Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The GoGo's Are Back To Stay!, 15 May 2001
This review is from: God bless the (Audio CD)
I am a huge Belinda Carlisle fan so naturally I also love The Go Go's. This album is their first full length new recorded album in 17 years after selling millions and millions of albums they are back looking and sounding better than ever! The album starts off with "La La Land" the most catchy peice of rock pop and superb vocals by Belinda. "Unforgiven" is the radio hit single and is typical GoGo rock. "Apology" is a great rock pop ballad and then "Stuck In My Car" sounds so much like a summer 1980 dance rock song that you just can't help but sing along too..."Vision Of Nowness", "Here You Are" and "Automatic Rainy Day" are catchy peices of pop perfection. This album has so much going for it...The old GoGo sound we all love mixed with new flavour and fresh sounds this is one of the best albums. Any Belinda fan will go crazy for this album, it is more like her 1993 "real" album but more pop...There are also kicking rock funk here with "Sonic Superslide" and "Kissing Asphalt". "The most impressive song is the closer a tender ballad sung by Belinda with emotion that will melt your heart "Daisy Chain" will give you chills...buy this album, it is for the GoGo fans and Belinda Carlisle fans...It has ballads, rock, funk and is brillant! Go get The Go Go's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album .. Back and Better Than Ever!, 13 Jan 2009
This review is from: God Bless The Go-Go'S (Audio CD)
I just got this today and have only listened to it once and am blown away by how good it is. All the songs are catchy and melodic and there isn't a filler track on the album. The girls are sounding as good now as they did years ago and can definitely still rock, as well as sing heart-wrenching songs. Anyone who was a former fan of the Go-Go's and of Belinda Carlisle's work should definitely add this album to their collection because you can't go wrong with this. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come back CDs often suck.., 21 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: God bless the (Audio CD)
But this one doesn't. A really great album. Buy it. Standout tracks are Unforgiven, Apology, Here You Are, Automatic Rainy Day, Throw Me A Curve and Daisy Chain. I can never stop singing Talking Myself Down, co-written by Susanna Hoffs of the Bangles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soul in Rock, 15 Dec 2009
By 
Rosendo (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: God Bless The Go-Go'S (Audio CD)
I've been an admirer of Belinda Carlisle's music for a while now and have practically all her albums but I wanted to know more about the sound she created with the GoGo's. This was the album I chose (God Bless The GoGo's) to get a sample of the GoGo's and I'm not disappointed, its a bit different to Belinda on her own, if you are expecting easy listening soft music, this is not that, its very much a rock album, very energetic but the lyrics and the quality of the music plus Belinda's amazing voice and when the rest of the GoGo's sing in unison it makes an incredible sound come alive. I must admit it took my third listen to the album for me to truly appreciate how great it is, that's the beauty of music, some sounds take a little more time to appreciate. I can honestly say there is not one track on this album I disliked but like everything I had a few favorites, Apology, Insincere, Unforgiven are tracks I really love, it wasn't just the sound but the lyrics are deep with meaning too. The last track Daisy Chain is a lovely track also, to hear all the GoGo's sing in unison on this track is incredible, what a beautiful sound ! If you've never heard the GoGo's before and want to try their sound this is one great album to try out, just prepare to be addicted. For me anyway they put the soul back into rock, I'm glad they got back together to make this album, incredible music, long live the GoGo's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Comeback by the BEST Female Band of All Time., 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God Bless The Go-Go'S (Audio CD)
Wow! What a superb album by the legendary reformed GO GO's.This was the band's first studio since 1984 and its like they never went away,but of course,sadly they did go away,leaving a legacy behind them.What followed in the wake of The Go Go's was mainly, a bunch of overrated mime artists screaming meaningless rhetoric such as 'girl power' and other nonsense.The Go Go's had it all when they first burst on the LA music scene in the early 80's,they played their own instruments live and in the studio and wrote most of their songs,with the odd collaberation ie Peter Case and on this album,Billy Joe Armstrong from Green Day.God BlessThe GoGo's rocks from start to finish and as the years have gone the standard of musicianship has improved greatly as well as Belinda Carlisle's vocals,once Belinda became a global superstar,i never though i would see the day when she would be taking the lead with,Charlotte,Jane,Kathy and Gina again.I loved been proved wrong! However,since this album came out,nearly 10years ago,Kathy Valentine has left the band,sadly.So,this will be probably the last album from the legendary line up,now a 4 piece ,The Go Go's are still performing live,and who knows another album could be in the offering,in the meantime,enjoy this great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back ladies!, 8 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Paul I. Harrod "Rhino" (Bucks, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: God Bless The Go-Go'S (Audio CD)
Some 20 years since their split and with poppy solo material and acting roles having taken focus away from what they were best at, the expectations for the Go-Go's comeback album were not exactly high. But with the passage of time has come greater grasp of their instruments and songwriting craft,and in Belinda Carlisle two decades of sappy ballads has really opened her up vocally from the tentative young girl who ang on "We Got the Beat".
Opening with the very Green Day punk rush of "La La Land" (ironically not co-written with Billie Joe Armstrong although second track "Unforgiven" is!) this is the Go-Go's as they should have sounded on their debut, with a full-on production replacing the weedy, thinness of their classic period. Amongst the other rockin' nuggets are "Kissing Asphault" and the size zero bashing "Throw Me A Curve". "Daisy Chain" closes the album with rattly mellotron and a sixties vibe not too far removed from their former 80's contemporaries The Bangles.
Despite the angellic sleeve pictures "God Bless..." shows that whatever they may have been up to in the meantime these girls are still best at being bad. Snotty and suitably fizzy these thirteen songs show the modern naughty girls that growing older does not mean wimping out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A blessed miracle!, 22 Feb 2013
By 
W. J. Robertson (Aberdeen, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: God Bless The Go-Go'S (Audio CD)
I approached buying this CD with some trepidation. The history of rock and pop is littered with half-baked "come-back" albums by bands desperate for one more bite at the cherry of fame before they burn out forever. Could 80s pop/punk darlings The Go-Go's possibly produce anything to match their previous work? Beauty And The Beat (30th Anniversary Edition), Vacation and Talk Show left a legacy that was going to be difficult to live up to. There were some positive signs - a brief reunion in 1997 had produced The Whole World Lost Its Head which showed the girls could still rock but after that... silence.

When the CD arrived I popped it into my player and steeled myself for what was to come. Within a few minutes I was tapping my feet and half humming the chorus to "La La Land" even though this was the first time I'd heard it. By the time the last notes of "Daisy Chain" had faded I was asking myself why this album hadn't been a massive smash when it was released.

The album gives the classic Go-Go's sound a 21st century makeover. The original albums tended towards quite a clean, surf-rock style guitar sound which has been replaced here with a more muscular modern rock sound - over-driven and loud but still quite slick and polished with little hints of the old sound peeking out here and there. The songs themselves are stuffed with memorable hooks that quickly embed themselves in your brain and refuse to leave - "Unforgiven" (co-written by Green Day's Billie Joe Armstrong) in particular is a stand out and an excellent addition to the group's canon of songs that sound quite upbeat on the surface but conceal barbed lyrics. Even the album's weakest moment - "Sonic Superslide" which tries just a little bit too hard to be "modern" in its lyrics is still redeemed by its sheer exuberance. "Daisy Chain" may strike some as being a little too self-referential given that it is essentially a bitter-sweet potted history of the group but it's so well put together that you just have to give in to it.

I find that these days that, thanks to the internet, I have so much music at my disposal that the way I listen to albums has changed considerably. In the era of the shuffle and custom playlists full albums rarely get a look in let alone a repeat listen so it's a measure of how good "God Bless The Go-Go's" is when I say that it quickly found its way into my car stereo and became the soundtrack to my daily commute and it plays on my iPod when I go running. If you can try to get the European release of this cd which contains a bonus track - "I Think I Need Sleep" which is also worth a listen. Harder to find although worth getting is the Japanese version which another bonus track - "King of Confusion". Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Go-Go's still go-going strong!, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God Bless The Go-Go'S (Audio CD)
Great return from the Go-Go's, if you love Belinda carlisle, especially her album "Real", give this a try, it's her with a rockier edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 July 2014
This review is from: God Bless The Go-Go'S (Audio CD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

God Bless The Go-Go'S
God Bless The Go-Go'S by Go-Go's (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews