Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A grand return to form...
So, my favourite band are back with another studio offering and it's the best stuff they've come out with for a while. The Album cover depicts Uncle Sam with blood dripping from his fingers.
They're not evolving into any new musical directions and certainly not appealing to any new fans (No.38 for the single said it all) but this album shows there is plenty of life...
Published on 30 May 2005

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the old days stuff
I've always loved the Levs, but feel that even though they have tried to get back to the old ways of theirs, they have just missed the bullseye.
The only song I really like is Confess, much more like the old style of music.
Not is all lost though with this album, after a few times of listening to it, it starts to grow on you.
Hope this helps.
Published on 13 Jan 2006


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A grand return to form..., 30 May 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truth & Lies (Audio CD)
So, my favourite band are back with another studio offering and it's the best stuff they've come out with for a while. The Album cover depicts Uncle Sam with blood dripping from his fingers.
They're not evolving into any new musical directions and certainly not appealing to any new fans (No.38 for the single said it all) but this album shows there is plenty of life in the old dogs yet. "Green Blade Rising" was the last album and was good - but this is definitely better.
"Last Man Alive" is a brilliant guitar driven start and the closest thing I've heard to "Fifteen Years". The single "Make You Happy" does just that and "Confess" carries on the standard with a catchy chorus and lyrics that suggest they boys maybe tired but they would do it all again.
"For Us All" will be a favourite on the live scene and "Knot Around The World" keeps the pace up with a topical current war politics theme. "Wheels" is another great track on the album and "Who's The Daddy" reminds us all that we have little control over what goes on in our lives.
Small negatives are that Simon doesn't sing on his own on the album (which is actually a big minus) and the record does tend to drift for the last couple of tracks in my opinion.
Overall it's a very, very good return for the Brighton boys and should keep the live audiences well entertained over the coming months.
A worthy addition to all your other Levellers albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Truth & Lies (Audio CD)
Right, get this out of the way.
Loved the first 5 albums. Credit this band with turning me into the person i am today, (who i like anyway,) hello pig came out and i cried my heart out. Absolutley loathed it, give or take a few tracks. That said it has grown on me a lot, and i now hold it dear. Still, when green blade came out i had fairly low expectations, and was very happily suprised. Despite some weak songs towards the end i really felt they'd got back on track.
So now truth an lies. Instantly loved the whole thing.
Last man alive is fantastic, fast, and furious, maybe the most promising track they've written for the live circuit in five years.
Make you happy is the beautiful day of the album, nice song, nothing special, if any other band had done it i wouldnt even have noticed.
Confess is, like the first track a good song bouyed by a blinding chorus, makes me think theyve given more thought to playing good live then they have recently.
For us all, like someone else said, is a bouncy number which will be a lot of fun live.
Knot, Steel knife, and Wheels are all great tracks. LIve live live!
Said And Done is my favourite, beautifully constructed.
Whos the daddy, great chorus, kinda beatlesesque, dodgy versage tho. Weakest on album.
The Damned, another fantastic track, like said and done, and unlike daddy, show what mark is capable of when he thinks about what he's singin. Will be a live fave methinks.
Sleeping, great closer, beautiful instrumental at the end.
All in all, cant wait to see this lot live again. most positive ive felt about them in a long time. This is a fantastic album. i feel like a 15yr old again! Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Levellers storm back, 14 Jan 2006
By 
V. Joyce "hengemaiden" (Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Truth & Lies (Audio CD)
The Levellers are back, if they ever went away. Truth and Lies is fresh, challenging and up-beat. From the rousing danciness of Last Man Alive to the haunting lyricism of Sleeping, there is something for die-hard fans and intrigued newcomers too. The production is slicker than usual, polished and full of interesting studio effects that make this more than just a recordig of what the Levs do best, live gigs. Most mind-blowing is Confess, a dark ballad that has something to say to everyone and a gut-wrenching anthemic chorus to sway along to. This album kills once and for all the idea of the Levs as has-been crusties ambling along naively. The lyrics are hard-hitting on themes relevant to listeners of all ages and the musical complexity and variety is a treat for the ears. More like this, please, lads!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth and Lies - A real return to form, 24 Dec 2005
By 
This review is from: Truth & Lies (Audio CD)
Like lots of people I got into the Levellers ten years ago, loved everything they did. I liked the stuff they released after that (with the commercial-poppy mouth to mouth being my least favourite) but I know some people think they went off the boil at that point.
All I can say is that all of those people should listen to this album. In fact I'd say *anyone* who likes beautifully consturucted songs that make you want to dance, but also have the depth and complexity to stand up to lots of listens should buy this album.
Truth and Lies is a real coming of age album for the Levellers. Current single Last Man Alive will appeal to anyone who loved Levelling the Land - a gutsy punk rock sea shanty (!) that sounds fantastic live. Indeed, all the tracks the band have played live so far work really well- Wheels is a great upbeat number, and For Us All is just one great big silly grin of a song: I defy anyone who hears it *not* to be walking round with a great big soppy smile on your face.
It's songs like Confess, Said & Done and Sleeping though that really show how far the band have come. These tracks show the kind of complexity in lyrics and music that keep me coming back for more. Each listen reveals a new and beautiful facet to the music - great stuff.
So I reccommend this album, whether you enjoy the bounce and excitement of Levelling the land era Levellers, or you just appreciate a good song. Whatever genres you're into, this is worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the old days stuff, 13 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Truth & Lies (Audio CD)
I've always loved the Levs, but feel that even though they have tried to get back to the old ways of theirs, they have just missed the bullseye.
The only song I really like is Confess, much more like the old style of music.
Not is all lost though with this album, after a few times of listening to it, it starts to grow on you.
Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Truth & Lies, 26 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truth & Lies (Audio CD)
there wos no back cover to the dvd so im not happy at all its cam in a plastic slip case with just the front cover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worse than Hello Pig!, 27 April 2009
By 
Moondog (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Truth & Lies (Audio CD)
In brief, there's only 3 worthwhile tracks on this album and the rest is tosh. Essentially, this is cheesy pop music, not the folk-punk stuff that most Levellers fans of old crave. Even the over-production is bad. Some reviews here say this album will grow on you. Yeah, it will grow on you like an unwanted fungal infection.

I've just been listening to Hello Pig for the first time in years, and I was suprised to discover that it's loads better than Truth and Lies! If you want a return to form then check out the previous album, Green Blade Rising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great songs - shame about the production, 11 Feb 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truth & Lies (Audio CD)
So, another Levellers album. Admittedly the last few have been a bit patchy and so I wasn't expecting much from this one either. There are some great songs, reminiscent of some of their earlier stuff with a few modern twists and it all sounds great live too. But (and it is a big but!) the production is awful! I have been a fan for more years than I can remember. Once upon a time, the only way to get some of their earlier material was on a rather dodgy casette, direct from the fan club. This album has a similar sound and feel but I'm not sure that's what they intended!! So, if you are a fan - buy it - its better than Hello Pig!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truth & Lies, 12 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Truth & Lies (Audio CD)
I have to admit that at first I was incredibly dubious about this album. On first hearing it sounded like an attempt to get back to the pop mainstream of Hello Pig and I think the fans would not want another repetition of that. However, this is a slow burner of an album and the more I've listened to it the more I absolutely love it. It's a real summery album and is even better live!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truth and Lies. Getting back to what they do best....., 3 April 2006
By 
R. Williams "noddy_hog" (Swindon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Truth & Lies (Audio CD)
The Levellers do politically edge folk rock par excellence. Its what their fantastic live experience is all about. Punk music that anybody can dance to, waving two fingers at the establishment whilst helping those around them with the other hand. Towards the end of the 90's, the band tried to experiment with a new direction. Whilst good, it somehow lacked the energy of the older recordings. The last album, Green Blade Rising started the journey back towards their core sound. Truth And Lies continues that journey. There are some gems on here, Confess being my personal favourite. Many of them have found their way on to the set list. Thats not to say that there aren't a few 'fillers'. But much less so than recent offerings. The mix is slightly off to my ears, but other than that its a welcome return to the kings of crusty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb59c20c0)

This product

Truth & Lies
Truth & Lies by Levellers (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews