Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honesty 06 (or something around that)
In short, if you want a catchy, growly pop rock (it makes sense) album, then this is for you. If you want Iron Maiden, buy Iron Maiden or maybe The Chemical Wedding/Accident of Birth.

Here's a more in depth look for those not sure:

Contrary to common sense, I started listening to Bruce Dickinson's solo works from the end up - starting with a best of,...
Published on 25 April 2008 by Mr. A. R. Tivey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great vocals, not so great music
First of all I'm going to say that the vocals on this album sound fantastic as always, (hey it's Dickinson we're talking about), however the songs just aren't that great compared to what he did with iron maiden, there's no iconic guitar riffs or solos here.
This isn't a bad album by any means, it's just not that special
Published on 2 Jan 2011 by O. J. Mcdonnell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honesty 06 (or something around that), 25 April 2008
By 
Mr. A. R. Tivey (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tattooed Millionaire (Audio CD)
In short, if you want a catchy, growly pop rock (it makes sense) album, then this is for you. If you want Iron Maiden, buy Iron Maiden or maybe The Chemical Wedding/Accident of Birth.

Here's a more in depth look for those not sure:

Contrary to common sense, I started listening to Bruce Dickinson's solo works from the end up - starting with a best of, I decided to get Chemical Wedding first, and tracked roughly backward slowly with Skunkworks, Accident of Birth, and now this. You'll find another review I made over at Skunkworks' page.

This is not an Iron Maiden album. One of the reasons Dickinson decided to leave Maiden was to have his work judged as -his- work, not as Maiden's. If you're after a more Maiden-esque album, buy The Chemical Wedding or Accident Of Birth.

This album is much more of a hard rock album, with lyrics which both make an attempt at seriousness (No Lies, Son of a Gun, Born in '58 and the titular track) as well as some more fun and tongue-in-cheek, rock-for-the-sake-of-rock songs (Dive! Dive! Dive!, Hell on Wheels and Zulu Lulu). The record is well put together, with the song order well thought out and with good pace, and Dickinson sings in his growly, Fear of the Dark style - his more wailing/operatic style doesn't really re-appear in full force until Skunkworks, though it does make some guest appearances here.

Personally I like this album and was pleasantly surprised with how catchy it is. It has more songs that can be listened to individually, of 'single quality', unlike the Chemical Wedding album which demands to be listened to in its entirety more than not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Heavy Metal, 7 Sep 2011
By 
D. Robins (Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tattooed Millionaire (Audio CD)
A great solo album from Iron Maiden's Bruce Dickinson. If you're into the metal genre you should find this enjoyable and easy to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any Dickenson fan., 29 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: Tattooed Millionaire (Audio CD)
Been meaning to buy this when it emerged all those years ago. An excellent driving companion. Let's have more Bruce!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pleased, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tattooed Millionaire (Audio CD)
This item was dispatched promptly and arrived in good time, exactly as it was described in the listing. Overall, I was very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked gem, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tattooed Millionaire (Audio CD)
Bruce's first solo album was meant to be a throwaway affair, done for fun. Instead, we get a solid album of (admittedly light-hearted) material, all of superb quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great vocals, not so great music, 2 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Tattooed Millionaire (Audio CD)
First of all I'm going to say that the vocals on this album sound fantastic as always, (hey it's Dickinson we're talking about), however the songs just aren't that great compared to what he did with iron maiden, there's no iconic guitar riffs or solos here.
This isn't a bad album by any means, it's just not that special
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A work of two halves, 21 Mar 2010
By 
S. P. Long "Simon Long" (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tattooed Millionaire (Audio CD)
"Tattooed Millionaire" is Bruce Dickinson's first solo album, recorded while he was still a member of Iron Maiden, but was looking to do something outside the group. Given the fact that Bruce is in Maiden, it is clear that this was never going to be that far removed from heavy metal, and so it turns out - while lacking the full-on onslaught of Maiden's albums, this is clearly coming from a similar place, albeit slightly toned down.

Some of this album is very good - "Born in '68", "Son Of A Gun", the title track and "Gypsy Road" are all worth a listen, and the cover of Mott / Bowie's "All The Young Dudes", while not improving on the original, is creditable enough. However, for most of the other tracks on the album, Dickinson descends into adolescent smut for the lyrics - I'd call it innuendo, but it isn't even that subtle. These tracks grow old very quickly - as an adult, I'd be embarassed if anyone caught me listening to them!

It's a shame - had Dickinson produced another 4 or 5 tracks like the better ones on here, this would have been a very worthy album. As it is, it's worth buying, but make sure your CD player's remote is to hand to skip the dross.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dickinson's first attempt to solo!, 28 Jun 2009
By 
George Spiros (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tattooed Millionaire (Audio CD)
For Bruce after 7nth son, to come out with a solo album was a bold step!

It is not Maiden music, but dont be miscouraged, it is very good hard-rock.

In fact it is better than same period's No Prayer for the Dying. It is fresh, sounding way different than Maiden being more pure and simple.

And for the people that compare it to Maiden's albums i say that, apart from Fear of the Dark, no post Maiden album matches even this simple attempt of Bruce!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No lies, 30 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: Tattooed Millionaire (Audio CD)
At first was very apprehensive about listening to Bruce's solo stuff as being a major Iron Maiden fan. However to my surprise his stuff is amazing, can listen to the album repeatedly all day. Bruce Dickinson is a legend and the ability to be successful solo just proves this further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different, 16 Jun 2008
By 
James Hutton (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tattooed Millionaire (Audio CD)
So this is a rock album. and the point is? Whilst this album is the worst of Bruce's solo career (not that that is saying much since it was exceptionally good) it shows adifferent side of him. the album may take time to grow on you but it does grow. best song? the title track. worst? gypsy road. the album is really good and i think it is fair to say that bruce decided that he would stick to what people wanted from him after this album. and why? i'll never know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tattooed Millionaire
Tattooed Millionaire by Bruce Dickinson (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews