinson (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews