Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant crystal clear singing., 6 July 2009
This review is from: Stainer - The Crucifixion (Audio CD)
I am enjoying listening to this album having just bought it as a download. It reflects eternal doctrine and is presented in brilliant clear tones. I have no access to the written words but can follow the drama and the musicality very well. I would recommend this inexpensive album. It is true value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Prompt delivery and the product was in perfect condition. This is Incredible value for money and I'm very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great and lovely, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Andrew C. Mitchell (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stainer - The Crucifixion (Audio CD)
I had forgotten how great this work is. Generations of choristers have learned something of their Christianity from this deep well. The words are simple and appropriate -the musical setting is subtle and simple. I love many of the things that the organist is required to do. Stephen Farr never shows off. All the effects are beautifully conceived. I also want to pay a tribute to the tenor and bass soloists James Gilchrist and Simon Bailey. What excellent representation of the crucifixion in singing. The choir knows its business. Thanks Clare College, Cambridge and Timothy Brown. I just love to find the time to listen to this. Hope you enjoy this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not everyone's cup of tea, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stainer - The Crucifixion (Audio CD)
Exactly what was needed- obviously not everyone's musical taste but was an Easter present for a person who likes the choral set up and music- hard hitting in biblical use of words and puts a different perspective on the crucifixion in this modern age where understanding what it is all about is lost in the mountain of chocolate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stainer's Crucifixion, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stainer - The Crucifixion (Audio CD)
Wanted this music for some time. First choral work I sang in at 10 years old. Some beautiful passages that always resonate with me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stainer's Crucifixion, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I needed to replace my cassette tapes (they have distorted over time) and this version appealed to my ear the best. The sound quality is OK. The reason for the 5 stars is that the music is among my favourites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This "Stainer'' is a must have, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stainer - The Crucifixion (Audio CD)
Top CD especially for what I paid. Of all performances I heard and remember so far this is defenitely my favorit .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Performance, 15 Aug 2012
By 
M. J. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stainer - The Crucifixion (Audio CD)
This performance of Stainer's Crucifixion is certainly one to seriously consider when choosing to purchase a CD of this work. Particularly of note is the clarity of the words as well as the sensitivity to the subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bernadette, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stainer - The Crucifixion (Audio CD)
Just what I needed to rehearse the Stainer's crucifixion which I sang with the choir before Easter. a very moving recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stainers Crucifixion CD (Timothy Brown), 11 April 2011
By 
D. Holme "demloh" (Oxfordshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stainer - The Crucifixion (Audio CD)
A great CD. Very moving music and a good production of this religious choral music. Such excellent value and amazed at the quality at this price. Would recommend to anybody searching for a CD of Stainer's Crucifixion. Impressed, too, with the speedy delivery of this item.

Stainer - The Crucifixion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafd9b84c)

This product

Stainer - The Crucifixion
Stainer - The Crucifixion by Simon Bailey (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews