Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better and better, 25 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Wayward Angel (Audio CD)
Kasey's third album showcases her personal and professional development with a mature approach, both melodic and lyrical. Fans of her earlier work (including Dead Ringer Band) won't be disappointed. Again, there are very few fillers and several of the tracks are among her best work. It's hard to single out tracks but Stronger (for its great guitar breaks), Hollywood and For Sale still sound as good after hundreds of plays. Kasey has laid her soul bare on this album. She's also stayed true to her roots but has shown she is not afraid to straddle several genres. Treat yourself, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wayward Star?, 14 Jun 2005
This review is from: Wayward Angel (Audio CD)
Kasey continues to write songs that cross musical boundaries. With this album the successful formula continues... I never liked "country" music until I first saw her perform by accident in 2000. Kasey and her band (if you are ever lucky enough to see them play you will see the tightest set of musicians on the face of this earth - bass players and drummers please take note!) have excelled on this cd. Many genres are catered for around the central theme of alt.country but if I was to pick out highlights try Bluegrass (Bluebird) or Ballads (More Than Ordinary/Paper Aeroplane). Also try the highlight of the cd Saturated - Country Rock at its best - even if you are worried by the word "country" . "Like A River" will even give you a "pop" song.
All in all a package of great songs, and when you listen to the lyrics you will realise how heartfelt these songs are.
Do yourself a favour... get this cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motherhood must agree with Kasey, 3 July 2004
By 
David T. Steere, Jr. (Annapolis, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wayward Angel (Audio CD)
I can't even claim to be objective. I just LOVE this new record. It may well be Kasey's best. Motherhood obviously agrees with her--there's a lot of joy in the recording...even in the sadder songs. You can feel that joy right from the beginning with PONY. Her writing is better than ever. Many of the lyrics are pure poetry. Her voice is as fine if not finer than ever. The instrumental work on every song is first rate.
Kasey's written two of the finest country songs of the year: BLUEBIRD (with a great banjo and fiddle) and MOTHER (also with that fiddle). Superb. It must take an Aussie to breathe new life.
Kasey's written the best bluegrass song of the year: FOLLOW YOU HOME. That banjo and mandolin! "A hero made of gold. A heart like a burning flame. Beats like an old steam train. Bound to an oath by chain. Silver lining." Beautiful writing.
My favorite song--if I had to pick one--is HOLLYWOOD. It truly brought tears to my eyes and goosebumps. Just love the whole idea of this song. The chorus is particularly wonderful: "But this is not Hollywood. There is no camera in my room. This is not Hollywood. Flowers grow before they bloom." I feel almost as strongly about PAPER AEROPLANE--a lovely lullaby with a beautiful piano accompaniment.
You can see the various influences of her musical life (country, bluegrass, folksongs, rock, the Dead Ringer Band) come out at different moments in different songs. WAYWARD ANGEL sound like a very old English folk song. Lovely writing (and the banjo again!). There is even a classic Kasey kind of song: MORE THAN ORDINARY. Kind of reminds you of "Am I Pretty Enough?" The rock song, GUILTY AS SIN, is sexy and infectious.
She's also not that easy on herself. Two very fine songs question her career, her life and their influences on each other: FOR SALE and SATURATED. The first is particularly moving. Romance--happy and sad--blooms brightly in LIKE A RIVER and LOST AND FOUND. The latter has great harmony singing from Glen Hannah.
I told you I could not be objective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We need more wayward angels, 11 May 2005
By 
Douglas (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wayward Angel (Audio CD)
With Wayward Angel, Kasey Chambers continues to release music of the highest quality. Rarely have I heard a singer-songwriter who so consistently produces such memorable melodies and thoughtful lyrics. As on her previous albums the musical arrangements are beautifully played and mixed. Kasey Chambers is a major talent who deserves to be heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HEARTREAKING BEAUTY, 11 July 2004
This review is from: Wayward Angel (Audio CD)
PHEW ! i defy anyone with a heart not to get a lump in the throat and a tear in the eye at just one listen of PAPER AEROPLANE,this track alone is more than enough reason to rush out and buy this heartfelt masterpiece .music this good just begs to be owned and played to death, thank you KASEY for making such beautiful music it touches my very soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Listening, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wayward Angel (Audio CD)
I hadn't heard of this artist but did the shazam thing with my phone and the radio and bought the cd.
I wasn't disappointed. It's a very easy to listen to cd and is at its best on a Sunday morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Australia's Finest, 4 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. M. J. Reynolds "M J Reynolds" (Nantwich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wayward Angel (Audio CD)
This album sounds a little strange at first but it's a definite grower. It's mostly guitar based country but there is a beautiful piano ballad called 'Paper Aeroplane' which will have broad appeal. Kasey's dad Bill Chambers is responsible for guitars. His work is up to the high standards of a Richard Thompson. I wholeheartedly recommend purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, 29 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Wayward Angel (Audio CD)
Buy this album! It's amazing and her voice really touches you. Hollywood is the best song I've heard in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wayward Angel
Wayward Angel by Kasey Chambers (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews