Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars24
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 May 2005
I have been an Elvis fan for many years and have watched lots of different programs on Elvis.This has to be the best one of the lot, because it is told mainly by Prisilla Presley & Lisa Marie.
They have nothing to hide and have no reason to lie, so pretty much what they say you can take as the truth.
Overall all they give quite an insight into Elvis and help put a lot of the missing pieces into the complex life that was Elvis Presley.
The version aired on T.V recently was less than an hour, this is the full length version, nearly 4 hours!.
The dvd has some interesting extra's like the account of when Elvis met Nixon and a short film about the karate film Elvis wanted to make.
All in all this is the ultimate documentry about Elvis, even non Elvis fans can watch this and gain an insight to what was Elvis and is world.The unseen footage is again first class, probably about 30 to 40 minutes of the footage I myself had never seen before and that is saying a lot, I have been an Elvis fan 30 years.
Picture quality is good for a T.V program and you have the option of normal 2 channel stereo or 5.1 surround.I opt for the 5.1 sound because it is much clearer and you can hear the music much better.
So, get on your blue suede shoes and hot foot it down to your local retailer and get the ultimate dvd of the King Elvis.
Thankyou,thankyou very much
0Comment|58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2010
As you would imagine, this is a biased account but how could it be anything else. And more importantly, it is none the worse for it. Everyone has their viewpoint on Elvis and it was interesting to hear Lisa's and Priscilla's. Much of what was said was in agreement with what many others have written. However, their accounts, even of his foibles or 'bad' behaviours, were told with amusement and love - his positive memory is certainly safe in their hands. I was more interested in gleening more about these two women and in that sense, the dvd content was too stage managed for anything really personal to emerge. Lisa emerged as the more natural character while the extent of Priscilla's cosmetic surgery was a total distraction to me as a viewer - hardly what you would call natural at all!! This is not essential viewing; if you want to know about Elvis's life and career story then there are far better informed sources. Also, it seemed to me, that most of the clips of him performing are taken from other dvds so there would be a fair bit of repetition for anyone who has these.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2005
Well I have read the book and seen the dvd.The book was good but this recording is great.It's 4 hours of Elvis as a boy,a son, a performer,a husband, a father and a friend.No one can say after watching this that the love for each other between these two never existed.There must be at least an hour of footage on this that has never been seen before, which is great and as I said about the book,I say the same about the dvd, a must for every Elvis fan.Touching and moving from start to finish and it's all by the two people who knew and loved him the most.Again,like the book,a lot of people excluded from the interviews!I wonder why?
Superb sound and quality footage well worth the price then again, it's all about the King.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
This was wonderful as this gives a deep insight into the King of Rock and Roll - Elvis Presley. I enjoyed this dvd very much as it covered everything about Elvis you did or didn't know. Thanks to Priscilla for saving Graceland for the fans and opening it to the public in 1982. Elvis will live forever with his wonderful music he has left for generations to enjoy. Thank You. 10/10
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
I have only watched the first DVD from this so far and I love all the Presley old private footage and how in depth the whole thing is..it is a must for any Elvis fan for sure! I am so looking forward to watching the second DVD...there are many things on here that will intrigue you...mesmerise you and move you! Thank you to the Presleys for making this :) I haven't been to Graceland yet but I am hoping to this year and I can't wait :)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2015
This is by far the best Elvis documentary that I've seen. There are rare clips, insights and interviews that make other productions seem one dimensional. Some reviews have said that this production is too positive and leaves out the gory details of his life (or death). I'd say it's pretty balanced and making his death, his drug dependence etc. the centre of the documentary would skew it into an area that has nothing to do with his talent, personality and musical genius. Plus why would your family want to dwell on such morbid areas, particularly when there is so much written out there that focuses just on the negatives. This film captures the essence of his life and spirit very well. Very much recommended to Elvis addicts. Very well put together and long enough to keep you going for several sittings of an Elvis fix.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2010
Great DVD lots of interesting facts,nice to hear it first hand from the people who loved him.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2007
Well I'm sorry,
but the simple fact that this documentary is called ' Elvis by the Presley's ' is just not enough to call it good.
Shure, it features some candid home videos and some nice recollections, but it's far away from as some said ultimate Elvis documentary.
Yes it's designed well, nice sound & picture, but it's not impressive.
This is just another factory product, it's not an artistic work.
To me it doesn't matter who tells the story, but how he tells it.
If you want just one, or really good movie, then go for 'This is Elvis' which is ultimate documentary of his life and music.
The picture will speak for itself.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
Seen it on TV; wanted the dvd. For once a paced out, frank and well documented feature of Elvis'Life. Could watch it on frequent Repeat! Loved the content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
anything regarding elvis is a must buy, especially this extended version. it just goes to show how much was edited when it was shown on telly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)