Customer Reviews


144 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (41)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good! quite freaky!
i really wasnt expecting this film to be this good. but it was!. the killer in it is quite freaky and it puts you off train staions!. the only bit i dint get was the bit where she falls asleep in the staion. surly she woulda heard a train pull up! even the talking of the people getting on and off!. however it is a very good film and i will recommend you watch it.
Published on 2 Jun 2011 by zombie1

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promising start...
In the middle of the night, an abrasive party girl (Franka Potente) dozes off waiting in an underground station. She wakes up to find she's been locked in (does this really happen??) and a ruthless killer is creeping around the underground tunnels. Thus the stage is set for a tense, claustrophobic slice of horror...well, at least until halfway through.

Sadly,...
Published on 29 April 2007 by Ms. H. Hughes


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promising start..., 29 April 2007
By 
Ms. H. Hughes (wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In the middle of the night, an abrasive party girl (Franka Potente) dozes off waiting in an underground station. She wakes up to find she's been locked in (does this really happen??) and a ruthless killer is creeping around the underground tunnels. Thus the stage is set for a tense, claustrophobic slice of horror...well, at least until halfway through.

Sadly, as with many modern horror films (think "Jeepers Creepers"), this film loses pretty much all it's dramatic tension once you get a proper look at the bad guy. I won't ruin it for you by saying which other film character he/it resembles but let's just say, making amusing comparisons had us shaking with giggles as opposed to shuddering in horror.

When it comes to characters, there's the usual array of spot-them-a-mile-off "expendables" (2-dimensional personalities introduced just in time to get sliced up in a variety of increasingly gory and disturbing ways). However, Franka Potente is very good, bringing her unappealing character to life, making you root for her and making her more "real" than your average horror movie heroine. She doesn't suddenly turn into a buffy-esque fighter with superhuman powers - she reacts in a way that seemed true to life (albeit in a very unrealistic situation). I'd reccommend this film for her performance alone.

If you're freaked out by blood and gore you should steer well clear of this film - the characters are pretty much swimming in the stuff. However, if you like your horror bloody and aren't that bothered by minor details such as plot then give it a go - there are worse films out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good! quite freaky!, 2 Jun 2011
This review is from: Creep [DVD] (DVD)
i really wasnt expecting this film to be this good. but it was!. the killer in it is quite freaky and it puts you off train staions!. the only bit i dint get was the bit where she falls asleep in the staion. surly she woulda heard a train pull up! even the talking of the people getting on and off!. however it is a very good film and i will recommend you watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually a pretty good film, inspite of the negative reviews, 21 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. D. J. Rix "eibonvale" (Whitstable, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creep [DVD] (DVD)
I read through the reviews here before getting this film. All the reviews that blast this as a worthless piece of cinema and the few that like it. Not surprisingly, I was somewhat put off by that, but even so, two factors made me buy it anyway. The first was that the few good reviews here painted enough of a picture to make me think that it might be worth a look. Second was that I just could NOT resist the idea of a story set on the London underground. That weird underworld of London that we only get faint glimpses of in our normal lives riding the unfriendly tube.

Having actually seen it, I am now a bit puzzled why everyone has taken against it so sharply. Or, more accurately, I am puzzled what people expected that wasn't there. I think it is a great film. Sure it has a few flaws (the rather cute rats are a bit of a shame). Sure, it is not quite `factually accurate' in some ways (and yes - all horror movies are factually accurate, aren't they!). But overall it seems to work very well and succeeds admirably in being what it sets out to be - a horror movie at its simplest. Not supposed to be real. Not supposed to make you think too much, but instead out to give you a trip and to make you feel both fear and a sense of the strange and unusual. Unreal, but with its own bizarre logic. And why not? That's what horror is for, isn't it? I bought this at the same time as The Descent, which many people compare it to unfavourably. But of the two I sort of prefer this film. Perhaps that is because The Descent tries to be a deadly serious film, which ultimately leads to it failing to convince with its improbable make up jobs and unlikely underground monsters. I am not saying that Creep is not a `serious' film. It is not a satirical film as such, but it is a film that knows what it is and is fully content to be that, to revel in the fact that it is unreal and improbable and fantastical and to just go with it. Which makes the suspension of disbelief - essential for a horror movie - easier rather than harder, I think. The result is a film that views more as a fantasy than a reality. Something closer to Neverwhere than to Blair Witch (to call up two very disparate examples). It is a voyage to somewhere else. Some strange subterranean world where improbable things are much easier to accept. This subterranean setting is magnificent, I think. And it is not so far from the truth either. London is a strange place with lots hidden below the surface. The `lost rivers' of London for instance, which now flow through forgotten tunnels caught up in the sewage system. Also, the store room that she climbs into quite early on in the movie is real I think. I cant remember where it is precisely (near Camden perhaps?), but I think it was once a wartime bunker or shelter and was also intended to be part of a tube line. It was given over to storage for businesses documents etc. instead though. I cant swear that the actual sewer tunnels and old passageways are really there under london, but these things do exist and the ones in the film are certainly far from improbable. The interconnectedness of this underworld might be stretching reality a bit, but even so the general tone is quite `acceptable' - if not totally realistic - even if you have a little knowledge of what is actually down there.

The movie is full of other nice touches as well. That awful woman who refuses to help with change near the start of the film perfectly captures the arrogant and unhelpful citizens of a city with a very cold heart. All the actors do a great job in fact. Even the Creep himself is not too bad. Perhaps a bit overblown in the makeup considering that he is actually a human being, but even so, the performance itself is good, with his high-pitched call and sometimes almost elegant movement.

And most magnificent of all is Franke Potente's wonderful performance, moving from the odious smart-set girl at the start (who you almost want to see get a kick in the pants from something raw and horrific, just to wake her up a bit) to the broken, fragile and very human thing left at the end. And that last scene of all - I wont reveal it here - but I think it is a little piece of genius. Such a perfect way to round this all off.

Now - if they'd just left the rats out of it . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Creepy until the last third...., 20 Jun 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Creep [DVD] (DVD)
Creep is written and directed by Christopher Smith. It stars Franka Potente, Paul Rattray, Kelly Scott, Ken Campbell, Vas Blackwood, Sean Harris and Jeremy Sheffield. Plot finds Potente as London party girl, Kate, who falls asleep while waiting for the last tube train home. Locked in for the night Kate finds there is something sinister lurking down in the dark depths of the London Underground system.

I'm a bit late to the party as regards writing a review for this film, but I'm pleased to see that on internet movie sites the film is actually rated about right. Average. Lifting from many a horror picture along the way, director/writer Smith can't be accused of originality, but for two thirds of the movie he at least has a good sense of mood, pace and creeping unease. Premise is a good one and the locale is ready made for some quality stalk and menace monsterings, with Potente, sporting an odd look for her, doing a nice line in shriek-panic-and frantic running. But then not only does Potente turn into a generic dopey lass, the Creep of the title grabs too much screen time (so not worth the wait) as Smith completely throws away the atmospherics and, erm, creepiness. Choosing instead to pander to gooey conventions in a seemingly desperate need to shock for the blood craving movie watcher.

Still, there's enough here to totally not dismiss it as a failure, while it's always nice to see Vas Blackwood getting work, but Smith should have trusted himself to make an unnerving chiller and not shift the tone so dramatically for the weak final third. 5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 12 July 2013
This review is from: Creep [DVD] (DVD)
Not particuly good, but did keep me entertained when I was watching. It does have a few scares throughout the film, but I did expect better from it. Having watched it twice now and fully understood it, you do grow to understand 'Craig'. It is OK at most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Creepy but nowhere near as good as i thought it would be, 25 May 2005
This review is from: Creep [DVD] (DVD)
The concept for this film is fantastic. The London Underground, someone goes to sleep and when they wake up nobody is there, it's a very frightening idea and i can't think of anybody that would not find that a scary situation. Unfortunately this good concept has been turned into quite frankly a cheesy movie that could have been a classic. I went to see it with no expectations as i had seen nothing about it and had no idea what it would be about, that may seem a little stupid but the advert did look good so I went and although it wasn't the best film i've seen it was not the worst.
Think of creep as "Jeepers Creepers" in the london underground with a hybrid instead of a big old weird made up monster. The reason i say this is because it is scary at first and has the potential to be good. It has it's jump out of your seats moments but when the character is revealed the scares are gone too. There is some seriously bad acting in this film too and i tried not to let it ruin the overall experience but with that bad acting, the cheesy hybrid and a bad storyline it became clear that this was not the horror movie I had hoped it would be.
There are very few films that have made me scared or really shocked me and add this to the list of films that dont have any effect on me what so ever apart from watching the credits still waiting for it to get good. If you want to see something that will shock and disturb you than the remake of "The Amityville Horror" is a must see but only see this out of curiousity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Creep, 1 July 2005
This review is from: Creep [DVD] (DVD)
'Creep' tells the story of a young women Kate (played by Franka Potente) trapped on the London underground after falling asleep and missing the last train home. There are several other characters who dwell under the city, a broad mixture to say the least with some more sympathetic towards Kate's problems than others. A human detached from normality and the victim of hideous medical experiments is hunting down people during the night to conduct experiments of his own, although these are equally unconstructive.
'Creep' is the first high profile British 'horror' release since Danny Boyle's '28 days later' but it doesn't really meet the same standards. The film is enjoyable whilst not being particularly scary and this lets the film down. I'd advise that you rent before purchasing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scary in the dark, 5 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Creep [DVD] (DVD)
I seem to be in the minority here saying i thought this film was quite scary. Saying that though i did watch it by myself at like two in the mornin and dun-dun-dun in the dark.
Having been to the London underground and having seen how dark the tunnels are i thought this film was very scary.
There was a point where i had to change the channel because i couldnt watch the screen during a certain experimentation scene.
I would say however that the main character (herion) can be very annoying at times as she does have alot of oppertunities to kill the "baddie" but saying that i doubt your brain works logically when being persued by a monster.
The actor who portrayed the "baddie" did a very good job of making him very creepy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great British Horror, 23 Aug 2008
This review is from: Creep [DVD] (DVD)
After reading all the negative reviews of 'Creep' I bought it anyway and I have to say that I really enjoyed it.

After leaving a party and being unable to get a taxi Kate (Franka Portente) goes to Charing Cross station. After falling asleep, she wakes up to find the station locked up for the night. After panicking a train pulls in and she boards the train, feeling relieved but then the train grinds to a halt and she is chased through the underground by a monster all night long.

I'll admit that the storyline is pretty stupid, how can you get locked in a station?! But if you overlook that and like gore by the bucketload, Creep is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unpleasant but also unsatisfying, 19 Jan 2006
This review is from: Creep [DVD] (DVD)
I'm in two minds about this film - first off it did frighten me and left me with rather a sleepless night (although that might also have been due to the dodgy kebab I had that night). I also loved Franka Potente (from the excellent 'Run Lola, Run'). She was very believable as Kate, a London party girl.
I thought that it was brave to portray her character as rather selfish and unlikeable (although such is Potente's personal charm I ended up warming to her anyway) and her physicality was refreshing. She's a big girl - not fat, but tall and muscular - and no shrinking violet.
The decision to set the film in the London Underground was also a great idea and the film manages to perfectly capture the atmosphere of stale air, heat, grime and claustrophoia that I always feel when I'm on the tube.
The Creep himself is horrible, I know a lot of reviewers have said that he's 'just a skinny guy' but it's his closeness to humanity that makes him horrible. The bit where he speaks shows this I think - when you know it sounds human, it looks human, but there's something not quite right.
My main gripe is why the film-makers decided not to give him any sort of intelligable back-story. It's kind of hinted that he's some sort of mutant engineered by a doctor but why would anyone choose to set up a laboratory in the Tube - It's not exactly a sterile environment is it? And what was he trying to engineer? The world has enough ugly psychopaths so I assume that's not what he was aiming for, but there's just no explanation - nothing.
There was some lame excuse that they didn't want to make him more sympathetic than Kate, but we're talking about a cannibalistic murdering sadist who tortures people for fun, so I doubt there's much chance of that (Although I suppose some people think Jeffrey Dahmer and Ed Gein were 'really cool' so probably there are some really sad cases who would).
As for the torture scene, although you don't see much, it made me feel sick and I couldn't watch. Again, a backstory would've made this a bit more than just gratuitous nastiness to please the gore hounds (and why is the victim always female in this sort of scene?).
Anyway, some good ideas in there but a bit let down by a lack of explanation. I know that people often say that it's better to leave it to the imagination, but sometimes it just isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Creep [DVD]
Creep [DVD] by Christopher Smith (DVD - 2005)
£2.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews