Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Film - Superb Special Features.
I won't bother to review the film as others on this page have already done so, other than to say it has a stellar cast all at their sparkling best and directed by the brilliant George Cukor. What I would like to draw your attention to, in this two disc set, is the fantastic special features disc. This features TWO documentaries, TWO radio productions of the script from...
Published on 17 April 2010 by C. Garner

versus
16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "I'm testing the air. I like it but it doesn't like me."
George Cukor's "The Philadelphia Story" features a cast that is a filmlover's dream. One can only gape in awe at seeing Katharine Hepburn, Cary Grant, and James Stewart all together in the same production.
Reporters Mike Connor (Stewart) and Liz Imbrie (Ruth Hussey) infiltrate Philadelphia high society so that they can get the scoop on the high profile...
Published on 7 Nov. 2005 by Steven Y.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A very entertaining film, 13 April 2013
By 
Ginnygee (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Philadelphia Story [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film. I purchased it after seeing the live show in the West End of London.Excellent and fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars said it was used, but actually brand new, 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Philadelphia Story [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
this came very quickly and in very good condition. And of course the film is a classic so all round a great experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It might as well have been new!, 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Philadelphia Story [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Bought this film as used,apart from no cellophane wrapping it might as well been new!,excellent,and at great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Philadelphia Story [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This was a gift for my daughter's birthday as it is one of her favourite films. Expensive but a winner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good screen adaptation of the play, 10 Sept. 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Philadelphia Story [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Tracy Lords is getting married again. This time to a man who worked his way to the top instead of starting there. Dexter her first husband invites himself to the wedding and the wedding preparations. Also inviting their selves with a little blackmail to the wedding is a writer, and photographer, from a magazine of dubious reputation. Throw in a philandering father and a friendly uncle. We watch as they go through the motions and emotions of courting and re-evaluating their lives.

This is basically a comedy and yes it has all the actors and writers to make this a piece of cinematic art. However you will find it is just fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent rainy-day story, 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story of the years gone by. I really enjoyed the whole film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed by my daughter in law very much, 8 Aug. 2014
By 
Mrs. Ann Raymond "bookworm" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Philadelphia Story [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Given as a present, enjoyed by my daughter in law very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Aug. 2014
Brilliant. Sent in good time and condition. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars at their best!, 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cary, James, and Katherine , at their best !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Sept. 2014
By 
Ca (Shropshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
gr8 classic.prefer it to the modern version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Philadelphia Story [DVD] [2005]
The Philadelphia Story [DVD] [2005] by George Cukor (DVD - 2005)
£34.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews