Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Egyptian obsessives do it again
Nile are one of those bands who are credited with taking death metal forwards (a daunting task by anybody's standards). They have never, in my opinion, been found lacking.
This is a brilliant album. The song-writing is as superb as we have come to expect, very much sounding the successor to their previous effort, In Their Darkened Shrines. The technical skill is...
Published on 24 May 2005 by wraith85_m

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its George Lucas Syndrome...
'Annihilation...' was one of the two reocrds I was really really anticipating getting last year, the other being 'Words that go unspoken...' by Akercocke. I had them sent to me Thailand, as I couldn't wait to get home before listening to them such was my fervor.

Nile's new output was dissapointing. Not the playing. Its still the leading light for the rest of...
Published on 23 May 2006 by Tom


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Egyptian obsessives do it again, 24 May 2005
This review is from: Annihilation Of The Wicked (Audio CD)
Nile are one of those bands who are credited with taking death metal forwards (a daunting task by anybody's standards). They have never, in my opinion, been found lacking.
This is a brilliant album. The song-writing is as superb as we have come to expect, very much sounding the successor to their previous effort, In Their Darkened Shrines. The technical skill is superb, but I don't find that it gets in the way of the flow of the songs. A special mention has to be made for the incredible precision of the drumming. Truly awesome.
Although there are no filler tracks on the album, the ones that really stand out, for me, are:
Cast Down the Heretic
The Burning Pits of the Duat
Chapter of Obeisance...
Lashed to the Slave Stick
Annihilation of the Wicked
Another thing I love about this band is the effort they put into the CD booklets, where a detailed account of the context of each song is given, along with how it came to sound the way it does.
If I were to be brutally (and possibly unnecessarily) honest, I would say that this is not as revolutionary or as thrilling as ITDS. Where that album was a classic, this is merely great. However, it is still an immense effort from one of the most talented, friendly, and truly different bands extreme metal has ever produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, Brutal, Epic, 24 May 2005
This review is from: Annihilation Of The Wicked (Audio CD)
I wasn't quite sure what to expect from this album. I saw them live a few months ago and was impressed by their new songs in the live situation. On previous works the production has been slightly muddy and lacking definition. This time they've done a great job and all the instruments come through nice and clear. On this album the Egyptian influence has been toned down slightly with only two tracks (including the intro) not of a metal base. The rest is (mainly) a blur of speed, blasting drums, shredding, and possibly most of all, brutality. The whole album flows nicely from start to finish with plenty of variation in timing and tempo with mid-paced sections that give the "all-out-brutality" parts even more power and intensity. Once again they've proved they are right up there at the top of the death metal ladder. For me the best track is the title track, which at 8:30 isn't short!! 2 other tracks are also over 8 minutes. After a few listens i think its the best album they've done as it isn't as dis-jointed and flows better than previous ones. Well, i won't spoil any more suprises and leave it as saying if you liked other nile albums, prefer death metal to be a little more serious and meaningful or are interested in metal of truly epic proportions then buy this. I can't imagine why you'd be disapointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unassailable Death Metal, 20 Jun 2005
This review is from: Annihilation Of The Wicked (Audio CD)
Nile are the best death metal band in the world. This new album showcases all that is great about them, and this time round adds to it excellent production and a ridiculous new drummer.
My favourite thing about nile has always been the vocals. I cant say that about many bands, but this album's vocals are without doubt the most intense and sinister, - and cool -, vocals these ears have heard.
Everyone knows about Nile's brutal death metal take on egyptian mythology, and thier penchant for both slow burning epics and (relatively) short blurs of speed and intensity, so it only remains to talk about the musicianship. The guitars need no introduction, take a bow messrs Sanders and Toler-Wade. This album introduces probably the best young drummer in metal today. I heard he broke the world record for bpm on this album, and its not hard to see why.
Breathtaking Nile album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mighty!, 8 Sep 2005
This review is from: Annihilation Of The Wicked (Audio CD)
Nile must have surely felt the pressure to deliver after their last album, the masterpiece 'In Their Darkened Shrines', but it sure doesn't show when you listen to this album, which must go down as one of the most towering achievements not only of death metal, but of all modern music. The intensity and complexity of the music is mind-boggling at first, then just astonishing, the new drummer plays like a man possessed, the production quality is stunning, and Karl Sanders delivers 'Egyptology 101 a la Nile' with awesome, primal vox. The musicianship on offer here is the equal of anything in the world today. As my very good friend said to me, "If you can't appreciate Nile, then you can't appreciate music". That about sums this album up really - vital music. Check it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to top form, 13 Aug 2005
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Annihilation Of The Wicked (Audio CD)
Their drummers come and go, but Nile's albums are predictable in their content: and for this 4th album it's the usual collection of furious death metal tunes broken up with a couple of atmospheric pieces, and with a dominant Egyptian influence complimented by a touch of H.P. Lovecraft. Thankfully Nile are also predictable in their ability to crank out great albums, but Annihilation of the Wicked may well be the bands best album since their debut. While the Egyptian influence is very much still in effect, the extraneous muso wanderings and ethnic instruments that crept into the epic tracks on their last album have been scaled down, and what we have instead is a much more riff-orientated metal album, with the likes of Lashed To The Slave Stick featuring some massively addictive hooks. A perfect mix of over the top blastbeat orientated songs and slower epic tracks, Annihilation Of the Wicked sees Nile at their most focused, and is one of their best offerings. Those with the cash might also want to try tracking down the Japanese import version, as it features the esclusive additional track Sss Haa Set Yoth, and far from being a throwaway bit of atmospherics this is a very strong 5 minute+ shredder, and one of the better tracks on the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Death Metal must-have, 17 Mar 2006
By 
G. R. Dowling (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Annihilation Of The Wicked (Audio CD)
If you are a death metal fan and you haven't heard Nile, you haven't lived. Their egyptian-themed music is both epic and brutal at the same time, whilst the musicianship is tight and of highest caliber. Songs like User-Maat-Re, Lashed to the slave stick, Annihilation of the Wicked and Von Unaussprechlichen Kulten are undoubtably some of my all time favourite death metal songs. Words cannot express how good this is, buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beyond anything, 30 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Annihilation Of The Wicked (Audio CD)
This hasn't left my CD player. I'm listening to it now. It's Nile's best CD to date, and that's saying a lot if you consider how much I worshipped all their previous CDs.
The technicality, strength of songwriting and incredibly intense vocals have to be heard to be believed. Basically- stop reading this and buy the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, Brutal, Epic, 24 May 2005
I wasn't quite sure what to expect from this album. I saw them live a few months ago and was impressed by their new songs in the live situation. On previous works the production has been slightly muddy and lacking definition. This time they've done a great job and all the instruments come through nice and clear. On this album the Egyptian influence has been toned down slightly with only two tracks (including the intro) not of a metal base. The rest is (mainly) a blur of speed, blasting drums, shredding, and possibly most of all, brutality. The whole album flows nicely from start to finish with plenty of variation in timing and tempo with mid-paced sections that give the "all-out-brutality" parts even more power and intensity. Once again they've proved they are right up there at the top of the death metal ladder. For me the best track is the title track, which at 8:30 isn't short!! 2 other tracks are also over 8 minutes. After a few listens i think its the best album they've done as it isn't as dis-jointed and flows better than previous ones. Well, i won't spoil any more suprises and leave it as saying if you liked other nile albums, prefer death metal to be a little more serious and meaningful or are interested in metal of truly epic proportions then buy this. I can't imagine why you'd be disapointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fine example of intelligent Death Metal, 19 Sep 2008
By 
Hedon (Eternal Night) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Annihilation Of The Wicked (Audio CD)
Nile will always have a very special place in my heart, as 'In their Darkend Shrines' was the first true Death Metal album and my stepping stone from kinda heavy bands like Converge and DEP into the realms of the extreme. I still love that album, and after getting Catacombs and Black Seeds of Vengence it was a good 3 years before i got another Nile album, being this.

Well, the stakes were very high for 'Annihilation of the Wicked', with 'Darkened' being considered a mile stone for the genre in terms of technical ability, songwriting and energy, and to be honest i didn't expect it to be better. But, believe me friends, it is better in every single way. Some reviewers have commented that there is not enough difference between the two albums, but i would content that 'Annihilation', far from being 'Darkened' part 2, surpases that album in each area. Technically, this takes Nile's sound to a new level with some frightning fret work that makes me wonder how Karl Sanders and Dallas Toller-Wade's fingers haven't fallen off yet. Give 'Cast Down the Heretic' or 'Lashed to the Slave stick' a blast and you will, no doubt be astonished by the inhuman guitar wizardry. Also, new drummer George Kollias performance is nothing short of collosal, blisteringly fast and powerful yet with deadly precicion that completly blows your ears off. I'm not one who usually gets excited about drumming in metal, but this guy is amazing. I've not been so impressed by a drummer since Tara by Absu. 'Annihalation' also features Nile's tradmark Egyptian sound effects and the odd break for acoustic guitars, orchestras and choirs, but this is much less then in previous works and is less of a distraction from the punishing metal. Production wise, this also surpasses previous works and is one of the best productions i've ever heard for Death Metal. Everything is so thick and utterly epic, yet nothing gets lost in the mix and the vocals are almost decipherable. Great work.

As for the accusations that Nile haven't introduced an new elements into 'Annihalation', I'd argue that as well. Of course, Nile have their own unique style and all records will sound similar, but i think Nile really went to town on incorporating some much slower, crushingly groovy parts into the songs then ever before, with some parts almost bordering on Doom Metal. See Usher Maat Rae as an example, or the titanic mid section of 'The Burning Pits' . Nile also show off some very prog tendencies with the last two tracks both pushing almost ten minutes.

All in all, the faster parts are faster, the brutality more brutal, the technical parts more technical, and the album is just Nile's best. Simple as that. In fact, i think this is one of the best Death Metal Albums ever. It manages to combine inhuman brutality with some wonderfully intelligent songwriting and some of the best drumming ever to create another brilliant album from a one of a kind band.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An absoloutely savage slice of tech death pie, 15 Aug 2008
This review is from: Annihilation Of The Wicked (Audio CD)
Nile's best work.
They struck gold with this. Furiously fast, mind blowingly heavy and BEYOND epic all without being self indulgent and compromising songwriting and structure.

Recommended tracks: Sacrifice Unto Sebek, User-Maat-Re, Lashed To The Slave Stick, Annihilation of the Wicked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Annihilation Of The Wicked
Annihilation Of The Wicked by Nile (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews