Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserving big things, 29 April 2005
This review is from: Of Love And Lunacy (Audio CD)
Massive.
They sound it, they deserve to be it.
(...)
This album is one of the best debúts ive heard in a long time, and weve already had some contenders (trivium). Theres inevitably going to be In Flames references - SR incorporate the old school metal influences that are everywhere at the moment, mix in some sytnths and death metal RAA-iocity and comparisons will be rife, but theyre more than this. The songs veer all over the place, one moment youre pummelled with inaccessible death metal tomfoolery; deep gutteral vocals and kick drums to shake the walls, then suddenly youre lifted up on a catchy sweeping stadium chorus (None more so than on 'Recovery'). And it works, theres no dodgy areas, it all fits in seamlessly; synths and keys arent overplayed, a brief piano interlude half way through to stop your one man bedroom mosh pit ending in heart failure before youre off again with the four on one fistfight of 'Kelsey'
On an album full of highlights, 'The worst is yet to come' shines particularly bright - possibly the catchiest song but one that deserves to open up a tornado of a circle pit. And the piano break in White Walls is a master-stroke. The whole album is performed with a confidence not normally present on a debút.
Every song sounds HUGE, i dont care how clichéd it sounds, but listening to it quietly will NOT do it justice. Let it envelop you. Its uplifting and its ferocious at the same time. If they can do this as skillfully live as they do on this album then they will wash away the competition
There are bands that share Still Remains' influences pouring out of the woodwork these days, but they are that little bit different and a whole lot better than 90% of the competition.
Help make this band huge. They deserve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't recommend this album enough!, 3 Jun. 2005
By 
L. Kelly (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Of Love And Lunacy (Audio CD)
It seems that these days everybody and their Granny is playing metalcore. Anyone able to cobble together a half-decent riff are hopping on the bandwagon, and it is with so many wannabes in the arena that a band has to possess something special to stand out.
Still Remains are one such band, who along with the likes of Killswitch Engage, Shadow's Fall, Lamb of God and God Forbid showcase this musical genre at it's best. In a style of music where brutal blast-beat drumming and duelling guitars are de rigueur, Still Remains eschew all of the tired cliches and create a very original sound all of their own. Most noticeable is the inclusion of synths which adds a greater depth to their songs, creating a layer of melody which underpins the crushing guitar work.
Of the twelve tracks on offer on this album I can say that surprisingly none veer into the average filler territory, each being an absolute gem. But the standout tracks are most certainly White Walls - an aggressive song tempered with a truly haunting melody that youll be humming to yourself for weeks afterwards, and 'With What You Have' which is a brooding, gothic-tinged instrumental.
If youre a fan of In Flames, Atreyu or Killswitch Engage then this is certainly the album for you. Mark my words, these guys are going to be HUGE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best!!, 13 Jun. 2005
This review is from: Of Love And Lunacy (Audio CD)
There are so many scene and trendy bands out there just trying to make some money and there is not heart in their music. Few bands recently have stood out to me, and other than Trivium and The Arcane War Machine, Still Remains are one of those bands who you can see have spent hours practicing with poor equipment before they made it because they just work so hard together.
If you're after a band that can deal out amazing guitar riffs and are willing to create music just because they love it, then i would stongly recommend this band. The proof comes from the label they are signed to. I mean bands like Killswitch Engage, Lamb Of God, Shadows Fall, and 36 Crazyfists have all come out of that label and they have created some legendary songs.
The first full album that Still Remains have created is probably the best I've heard for years. Songs like 'The Worst Is Yet To Come' is a classic, and 'White Walls' has so many ups and downs that really show how well the band work together. The best way to understand how well the band work together is to go see them live because they stand out so much from the rubbish that has littered metal and metalcore music.
Buy and the album and you won't be dissapointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roadrunner's REAL trump card., 17 May 2005
This review is from: Of Love And Lunacy (Audio CD)
first of all, i'd like to express my disgust to Roadrunner Records for not permitting this stunning band to visit the north east on the roadrage tour. boo to you.
okay, mini-rant over, on with the review. The whole affair is kicked off by the frankly amazing "To Live and Die By Fire". TJ Miller screaming his lungs out with passion while AJ Barette beats the living crap out of his drum kit. The band's first real single "The Worst Is Yet To Come" is second on the tracklist and is a definite highlight of the album - Miller's passionate screaming this time reinforced by Jordan Whelan's more melodic backing vocals.
"White Walls" was made available for download before the album was released and it's easy to see why. The song is another of the album's best moments with some fabulous riffery and excellent use of keyboards. the song's opening riff is one of the best on the album and isn't to be missed.
However, the album's biggest highlight comes in the form of the stunning "Kelsey". To understand why the song is so good, it's easier to just listen to it rather than me mumbling on about "relentlessly fabulous drumming" and "a terrifyingly good screamalong chorus".
Overall, this album is absolutely stunning, standing out amongst the current wave of metalcore hopefulls. Still Remains deserve to be up there with some of the most heralded new bands (Trivium, Killswitch Engage et al). Bravo y'all. Bravo.
(incidentally, this band is constantly described as a 5 piece, including on the album cover. However, on the "Worst Is Yet To Come" video, there is very clearly six of them. How odd.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still remains, 29 Aug. 2005
By 
Darren G. Wynne (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Of Love And Lunacy (Audio CD)
This is yet another awesome album brought to you from the greatest record lable around, roadrunner. I heard a still remains song on the T.V, "The worst is yet to come" and i fell in love with it straight away so i bought the album and it is awesome, they are now my favorite band. There is a great mix of powerful roaring vocals and haunting sing-a-long parts. There are also an awesome mix of great guitar riffs with brakdowns and... a keyboard which tops the whole sound off.
Still remains are trying to break the mold that has been set out from previous bands by mixing in great vocals and different sounds from guitar and keyboards
Highlights of this album have to be "white walls" which is my favoritte song at the moment and "The worst is yet to come" which is the first Still Remains song i heard and is another of my favorite songs
You should expect huge things from this band as they are creating a whole new sound which i think works, you have to buy this album, you, like me will not be able to get it out of your C.D player
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metals New Awakening, 17 May 2005
This review is from: Of Love And Lunacy (Audio CD)
We have recently been overwhelmed by run of the mill metal bands who all seem to have copied each other over and over that is until Still Remains appeared on the scene. This is a fresh approach to metal and is an awesome change from all the s*** being repeated by different bands. As soon as I heard the first track I knew that I was goig to love this band and I was right. This is one band that keeps getting better as the songs progress and it keeps you both interested and moving throughout ! I also managed to catch them on tour at the recent Roadrage tour and they did not fail to impress me at all they play impressively and I think we will be hearing big things from this band in the near future !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album if you like metalcore, 26 Sept. 2006
This review is from: Of Love And Lunacy (Audio CD)
I'm alright I like metalcore so I really enjoy this album. It's really heavy, fast & occasionally melodic. Stand out songs include 'White Walls'; 'I Can Revive Him With My Own Hands'; 'The Worst Is Yet To Come';'To Live & Die By Fire' & 'Cherished'. Sounds fairly similar to As I Lay Dying but with keyboards, which add an extra dimension to the sound of the songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, 19 May 2006
By 
D. M. Hughes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Of Love And Lunacy (Audio CD)
An amazing album, the songs are so powerful and full of emotion
Recovery is probably the best track I have ever heard!
The only album that comes close to this is FFAF, casually dressed.

Go buy it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michigan metal crew release their first full length album.., 11 May 2005
This review is from: Of Love And Lunacy (Audio CD)
On listening to this CD, I have to admit I was quite excited. After all, the market for all out ball breaking metal is becoming ever more apparent these days. What with all the pissy, watery emo and dreary indie around at the moment, its no wonder lovers of metal are craving something to sink their teeth into. That's where Still Remains come in with their new offering 'Of Love And Lunacy'. They have come to tempt you with their energetic mix of joy, aggression and anguish layered over their distinctive sound.
Opener 'To Live And Die By Fire' stomps along with raw passion and sets the scene for the rest of the album. The first single to be taken from the album is 'The Worst Is Yet To Come' and to give you a heads up, it's highly infectious, you are going to be singing it all the time. It is the closest thing to a sing-along out of the 12 tracks and it also serves to exploit the fact that there is no other band that sounds like this around at the moment.
Whereas everyone else in music seems to be accepting average, middle of the road nonsense, Still Remains are making a stand against it with a highly confident approach. It seems they know how to influence you and how to keep you craving more, which is defiantly becoming more rare these days.
'Of Love And Lunacy' is packed with the kind of energy and excitement that seems to have been long forgotten in the genre of heavy music. Whilst drawing heavily from Swedish influences like In Flames and Soilwork, the quality of song writing is simply compelling. 'White Walls' leaves a pretty instant impression as front man T.J Miller roars with an unsurpassed fury and Zach Roth plinks away gently on the keys.
As albums go, it would be nigh on impossible to find anything as good as this around at the moment, Still Remains are a band you must hear. If you have ten quid spare, I urge you to buy this album.
An absolute winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing totally Amazing, 5 May 2005
By 
This review is from: Of Love And Lunacy (Audio CD)
Wow, basically the only words that can be used to describe this album, one of the best metal albums of the year definatly a one to buy. If you don't buy this album you will seriosly regret it. Another great band signing from those genius' and roadrunner records. That about wraps it up so BUY THIS ALBUM ITS AMAZING !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Of Love And Lunacy
Of Love And Lunacy by Still Remains (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews