Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic funk fest
I have always vaguely liked Jamiroquai's music, but strangely, "Dynamite" is my first Jamiroquai purchase. Consequently I wasn't quite sure what to expect, but this album has completely blown me away. It is so different to everything else in the charts at the moment, fresh, uplifting... and above all, funky.
Classic Jamiroquai tracks on "Dynamite" include the amazing...
Published on 23 Oct. 2005 by J. McKay

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't do what it says on the tin!
This is not a terrible album, but, unless you are a die-hard Jamiroquai fan, I'd buy another of their albums instead. (Or even a different band's album for that matter!)Most of this sounds like lesser quality re-hashed numbers and far too much of it reminds me of 80's disco - and that should be a sound none of us have inflicted on us again!All in all a rather mediocre...
Published on 18 Dec. 2007 by Esdien


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic funk fest, 23 Oct. 2005
This review is from: Dynamite (Audio CD)
I have always vaguely liked Jamiroquai's music, but strangely, "Dynamite" is my first Jamiroquai purchase. Consequently I wasn't quite sure what to expect, but this album has completely blown me away. It is so different to everything else in the charts at the moment, fresh, uplifting... and above all, funky.
Classic Jamiroquai tracks on "Dynamite" include the amazing first single to be lifted from it, "Feels just like it should", as well as "(Don't) Give hate a chance", "Hot tequila brown" and "Time won't wait", with their instantly recognisable funky bass sequences and their ability to get the listener's feet tapping mightily. Indeed, the album's title track is an irresistable slice of disco that would make an ideal dancefloor filler, rather than all those irritating dance tracks around nowadays, and the fantastic "Starchild" boasts the funkiest intro I have ever heard in a song.
There are, however, a variety of songs included here that are somewhat different in style to Jamiroquai's custom, although the funk element is thankfully forever present. "Seven days in sunny June" is a wonderful, piano and acoustic guitar led track that was a great single choice from the album, and "Love blind" is more laid-back than the majority of Jamiroquai's previous songs. "Talullah" also follows this lead, but it is a pleasant jazzy number sprinkled with flute and saxophone melodies, and provides a great change of direction in the middle of the album. The most curious track here is undoubtedly "World that he wants", a mysterious ode to the actions of George W. Bush, which Jay Kay clearly resents, and again gives the listener something different to appreciate, the only instruments accompanying Mr Kay's heartfelt vocals being a piano and a string section.
In my opinion, every track featured on "Dynamite" is incredible, but the remaining two tracks are my favourites. "Electric mistress" is even funkier than its fellows, if that is possible, and is a synth bonanza that instantly captivated my attention, while "Black devil car", with its playful lyrics and catchy chorus, has also embedded itself in my catalogue of classics, so to speak. Both of these tracks are representative of why this group's albums have sold so well over the years; Jamiroquai cover every genre of music and every possible subject, and yet still manage to emphasise their funk roots. This band just seems to appeal to everyone, and rightly so.
In short, if you are looking for an explosive work of musical genius, look no further than "Dynamite".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Return Of The Space Cowboy, 21 Jun. 2005
This review is from: Dynamite (Audio CD)
Not since Travelling Without Moving has a Jamiroquai record sounded so fresh, fluid and varied. The sound has evolved substantially compared to 2001's rather pop orientated Funk Odyssey; progressing in sound and style to a level which sounds up to date but retains that trademark funky attitude we've all grown to love over the past decade.
Lyrically the songs have matured; some emotionally deep, some relaxed and balanced, the more upbeat numbers well fused together ('Starchild' being a certain classic) and in the case of 'World That He Wants' politically inspiring. Instrumentally the songs are rich and varied, layered with soul, funk, jazz, electro and even reggae: 'Black Devil Car' an adrenaline pumped track perfect for the car, while 'Seven Days In Sunny June' (my personal favourite) suited beautifully to a chilled out summers afternoon.
My only criticism of the album is that some tracks feel over produced, in particular with 'Electric Mistress' and 'Dynamite', mixing JK's voice with synthesisers and backing singers; personally something completely unnecessary as he has such a beautiful singing voice.
But this really is the only criticism of the album, and with further listening I'm sure they'll grow on me. Other than that the album truly is faultless and is destined to be a hit, to be played in my car for a very long time! Bring on the September tour!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome innovative funk from the inimitable Jamiroquai!, 3 July 2005
This review is from: Dynamite (Audio CD)
Its taken me a while to get into this but I must say that this is the most innovative and throughly outstanding album I have heard since George Michael's patience last year.
Each track oozes innovation from every pore and takes the dance genre to the next level. "Feels just like it should" is a brilliant piece of urban funk, as is Electric Mistress.Dynamite and Hot Tequila brown have a 70's soul feel to them, a sound which desperately needed to be resurrected. Seven days in sunny june and Starchild have an early Jamiroquai feel to them. These songs are far simpler in their production and hark back to the days of "Return of the space cowboy".
A awesome album, if a little too guitar driven, but then this is the hardest edged jamiroquai album to date and far removed from the enjoyable, if shallow pop of a "Funk Odyssey."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Dynamite" is another funky and soulful album from Jamiroquai, 15 Dec. 2012
By 
Amillionmiles (Hove, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dynamite (Audio CD)
Since their debut "Emergency On Planet Earth" back in 1993, Jamiroquai have been very consistent and have adapted their Jazz infused Funk to incorporate elements of Pop, Dance, Soul and Rock on more recent releases. "Dynamite", their sixth studio album and first in four years does not stray for away from familiar territory and provides us with another collection of very strong tracks.

"Feels Just Like It Should" is a solid Funk and Soul influenced song with an infectious vibe. The title track "Dynamite" is a cool Dance influenced Pop track and "Seven Days In Sunny June" has a mellow 70's Disco feel to it with a slice of Soul. "Electric Mistress" starts off with a Techno beat and synthesiser sounds, turning into a funky club House track. "Starchild" is a straight up Jamiroquai-style Funk track whilst "Loveblind" is an interesting Rock and Dance influenced song with lots of variation in melody and chord changes. "Talullah" is another cool groove with Jazz and Soul inflections. "(Don't) Give Hate A Chance" is another catchy Funk and Dance inspired song. "World That He Wants" starts off strangely muffled but then clears up after a minute and becomes a slightly clumsy piano led ballad with strings. "Black Devil Car" brings back the energy and is an addictive Funk Rock track. "Hot Tequila Brown" is an infectious Pop track with an uplifting beat. The final song "Time Won't Wait" ends the album on a funky note with a heavy bassline and an Acid-Jazz vibe.

"Dynamite" continues in the same vein as 2001's "A Funk Odyssey" which brought a more Dance orientated sound to the Jamiroquai vibe. Their albums are always very well constructed and have a distinctive sound. I do not anticipate that they will ever put a foot wrong and will continue to buy all of their albums as they never disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a grower., 31 Aug. 2006
By 
JDM (Gloucester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dynamite (Audio CD)
After hearing the singles such as "Feels Just Like It Should" "Seven Days In Sunny June" and "Don't Give Hate A Chance" I had made up my mind to buy the album. On my first listen i was happy to find that there were songs on there that i liked apart from the singles, but there are also ones that i didn't like.

I kept listening to it and they all grew on me. Now i love every track. There is a little routine on this album which is, the verse may sound a bit bland or offputting but the chorus is better and gets you enjoying yourself (and vis versa). I love every track but i'll just list the ones i think are the best.

Dynamite - This has the coolest bassline i've ever heard.

Tulullah - This smooth track has some great singing and cool lyrics.

Don't Give Hate A Chance - This is a very cool track with more funky basslines.

Time Won't Wait - I love both the verses, and the chorus get you singings along, but one thing that adds the spark to this track are the backing vocals. They give it some soul.

So, many of the tracks had to grow on me but it was well worth it and it came quickly. I recently left this cd and didn't listen to it for a while because i got into the whole metal scene. But now i've picked it up again i can assure you that it won't be neglected.

I can understand peoples complaints about it being different to their older stuff because I have their old stuff also. It's different but still good.

If you buy this, just give a chance. It's like alchohol, not many people like it at first but after a while you'll end up drunk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the bad reviews!, 4 July 2005
By 
Graham Simons "grahams246" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dynamite (Audio CD)
I wondered how long it would take, those people looking to slate a jamiroquai album straight away. 'All jamiroquai albums sound the same' 'jay is a prat etc.' You people have banging the same drum since 1996 and the band are still as successful as ever. In the past some of this criticism has been warranted, synkronized is a poor album by the group's standards and don't get me started on 'funk odyssey' but it really is virtual insanity to claim that this is not a return to form from the other great British band of the 1990s. I know, I've been waiting for a great album from them for years and finally it's here. Yes, certainly not all the tracks are fantastic but they're all good or better than good, the stand outs are black devil car and star child, and this album really does have the funk. jamiroquai are one of the most important bands out there as at the very least they have been instrumental in opening the door to the wonderful genre that is funk, so kids can go and revisit, mayfield, brown, wonder and the meters among others instead of listening to bands such as 13 senses, the bravery and the magic numbers who are simply rehashing the same old rubbish that was in the charts this time last year! It really is virtual insanity if you view this album as alright when it's dynamite and really is the return of the space cowboy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It'll knock your socks off!!, 8 July 2005
This review is from: Dynamite (Audio CD)
Well now, I have to say after they released 'Feels just like it should', I was sceptical as to whether I'd like the new album...their style seemed to have changed somewhat (and I'm a die-hard fan!) But I was indeed pleasantly surprised when I listened to the rest of the tracks - they are superb. You can't fault it musically; it's still got that jazzy funky feel that we know and love. And how about those bass-lines in Starchild?? Wow!! This is fast becoming my favourite album of all time. Buy it! Or miss out on the most amazing Jamiroquai trip of your life ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An underrated talent of the British music scene, 27 Aug. 2005
By 
This review is from: Dynamite (Audio CD)
Although I eagerly awaited the release of "Dynamite", I was filled with trepidation. As Jay & the gang's last album had included the mighty "Little L" and "Love Foolosophy", my hopes were not high when "Feels Just Like It Should" became the first single from this album. However any doubts were blown away when "Dynamite" appeared as once again the band have delivered an absolute cracker.
"FJLIS" aside, the album is bursting with funky gems like "Time Won't Wait" and "(Don't) Give Hate A Chance", the already classic "Starchild", and the laid back summer anthem "Seven Days in Sunny June". "Electric Mistress" is another electro-influenced risk taker - which I think is more successful than the album's opener and first single "FJLIS", whilst "Black Devil Car" revs up the guitars in an interesting diversion from the usual sound. "Hot Tequila Brown" is also a very different and more reflective track.
On the whole, Dynamite may not break new ground but provides further evidence, as if it was needed, that Jay Kay continues to be an underrated talent of the British music scene.
Can't wait to see the band live next month!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ridin' the night, you know that she's dynamite, come on..., 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynamite (Audio CD)
'Dynamite' is the British funk band Jamiroquai's sixth studio album, and they prove to be as good as ever in this punchy, disco-inspired effort.

The album starts with the single 'Feels Just Like It Should' which reached number 8 on the UK singles chart in June 2005 and number 1 on the US Dance Chart. It's quite a fun song about what runs through a nerd's mind as he goes to visit a hooker; it features a bass line created by Jay Kay beat-boxing. While it isn't the album's best song, in my opinion, it is by no means a bad track.

The next track is the title track and this is where 'Dynamite' really gets going; a cool 70s-esque disco song that would have made a good single. Track three is the second and best single 'Seven Days in Sunny June', an acoustic-guitar led tale of unrequited love that harks back to the band's earlier acid jazz sound; this segues into funky synth track 'Electric Mistress'.

Other highlights include 'Starchild', chilled, laid-back 'Tallulah' and 'Love Blind'. In addition, single '(Don't) Give Hate a Chance' is the eighth track: an anti-hate (hence the name) disco track. Personally, whilst I appreciate the message Jay and co are trying to put out, I think this is one of the weaker tracks on the album.

Afterwards we have 'World That He Wants', a sombre piano-led ballad about George W. Bush, whom, as another reviewer points out, Jay Kay clearly resented (indeed, in the liner notes, Jay Kay writes "I would not like to thank George W. Bush who continues to mess up OUR world.") This is followed by much more upbeat 'Black Devil Car', which Jay Kay wrote as a tribute to his black Ferrari Enzo. Afterwards, it's 'Hot Tequila Brown', another funk/disco song which is reportedly about Jay's former cocaine addiction. The last track is 'Time Won't Wait', another retro-inspired disco track; this was a bonus track on the UK, US and Japanese releases of the album.

All in all, this is a very good, solid album with lots of great tracks (in fact, there's not one bad song on there). The only thing is that I personally would recommend that you listen to it in order and from start to finish. If you are a fan of Jamiroquai and you don't have this album, well you know what to do. If not but you are into disco and funk music, buy it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funking great, 17 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Dynamite (Audio CD)
One of the UK's most talented musicians has churned out yet another fantastic album. Dynamite will not bowl you over the first time you listen to it, but stick with it and you will fall in love with this album and it will fast become a favourite in your collection. It's fresh, funky and jazzy and typical "Jamiroquai". Their unique sound is evident throughout so if you love their sound, you will love this album.
Aside from the fast and furious sounds of Electric Mistress, (Don't) Give Hate A Chance, Black Devil Car and Time Won't Wait, there are smooth tunes in the form of Seven Days In Sunny June, Dynamite and Hot Tequila Brown. The most notable song is Tallulah which is one of the strongest tracks on the album. It's smooth, sensual and yet jazzy. It is an absolutely beautiful track and perfect to chill out to. For me, it is the best song Jamiroquai have done for a long time and I'd have bought this album on that track alone.
If you are into music with obvious political tones, World That He Wants is a two-fingered salute to George Bush and co. It is hard to listen to, but at the same time fitting for the times we live in. Any fan of Jamiroquai, even those that don't like this song, have to respect what Jay Kay is trying to do here. It certainly provokes thought and that's what he was aiming for.
From the opener Feels Just Like It Should to the closing track Time Won't Wait, this CD is genius. The lyrics are from the heart and the production is well thought out. It's a journey of the heart and the mind. It may not be classic Jamiroquai, but it sure is close. I just hope we don't have to wait for another four years for a follow-up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dynamite
Dynamite by Jamiroquai (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews