Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film
I have been an Elvis fan for many years and have watched lots of different programs on Elvis.This has to be the best one of the lot, because it is told mainly by Prisilla Presley & Lisa Marie.
They have nothing to hide and have no reason to lie, so pretty much what they say you can take as the truth.
Overall all they give quite an insight into Elvis and help put...
Published on 28 May 2005

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not essential
As you would imagine, this is a biased account but how could it be anything else. And more importantly, it is none the worse for it. Everyone has their viewpoint on Elvis and it was interesting to hear Lisa's and Priscilla's. Much of what was said was in agreement with what many others have written. However, their accounts, even of his foibles or 'bad' behaviours,...
Published on 19 April 2010 by E. Braben


Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film, 28 May 2005
This review is from: Elvis By The Presleys [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I have been an Elvis fan for many years and have watched lots of different programs on Elvis.This has to be the best one of the lot, because it is told mainly by Prisilla Presley & Lisa Marie.
They have nothing to hide and have no reason to lie, so pretty much what they say you can take as the truth.
Overall all they give quite an insight into Elvis and help put a lot of the missing pieces into the complex life that was Elvis Presley.
The version aired on T.V recently was less than an hour, this is the full length version, nearly 4 hours!.
The dvd has some interesting extra's like the account of when Elvis met Nixon and a short film about the karate film Elvis wanted to make.
All in all this is the ultimate documentry about Elvis, even non Elvis fans can watch this and gain an insight to what was Elvis and is world.The unseen footage is again first class, probably about 30 to 40 minutes of the footage I myself had never seen before and that is saying a lot, I have been an Elvis fan 30 years.
Picture quality is good for a T.V program and you have the option of normal 2 channel stereo or 5.1 surround.I opt for the 5.1 sound because it is much clearer and you can hear the music much better.
So, get on your blue suede shoes and hot foot it down to your local retailer and get the ultimate dvd of the King Elvis.
Thankyou,thankyou very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not essential, 19 April 2010
By 
E. Braben - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis By The Presleys [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
As you would imagine, this is a biased account but how could it be anything else. And more importantly, it is none the worse for it. Everyone has their viewpoint on Elvis and it was interesting to hear Lisa's and Priscilla's. Much of what was said was in agreement with what many others have written. However, their accounts, even of his foibles or 'bad' behaviours, were told with amusement and love - his positive memory is certainly safe in their hands. I was more interested in gleening more about these two women and in that sense, the dvd content was too stage managed for anything really personal to emerge. Lisa emerged as the more natural character while the extent of Priscilla's cosmetic surgery was a total distraction to me as a viewer - hardly what you would call natural at all!! This is not essential viewing; if you want to know about Elvis's life and career story then there are far better informed sources. Also, it seemed to me, that most of the clips of him performing are taken from other dvds so there would be a fair bit of repetition for anyone who has these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars elvis by the presleys., 6 Jun 2005
This review is from: Elvis By The Presleys [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Well I have read the book and seen the dvd.The book was good but this recording is great.It's 4 hours of Elvis as a boy,a son, a performer,a husband, a father and a friend.No one can say after watching this that the love for each other between these two never existed.There must be at least an hour of footage on this that has never been seen before, which is great and as I said about the book,I say the same about the dvd, a must for every Elvis fan.Touching and moving from start to finish and it's all by the two people who knew and loved him the most.Again,like the book,a lot of people excluded from the interviews!I wonder why?
Superb sound and quality footage well worth the price then again, it's all about the King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good DVD, 13 Jun 2010
This review is from: Elvis By The Presleys [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Great DVD lots of interesting facts,nice to hear it first hand from the people who loved him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis By The Presleys [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This was wonderful as this gives a deep insight into the King of Rock and Roll - Elvis Presley. I enjoyed this dvd very much as it covered everything about Elvis you did or didn't know. Thanks to Priscilla for saving Graceland for the fans and opening it to the public in 1982. Elvis will live forever with his wonderful music he has left for generations to enjoy. Thank You. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long but so worth it!, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis By The Presleys [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I have only watched the first DVD from this so far and I love all the Presley old private footage and how in depth the whole thing is..it is a must for any Elvis fan for sure! I am so looking forward to watching the second DVD...there are many things on here that will intrigue you...mesmerise you and move you! Thank you to the Presleys for making this :) I haven't been to Graceland yet but I am hoping to this year and I can't wait :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so good documentary, 23 Oct 2007
This review is from: Elvis By The Presleys [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Well I'm sorry,
but the simple fact that this documentary is called ' Elvis by the Presley's ' is just not enough to call it good.
Shure, it features some candid home videos and some nice recollections, but it's far away from as some said ultimate Elvis documentary.
Yes it's designed well, nice sound & picture, but it's not impressive.
This is just another factory product, it's not an artistic work.
To me it doesn't matter who tells the story, but how he tells it.
If you want just one, or really good movie, then go for 'This is Elvis' which is ultimate documentary of his life and music.
The picture will speak for itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD - But dont be fooled by Priscilla, 13 Aug 2007
By 
R. E. Beaumont (DONCASTER, SOUTH YORKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis By The Presleys [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This dvd is very entertaining and well put together, the compilers had unrivalled acess to private footage, and now it has been out for a while it is selling at a great price. I would recommend it to both fans and those with a more casual interest in Elvis.

However I would take issue with comments that because it is by Priscilla and Lisa-marie it is the definitive history and to be taken as the gospel truth. Priscilla married Elvis in 1967 and they separated in 1972, divorcing the following year. She may swan around Graceland now he's gone even altering the decorations there back to how they were when she lived there, but she was history when he died in 1977. Lisa loved her father but was a only child when he died. Of course they both offer unique insights into Elvis' life they can share with us, but it represent a narrow, censored version of the truth where those with other views are left out in the cold.

Accept it for what it is - just another view of a unique man who became the greatest of all superstars - The King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis By The Presleys [DVD] [2005]
Elvis By The Presleys [DVD] [2005] by Rob Klug (DVD - 2005)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews