Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (41)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I actually liked it
Although O12 got alot of bad reviews I just take it for what it is: a fun, breezey follow-up to 'Ocean's Eleven'
If you watch this film not expecting it to blow you away you will not be dessapointed. Those people who dont like it probably don't take it at face value and I agree with some comments of it being self indulgent and pointless but so was the origional O11...
Published on 14 July 2007 by Smatch

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Popcorn
It's slick, it's fun, it's well-produced, it's well cast. Watch it for an hour or so's entertainment: shallow, not very meaningful, full of eye candy for men as well as women (provided you're not into female blondes), but enjoyable. Good if you're looking for a snack rather than fulfillment through film. Don't expect juicy steak...
Published on 30 Dec 2005 by Dinky


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Popcorn, 30 Dec 2005
By 
This review is from: Ocean's Twelve [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
It's slick, it's fun, it's well-produced, it's well cast. Watch it for an hour or so's entertainment: shallow, not very meaningful, full of eye candy for men as well as women (provided you're not into female blondes), but enjoyable. Good if you're looking for a snack rather than fulfillment through film. Don't expect juicy steak -- it's strictly popcorn fare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is lazy `sequel' that tends to do nothing but bring back a bunch of celebrities, 23 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: Ocean's Twelve [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
"Ocean's Twelve" faces the same difficulties as any sequel. By this I don't mean those movies that are essential components to trilogies that continue the story; I mean those movies that basically take an established cast and throw them in a completely new storyline. The problem is trying to meet the expectations of an audience that loved the first and wants a new movie to love for all the same reasons. So many people were disappointed to learn that "Ocean's Twelve" was not yet another heist movie.

This film had to be a sequel. The plot takes advantage of the relationships the characters developed in the first film, and throws in many subtle jokes the average viewer may miss if they don't listen closely. Some of the phrases like "thief a la mode" used in the film may require a bit of culture to appreciate. While Ocean's teams do work together in the same fashion as the first film, the thievery itself doesn't take the spotlight in the film. "Ocean's Eleven" was the traditional heist film in its plot development with its climax at the point of executing the plan. Ocean's Twelve breaks away from this formula in favor of developing opportunities for some great character interaction.

The film disappoints with many characters taking a back seat in their roles to such an extent that the film could have been named after Pitt's character, with the Benedict aftermath merely serving as a catalyst for the characters finding their way back together. However, it would have been unreasonable for all eleven original characters to share an equal share of the spotlight and still turn out as well. The story is more about Brad Pitt and Catherine Zeta-Jones than George Clooney and Julia Roberts. The rest of the cast perform very well and the guest-star appearances, including an unforgettable one by Bruce Willis, are hysterical. Half of the time I was unsure if the actors were even acting!! It appeared as if they were not even looking at the script, and instead talking amongst themselves like, "Hey, so how you've been?". "Oh, I `v been good, the kids at home are taking up a lot of my time, ya know". Come on now, really.

In the end, "Ocean's Twelve" is not a mere heist film but an Intelligent Comedy that may need to be watched more than once to appreciate some of the subtleties in the dialog. Just the amount of activity on this film's message board regarding some of the subtleties in the plot is a testament to the thought that went into making this film. Will "Ocean 13" rectify this, well I would have to go see it for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A complete let down, 29 July 2005
By 
A. Macdonald (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ocean's Twelve [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Like many others I though Ocean's 11 was a brilliant film with great characters with great lines. When I heard they were making a sequel I couldn't wait, of course it wasn't expected to be as good as the first but still it would surely be good fun to watch.
But oh no this was awful to watch. I don't think I have ever been so disappointed in a film. Many others seemed to think likewise with the most number of people I have ever seen leave the cinema before the film had ended. In short the plot was awful, there was no big heist like in the first just lots of little parts that never went anywhere. There were hardly any funny lines or well thought out set pieces. I wish they never made this as it was truly the most awful feeling watching it.
Stick with the first film and never watch this or it will disappoint you, trust me and all the other reviewers who seem to think likewise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a waste of a brilliant production and cast, 18 July 2007
This review is from: Ocean's Twelve [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Beautifully shot all over Europe and an all star cast but to someone expecting the clever plotting and near-wizardry of Ocean's Eleven it is a sad disappointment. The various heists are not shown but described (leaving many questions as to 'how they did it' unanswered) and - without giving away secrets - the most clever theft is thrown away at the end in an unsatisfactory and unconvincing flashback.
It looks as though the actors enjoyed it but perhaps rather more than the audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst film I've ever seen!, 14 Aug 2005
This review is from: Ocean's Twelve [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I loved the first one, and sat down to this with friends. What a huge disappointment.
The plot is paper thin and I can't explain it even though we tried to figure out who did what and why, for a full hour after it finished. They tilt a house, they have a hologram of an egg, they always have someone in the background to help them out, everyone around them is stupid, everyone watching is treated as being stupid. It's absolute rubbish. There are many scenes which lead nowhere, add nothing, and seem to be contractual obligations for the alocated amount of time on screen for the big names.
The supporting characters (who make up about 8 of Ocean's 12) have nothing to do other than small quips.
It started off okay - Ocean has to pay back the 160mill he stole. And then what happened? The scene-cuts are so fast and there is so much 'convenient' and instant plane flights, cars on hand, changes of European location, hotels and people that after the first half hour we knew this whole film was goping to rely on coincidences, unseen background work, and the complete destruction of belief. In short, it was as if a dozen script writers had worked independently of each other to come up with their own part of the story.
And after a while, they have to rely on flash-backs to try and explain what's going on - but by then it's too late and it's all been such a trendy mess that I despaired and no-one cared!
And as for the moment when the character played by Julia Roberts becomes a Julia Roberts look-a-like to help with a stupid attempt to steal a Faberge egg.... my brain exploded. She even speaks on the phone to the 'real' Julia Roberts, which was beyond idiocy. Bruce Willis, playing himself, makes the most contrived cameo I've seen to help her do it.
I've never seen such a stupid film, and I hope I never do again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is lazy `sequel' that tends to do nothing but bring back a bunch of celebrities, 23 Jun 2007
By 
"Ocean's Twelve" faces the same difficulties as any sequel. By this I don't mean those movies that are essential components to trilogies that continue the story; I mean those movies that basically take an established cast and throw them in a completely new storyline. The problem is trying to meet the expectations of an audience that loved the first and wants a new movie to love for all the same reasons. So many people were disappointed to learn that "Ocean's Twelve" was not yet another heist movie.

This film had to be a sequel. The plot takes advantage of the relationships the characters developed in the first film, and throws in many subtle jokes the average viewer may miss if they don't listen closely. Some of the phrases like "thief a la mode" used in the film may require a bit of culture to appreciate. While Ocean's teams do work together in the same fashion as the first film, the thievery itself doesn't take the spotlight in the film. "Ocean's Eleven" was the traditional heist film in its plot development with its climax at the point of executing the plan. Ocean's Twelve breaks away from this formula in favor of developing opportunities for some great character interaction.

The film disappoints with many characters taking a back seat in their roles to such an extent that the film could have been named after Pitt's character, with the Benedict aftermath merely serving as a catalyst for the characters finding their way back together. However, it would have been unreasonable for all eleven original characters to share an equal share of the spotlight and still turn out as well. The story is more about Brad Pitt and Catherine Zeta-Jones than George Clooney and Julia Roberts. The rest of the cast perform very well and the guest-star appearances, including an unforgettable one by Bruce Willis, are hysterical. Half of the time I was unsure if the actors were even acting!! It appeared as if they were not even looking at the script, and instead talking amongst themselves like, "Hey, so how you've been?". "Oh, I `v been good, the kids at home are taking up a lot of my time, ya know". Come on now, really.

In the end, "Ocean's Twelve" is not a mere heist film but an Intelligent Comedy that may need to be watched more than once to appreciate some of the subtleties in the dialog. Just the amount of activity on this film's message board regarding some of the subtleties in the plot is a testament to the thought that went into making this film. Will "Ocean 13" rectify this, well I would have to go see it for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oceans Twelve, 17 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Ocean's Twelve [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I thought this film was a pretty lame attempt at a sequel. The story was poor and it lacked the action and imagination of the Oceans Eleven and includes some really pointless content. I would not recommend it - very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I hope the cast enjoyed making it...., 20 Jun 2005
By 
This review is from: Ocean's Twelve [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
.....because I didn't enjoy watching it.
This is a typical sequel gone wrong. The direction is heavy handed, the tension non-existent, void of any interest and sold on the title and stars.
I won't worry you with the little plot there is except to say that a joke where Julie Robert's character has to pretend to be Julia Roberts, she looks like her apparently (ho, ho, ho!!)is almost a highlight and wouldn't have been given 30 seconds on prime time TV as a sketch.
Look elsewhere if you want action, adventure or comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rather disappointing, the magic is gone, 12 Sep 2005
By 
R. Wallace "freeheeler" (South West, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ocean's Twelve [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I think I can see what they were trying to do, there was some magical dialogue between Clooney & Pitt in Oceans11 which looked like it could have been improvised. There were some cool shots with a roving camera. There were a few quirky jumps in the plot timeline. All that worked in Oceans11. In Oceans12 it is like they decided to try and make the entire film with out script, timeline or tripods - and it comes out a mess. Add to that a plot that is not beleivable and you will only get to the end if you are lazy or have nothing better to do. The improvised dialouge still works for Pitt & Clooney but not for anyone else in the cast. And rolling out Bruce Willis and having Julia Roberts pretending to be herself severely failed to please the audience I was with. Sadly it isn't even good for the kids as there is little action and no great heist. If you liked Oceans11 - watch that again & not this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I actually liked it, 14 July 2007
By 
Smatch (South West) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ocean's Twelve [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Although O12 got alot of bad reviews I just take it for what it is: a fun, breezey follow-up to 'Ocean's Eleven'
If you watch this film not expecting it to blow you away you will not be dessapointed. Those people who dont like it probably don't take it at face value and I agree with some comments of it being self indulgent and pointless but so was the origional O11 with 'The Rat Pack'
This time the team have to pay Bennedict back the money they stole - with interest. They rob a series of things only to find that they have already been stolen by a new rival and the guy they think dobbed them to Benedict. So now the team have to compete after the same object to see who is the best thief and if Ocean wins they their rival will pay their debt to Benedict.
All in all a casual film that is good if you don't expect the world from it and just cruise along with it not too seriously. I hated it to start off with but with a few more viewings I have actually grown to enjoy it.
I reccomend it to all that love the Ocean's franchise and want to see a lighthearted, funny, slick follow-up to 'Ocean's Eleven'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ocean's Twelve [DVD] [2004]
Ocean's Twelve [DVD] [2004] by Steven Soderbergh (DVD - 2005)
£2.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews