Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Listen, everything's all right ..."
While series 5 of the Spotranos suffers slightly by comparison with some of its illustrious predecessors, the series builds to a great climax in the last 3 episodes. I agree with one or two of the criticisms by other reviewers, and the first three or four episodes are slower and apparently less consequential than many earlier episiodes, but the final four episodes of the...
Published on 18 April 2006 by S. Cottrell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware - poor NTSC -> PAL conversion
This review covers only a technical issue concerning this boxset (although I'd give any Sopranos season a five-star review on the content). First a bit of background info: in common with most films and high budget US TV shows, Sopranos was shot on 35mm film at 24 fps. The UK DVD releases were transferred by the usual method of speeding up the film slightly to run at 25...
Published 17 months ago by Anorakus


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sopranos series 5, 3 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Fantastic. My loyalties were challenged during series 5. Some interesting twists and turns and as clever and as addictive as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RIVETINGLY FALLING APART, 5 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Mobster Tony's problems continue to mount, Prozac and therapist increasingly in demand. Carmela is determined not only on divorce but a fair share of his overall income. America's post 9/11 security measures are badly affecting Mafia business. Friction grows between the Families, exacerbated by the release from jail of two long serving gangsters (Robert Loggia and Steve Buscemi excellent). Uncle Junior shows signs of dementia (for real this time). All the while the FBI steadily builds up evidence against Tony and his associates, Christopher's girlfriend an unwilling informant.

Like its predecessors, Season 5 does not pull its punches - the violence truly shocking, especially when out of the blue (in the first episode all that old waiter did was question the size of his tip!).

13 episodes, 5 with commentaries. Awesomely it fascinates to see everything so steadily disintegrate. No matter how often the men kiss, hug, slap backs, declare their love, there is no genuine friendship. All is suspicion, potential treachery.

Humour is less evident this time round, emphasis more on decay and inevitable forthcoming retribution. The prolonged dream sequence in Ep.11 may not appeal to all, but yet again THE SOPRANOS excels with writing, acting, and production values of the highest order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 16 Feb 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Sopanos- the greatest tv show ever- fact! With the arrival of Steve Buscemi (who also directed an episode) The Sopranos maintained it's unique rhythm right until the shows finale. The cast as ever are wonderful and with Paulie getting more air time than he did in season 4 it just can't be faulted. If you liked Goodfellas, The Godfather etc. then this show is an absolute must for you. With the show now due to finish and Six Feet Under already gone, just what the hell will there be left to watch on tv? Lost??? Forget about it! This is the king and will never be beaten- Oh there is also the shock exit of one of the shows regular and most beloved characters- but I won't say whom in case you haven't seen it yet. Let's just say BIG SURPRISE! Each episode here is like a mini-movie and there are still many plotlines waiting to unravel come season 6. Will Furio return? Will they kill Tony off in the end? There is still more crosses and double crosses headed our way- though it probably won't show on tv over here until Big Brother has finished - GRRRR!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - from start to finish., 8 Jun 2009
By 
Martin Koss (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
If you haven't seen it but love 'mob' type movies or TV, get it, you'll love it. But start at the first series - and don't stop until you've watched all the series. My wife and I were hooked from day one and bought every series in box sets, was never disappointed.

Entertaining.
Gripping.
Emotional.
Fantastic.

What more can I say - we loved the Sopranos, we loved being part of their lives for several years and we are sad that they went their way and we went ours... The end came too soon but, like one reviewer said, 'it could have ended here' - which is true of so many of the series, it could have ended but biy am I glad it didn't.

I miss the Sopranos and I hope, wherever they are now - all is well at Ba Da Bing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ignore Bad Reviews, Season 5 is great !!, 18 July 2007
By 
D. Makin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Season 5 is a great addition to the sopranos series, Many plot twists and turns including a few major suprises during the last few episodes. Season 5 sets up for season 6 beautifully, leaving many questions for the viewer. Dont be put off by negative reviews, this season is well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This is a great series - I am not complaining about the actual ..., 18 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is a great series - I am not complaining about the actual program. But what has upset me is that I started watching the series and by the time I got round to watching disc 3 my one month return policy had expired. Disc 3 was blank. Have tried to contact amazon but have had no success. Warning - check that all discs are working before the return's policy expires.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Again a brillient season, 14 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
i really cant believe some of the bad reviews for season 5 its easily one of the best.So much going on,Adriana's working with the feds and the gripping end,then the beef with new york over tony's cousin and tony having to handle it plus uncle junior losing his mind little by little.Easily one of the most gripping seasons but after saying that they all are.Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top entertainment!, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Violence, intrigue, a bit of sex, a lot of pasta - what more could you want? The greatest series ever, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No problems experienced through the whole process of buying. Felt really well looked after and catered for., 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
100 percent pleased with order and efficiency of service. Would recommend to friends. Saves all the hassle of trawling round the music shops!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five star rating, 21 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Enjoyed the series despite the subtle changes in the main characters, as they aged. The story develops nicely and the endings are never predictable. A good way to keep you wanting to see more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2005]
The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2005] by James Gandolfini (DVD - 2005)
£11.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews