Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Du Pre
If you like the cello, and it's greatest players?
Then this is for you
Get the technicalities out of the way.
The production is very good, the recording is excellent, the quality is fantastic
Now for the reality.
Du Pre.
Can she be surpassed ?
Clearly a very subjective point of view.
If she can then there are very few who can...
Published 23 months ago by cwarchc

versus
13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the best value available
A good 3 CD set of some of Jaqueline's greatest recordings, but far better purchased on the more recent, and far more comprehensive, 17 CD collection on the EMI Classics label Jacqueline Du Pre: The Complete EMI Recordings which offers all these recordings plus many, many more so is obviously a more cost effective purchase.
Published on 14 Dec 2008 by Mart


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Du Pre, 5 May 2012
This review is from: The Very Best of Jacqueline du Pré (Audio CD)
If you like the cello, and it's greatest players?
Then this is for you
Get the technicalities out of the way.
The production is very good, the recording is excellent, the quality is fantastic
Now for the reality.
Du Pre.
Can she be surpassed ?
Clearly a very subjective point of view.
If she can then there are very few who can
If you appreciate the cello?
BUY THIS
You will not be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Very Best of Jacqueline du Pré" is excellent, 27 Aug 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Jacqueline du Pré (Audio CD)
This is a very reasonably priced three CD set of du Pré at her best. Although I lean towards Paul Tortelier, the reasons are more historical than musical, many people consider her to be the cellist of the twentieth century and with good reason. She had the ability during her short career to bring out the true depths of feeling only the cello can achieve and few cellists.
Beginning with a piece she made her own and an early recording many consider to be the very best with the London Symphony Orchestra conducted by Sir John Barbirolli, it has a wide range of her performances including later recordings with her husband, Daniel Barenboim.
Although, both in terms of range and value for money, the other reviewer's suggestions recommending the seventeen CD set is probably true (£15 more, fourteen more CDs but I didn't see it first), this is still a good purchase and one I recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the very best of, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Jacqueline du Pré (Audio CD)
Wonderfully moving music by , imo, the best cellist of the 20th century. It's a standout recording in my classical collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elgar/Dvorak Cello Concertos, 29 May 2013
By 
V. Allen "Barifan" (Stourbridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Jacqueline du Pré (Audio CD)
This iconic recording was everything i expected and more. I recommend it for value for money and very good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Jacqueline du Pré (Audio CD)
I bought these because I remember Jacqueline du Pre when I was younger and how brilliant she was.A good memory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite!, 27 Nov 2012
By 
Dr. Charles Muller (The Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Jacqueline du Pré (Audio CD)
Jacquie’s playing is absolutely exquisite and very sensitive. She is undoubtedly the best cello player I have ever heard, and the music quality of the disc is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Jacqueline du Pré (Audio CD)
I bought this for the Concertos and a better version of them in my lifetime seems very unlikely. You'll need to look elsewhere for Schumann's Concerto but that is how it is. The sound is very clear and immediate - coupled with the sublime playing, you are listening to perfection. The only way I could imagine hearing better would be to get the same recordings on Vinyl and play them on my Linn Sondek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 30 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Michael P. Mckeown (bath uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Jacqueline du Pré (Audio CD)
A good selection of Jacqueline Du Pre playing exquisite cello. great value . thoroughly recommended.
a must for anyone who loves the sound of the cello.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Jacqueline du Pré (Audio CD)
This CD was a present for my father who absolutely loved it! Jacqueline Du Pré is a superb musician. Wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the best value available, 14 Dec 2008
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Very Best of Jacqueline du Pré (Audio CD)
A good 3 CD set of some of Jaqueline's greatest recordings, but far better purchased on the more recent, and far more comprehensive, 17 CD collection on the EMI Classics label Jacqueline Du Pre: The Complete EMI Recordings which offers all these recordings plus many, many more so is obviously a more cost effective purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad538d50)

This product

The Very Best of Jacqueline du Pré
The Very Best of Jacqueline du Pré by Jacqueline Du Pre (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews