Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UTTERLY WATCHABLE IN EVERY WAY!!
TO SAY THAT THIS FILM IS 'UNWATCHABLE' OR 'UTTER CRAP' IS JUST RIDICULOUS. I KNOW PEOPLE ARE ENTITLED TO THEIR OWN OPINION BUT COME ON, OKAY THIS ISN'T THE BEST ZOMBIE MOVIE EVER MADE BUT TO SAY THAT ITS 'DOG TURD'!?!?! SOME PEOPLE WOULDN'T APPRECIATE A GOOD ZOMBIE FLIC IF IT CAME UP TO THEM AND BIT INTO THEIR INSULAR, LIMITED LITTLE BRAINS!!! JUST BECAUSE A FILM IS...
Published on 25 July 2011 by BUB LOGAN

versus
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Undead
Billed to me as the Australian 'Shaun Of The Dead', it isn't entirely undeserving of the title, nabbing scenes from various zombie films and a couple of Hollywood blockbusters as well. The plot runs as follows - meteorities fall from space and smash into people turning them into zombies who are naturally hungry. A group of survivors end up in the bunker of an enigmatic...
Published on 22 May 2005 by kev campkin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Undead, 22 May 2005
This review is from: Undead [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Billed to me as the Australian 'Shaun Of The Dead', it isn't entirely undeserving of the title, nabbing scenes from various zombie films and a couple of Hollywood blockbusters as well. The plot runs as follows - meteorities fall from space and smash into people turning them into zombies who are naturally hungry. A group of survivors end up in the bunker of an enigmatic man with moves nicked straight out of 'The Matrix' but as one of them is a pregnant woman and they have no food and water, they find themselves having to escape. Later on, we discover that the entire zombie premise is part of an alien conspiracy and so the battle is with the aliens as well as the rabid cadavers wandering around the apocalyptic town.
The film certainly rubs shoulders with 'Braindead', being both dysfunctional and comically gory (although the blood and entrails quieten down as the movie goes on). Zombie fans will enjoy picking out various sight gags and bits of speech taken from other zombie films "they're not zombies, don't call them that!" and newcomers to the genre will delight in the outrageous death scenes of the undead. It's no 'Braindead' being neither quite as funny or intense, and the plot does drag at times towards the end, but it is certainly a reasonable alternative for fans of Peter Jackson's early work and for virgin zombie viewers the first half an hour will help desensitise you for your exploration into the genre. And the elderly lady taken out by a meteorite early on will make you split your sides with laughter. Every. Single. Time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UTTERLY WATCHABLE IN EVERY WAY!!, 25 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Undead [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
TO SAY THAT THIS FILM IS 'UNWATCHABLE' OR 'UTTER CRAP' IS JUST RIDICULOUS. I KNOW PEOPLE ARE ENTITLED TO THEIR OWN OPINION BUT COME ON, OKAY THIS ISN'T THE BEST ZOMBIE MOVIE EVER MADE BUT TO SAY THAT ITS 'DOG TURD'!?!?! SOME PEOPLE WOULDN'T APPRECIATE A GOOD ZOMBIE FLIC IF IT CAME UP TO THEM AND BIT INTO THEIR INSULAR, LIMITED LITTLE BRAINS!!! JUST BECAUSE A FILM IS DIFFERENT FROM THE NORM AND NOT QUITE WHAT WE WERE EXPECTING DOES NOT MAKE IT 'DREADFUL IN EVERY WAY'. HOW CAN YOU EVEN START TO REVIEW A FILM IF YOU TURN IT OFF HALF WAY THROUGH??

THIS FILM IS FRESH AND INVENTIVE. IT TRIES TO PUT A NEW ANGLE ON WHAT CAN BE A VERY TIRED OLD FORMULA. IF THE ZOMBIE GENRE IS TO SURVIVE IT NEEDS FILM MAKERS LIKE THE SPIERIG BROTHERS TO INJECT NEW IDEAS INTO IT. I COULD NAME DOZENS OF ZOMBIE MOVIES THAT ARE A LOT, LOT WORSE THAN THIS. A QUESTION TO ALL OF THE 1 STAR REVIEWERS OF THIS FILM: HAVE ANY OF YOU EVER WATCHED 'CHILDREN OF THE LIVING DEAD'? THAT, IS A BAD ZOMBIE MOVIE!!!

THE 'TERRIBLE ACTING' ISN'T TERRIBLE, IT'S JUST NOT GREAT, BUT HEY, HAVE YOU EVER THOUGHT THAT IT'S MEANT TO BE A BIT HAMMY??? THIS IS A COMEDY AFTER ALL.

THE 'TERRIBLE WRITING'? THIS FILM IS AUSTRALIAN, THEIR SENSE OF HUMOUR IS SLIGHTLY DIFFERENT FROM OURS BUT TO SAY THAT THIS FILM ISN'T FUNNY!?!? WHAT!! IT'S PACKED WITH VERY DARK, DRY, SARCASTIC HUMOUR. THERE ARE SOME VERY FUNNY SCENES AND SOME VERY WITTY LINES, YOU JUST HAVE TO APPRECIATE THE AUSIE HUMOUR. THE FILM RIPS THE PISS OUT OF ITSELF ON A REGULAR BASIS.

THE 'TERRIBLE PLOT'? OKAY, SO THE FILMS PLOT IS NOT 100% ORIGINAL, IT DOES PINCH A FEW IDEAS FROM OTHER ZOMBIE FLICS BUT THERE IS ENOUGH ORIGINAL CONTENT IN IT TO MAKE IT STAND OUT ON ITS OWN. AGAIN, THE SPIERIG BROTHERS HAVE TRIED TO PUT A NEW SPIN ON THE GENRE BY CROSSING IT OVER WITH THE SCI-FI GENRE. SO IT'S NOT ALL BLOOD, GUTS AND HEAD SHOTS BUT DOES IT HAVE TO BE???? THERE IS HOWEVER, PLENTY OF GORE IN THIS FILM, IT'S JUST FAIRLY SPACED OUT, BUT WHEN IT DOES COME IT'S DEFINATELY WORTH THE WAIT. ONE SCENE, SET IN A SUPERMARKET, IS PURE ZOMBIE KILLING GENIUS! TAKE ONE CAN OF FIZZY POP, ONE BIRO AND A ZOMBIE. MIX EM UP AND WHAT DO YOU GET?? THE MOST INVENTIVE ZOMBIE KILL I HAVE SEEN IN A LONG TIME. IT HAS TO BE SEEN TO BE APPRECIATED.

DESPITE THE RELATIVELY SMALL BUDGET (1,000,000 AUSIE DOLLARS) AND THE FACT THAT THE SPIERIG BROTHERS DID MOST OF THE SFX ON A COUPLE OF HOME PC'S, THE END RESULT IS VERY EFFECTIVE. YEAH, IT'S MOSTLY CGI BUT IT'S GOOD CGI, WITH A LIBERAL AMOUNT OF 'REAL' FAKE BLOOD THROWN IN TO UP THE ANTE.

PEOPLE SHOULD STOP COMPARING THIS FILM WITH PETER JACKSON'S 'BRAINDEAD'. IT'S A TOTALLY DIFFERENT EXPERIENCE AND ONE THAT DOESN'T NEED TO BE PLAYED OFF AGAINST ANOTHER GREAT FILM TO JUSTIFY ITSELF. IT'S JUST WHAT IT IS, WHICH IS A VERY ENJOYABLE, COOL, QUIRKY, INTELLIGENT AND DIFFERENT ZOMBIE FILM!

OH, AND BY THE WAY, I AM NEITHER AUSTRALIAN OR A MEMBER OF THE PRODUCTION COMPANY RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS HUGELY ENTERTAINING FILM.

ONE MORE THING, IN RESPONSE TO 'OXHAYBARNS' PATHETIC REVIEW. YOU'RE OBVIOUSLY A NARROW MINDED, BIGGOTED, ILLITERATE FOOL WHO CAN'T SPELL OR STRING A SENTANCE OF WORDS TOGETHER IN THE RIGHT ORDER AND HAVE NO REAL INTEREST IN REVIEWING THIS FILM. I HOPE ONE DAY A 'MENTALLY HANDICAPPED' (YOUR WORDS, NOT MINE) PERSON KICKS THE LIVING S**T OUT OF YOUR ILL-EDUCATED HEAD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Down Under Zombies, 9 April 2012
By 
S.B (Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undead [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
A enjoyable funny action packed zombie/sci-fi movie, even more so because it's set here in Australia with a good unknown cast, a must have for any zombie film fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What is the world coming to?, 31 May 2008
By 
C. Moss "oxhaybarn" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Undead [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
What is the world coming to? Here's a zombie film with almost no gore,almost no deaths, not a single moment which could be described as entertaining or funny and yet despite all this there are still people on this very site rating it 5 stars and saying it's packed with gore,humor and violence. Some of the obviously mentally handicapped idiots even post the same reviews twice. this can only mean that they work for the production company responsible for this rubbish and have posted the reviews in an attempt to shift more copys. THIS FILM IS UNWATCHABLE. DO NOT BUY IT EVEN IF YOU ARE THE WORLDS BIGGEST FAN OF ZOMBIE THE GENRE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bloody brilliant zombie film, mate, 31 Dec 2005
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Undead [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
As I've said in other reviews, zombie films are my least favorite type of horror films. Zombies are ugly, boring, and - despite all the talk - rarely do we ever get to see one of them actually eating a brain. This disinclination toward zombies on my part, though, actually helps me appreciate the truly great zombie movies all the more, and Undead, from those twisted Spierig brothers Down Under, is a great zombie film. Not only is it deliciously gory, it also manages to form a coherent plot around not only zombies but aliens, abductions, and acidic rain; that makes this much more than your standard "last one standing" zombie survivor story. I wouldn't put this Aussie product up there alongside Night of the Living Dead or Dawn of the Dead, but it's pretty darn close, mate.
Everything's peaceful in the little town of Berkeley (that's Berkeley, Australia, of course; nothing's ever peaceful in Berkeley, California) - until, that is, strange meteorites begin raining down all over the place and periodic showers of burning dark rain begin falling. Clearly, these aren't your normal meteorological events - most people hit by meteorites don't get back up, and they surely don't start ripping people's heads off and eating their brains. The zombies, constantly on the attack, spread their uglified condition even faster than panic can spread among the local populace, and pretty soon we're down to six survivors holed up in the old farmhouse of the town nutjob. Everyone laughed at Marion (Mungo McKay) when he told of being attacked by zombiefied fish and abducted by aliens, but now he's the only one with half a clue about what is going on all around them. If you don't mind, I'm going to refer to Marion as Torgo from here on out - Marion isn't a good name for someone with the best set of guns I've seen in quite a while, and the guy looks way too much like Torgo from Manos: Hands of Fate for comfort - it's pretty creepy, actually. Anyway, Torgo finds himself holed up with Rene (Felicity Mason), otherwise known as Miss Catch of the Day 2002; an annoying pregnant woman who claims, even in the midst of a zombie holocaust, that she should have won the coveted Miss Catch of the Day title, and her man; and two police constables, a female who specializes in cowering uselessly and a male who tries to hide his cowardice by strutting around like he's in charge. Despite the fact it takes them a good half hour to figure out that you have to go for the head if you want attacking zombies to go down and stay down, they manage to make a break for the border - only to find themselves fenced in with the most inexplicable of barricades. Then, as if hordes of attacking zombies and frequent outbreaks of acidic rain aren't bad enough, aliens start popping up to add to the fun. Maybe you're thinking this still sounds like your average zombie film, despite the alien presence. Well, it's not, as the plot involves a really nice twist that changes your perspective on everything that's happened. It's downright existential, and when's the last time you could say that about a zombie film?
The special effects are great, especially considering the movie's low budget. The Spierig brothers know that zombie films are supposed to be gory. They serve up tons of blood, more beheadings than I could count, heaps of bloody guts spilling out of abdominal cavities, some wickedly different head injuries that made me laugh with evil glee, severed limbs, and all sorts of stuff that will make a nervous Nelly feel quite sick to her stomach. The meteorological events are fairly convincing, the alien activities on and above the earth are very nicely done, and you've simply got to love those zombiefied fish. What more could you possibly want in a zombie movie than all that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars you either love it or hate it, 9 Nov 2010
This review is from: Undead [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
this film is like marmite, you either love it or hate it and i hated it. some cool visual effects and jokes but thats about it for me ended up turning it off halfway through!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A slightly harsh review:, 25 July 2007
By 
D. Curran "Tuppence" (Maidenhead, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Undead [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Undead has a decent sci-fi twist to it's carnage, but that also makes it a confusing beast and in the end it just feels limp, superficial and empty to me.

The absolute worst thing about this film - and I could (and probably will) write about this forever - is its godawful comedy score, which sounds like it's been pryed from an old silent movie and lovelessly, haphazardly splattered over the film's soundtrack, plundering the film of any technical merit it might have had.

Fair enough, zombies aren't the most serious of subject matter, but some tension in the music or editing would have helped me stay interested. Imagine watching Braindead (which is excellent, buy that instead), cut together by college students, with the Benny Hill theme looped over the dialogue for the whole 90 minutes and you're somewhere near the experience of Undead. Only with far less interesting deaths, no good dialogue and human characters that are less developed than the zombies. Followed up by a pretentious twist that only serves to make the entire film a bit more pointless.

On the good side, the gore is suitably over the top, and there are some decent moments of improvised weaponry, but it's all very superficial and I came out of the film feeling like I needed to watch some proper zombie films to cleanse myself.

1 star seems harsh, but I really just did not enjoy this film, and I can't recommend it - it is a waste of time as far as I'm concerned. Instead, I'd say save your money and buy the excellent Braindead, Shaun of the Dead and Versus. All three are similar in various ways but infinitely better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Undead, 15 Oct 2011
This review is from: Undead [DVD] (DVD)
This Australian zombie flick provides some decent gore, and some amusing moments, but doesn't deliver enough of what it does well, and doesn't deliver much else. It's just not funny enough to sit there with a good horror comedy. Some of the script is so laborious it's painful to watch at times, particularly in the bunker scenes. It's not gory enough to see it for that alone, and although it introduces an element of aliens (which is doesn't have the budget to pull off) it adds nothing new to the zombie film canon. It's perfectly watchable, it's just also perfectly forgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good laugh, bad acting, 10 Mar 2010
This review is from: Undead [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
If you dont want to have to concentrate on storylines, and just want some flashing colours in front of you for an hour and a half, then this is the film for you. the story is the best part of this film, followed closely by the CGI (which is terrible to be honest). The Acting is atrocious and the lead hero 'Marion' has to be the single worst actor i have ever witnessed in my days. The Fight scenes are sparse and far too short for my liking, and this will never be considered to be up there with the great Zombie movies, but given all that, i love this film, its the bad acting, the silly story and the shear stupidity of it all that brings it together to be a decent movie to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor poor poor, 27 Nov 2011
By 
I.ford (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Undead [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this dvd as I was in the mood for a zombie film. I chose this one as I enjoyed "Daybreakers" and it's from the same creator.
To say I was deeply disappointed is an understatment. I am not in the habit of switching films off after 15-20 minutes but I had to with this one. 15-20 minutes was very generous on my part.
My review title says it all about this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Undead [2003] [DVD]
Undead [2003] [DVD] by Peter Spierig (DVD - 2010)
3.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews