Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars70
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 15 April 2005
From the very first we are immersed in explosive scenes as watch Jack Morrison (Joaquin Phoenix), a well trained fire fighter is disregarding his own peril as he saves a man from the burning high-rise building. The inevitable happens and Jack is trapped in the burning debris. As his comrades rush to save him the rest of the film is a series of flash-backs from his rooky days until the present.
The story focus is on Jack Morrison's life and secondarily firefighting in general. Captain Mike Kennedy (John Travolta) holds the team together. John Travolta is believable in the film.
Aside from the numerous clichés and shades of 9/11 this is a well done formula movie.
----------------------------------------------------------
The wide screen DVD was very clear on watching on the laptop. This film would be a good candidate for "Superbit".
There are some extras such as an audio commentary with director Jay Russell and Editor Bud Smith.
There is a lot of interesting backgrounds music to the various scenes. This soundtrack is available.
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2007
By far the best movie in a very long time. The show really captures what firemen do for us everyday. The show is heartwarming and inspirational. I give it two BIG thumbs up!!!!!
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2007
In this movie we follow the career of a brave firefighter, is there any other kind? We watch the lives of the firefighters in the Baltimore Fire Department. John Travolta does a wonderful job as the chief. And Joaquin Phoenix is cast as the young fireman, our protagonist. Jacinda Barrett play's his lovely young fireman's wife.

The film starts with an action packed fire where our hero gets trapped within the burning building. It is from here that we see his ten years career through flashbacks. We see the relationships and bonds between the firefighters and their families. Like anyone else, they fall in love and have families. But of course unlike most families, every time the firefighter goes to work, we never know if he will return home. Like any high pressure and dangerous job, there is a lot of camaraderie and good-natured fun among the men. And of course a special bonding that only that kind of environment can bring on.

The real star of this movie is the fire. They are all consuming and very unpredictable. But we watch as these men run into burning buildings, when all others run out. Why do they do such a thing? Because they may be able to save someone. It is this over whelming desire to help others, regardless of the cost to themselves that make them heroes. And I would like to say Thank You to all the Firefighters out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
This film has a very powerful story alongside a powerful soundtrack. It is emotional and heart wrenching. It gives you some idea of the dangers firmen face and the devistation fire can cause. It is a journey of life with the highs and the lows and the storyline is good. A film that I really enjoyed watching and have watched more than once. Definately one to remember.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2005
For those of you who have not yet seen Ladder 49, i have but one comment - WAKE UP AND SEE IT!
This film captures your need for action and will touch your heart. I am not patriotic or nationalistic in anyway, so dont think this film is about that, because its not. It is a story of passion for life, honour and commitment.
This film boasts realistic situations, both in fire fighting and in the characters personal lives. It depicts the fire house crew as brothers, a close family that have thier ups and downs. The supporting cast to John Travolta and Joaquim Phoenix are supperb.
This film will make you laugh and cry.
The DVD extras are well worth seeing. The documentary on the real fire fighters of Baltimore is interesting as are the 'making of' documentaries.
One word of advice, when you do watch it, turn off your mobiles, discontect your landline and put a 'do not disturb' sign on your door...
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
This has to be maybe the best "Fire-Movie" ever done, or?. It`s at least WAY WAY BETTER than the awful "Backdraft".
Very well played by Mr. Phoenix as the lead role. And it ends differently than the average film!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
This is probably the best firefighter film ever made, great acting and fantastic story. I would recommend to anybody. Take it from a real firefighter this knocks the socks off Backdraught and even brought a tear to my eye.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
Love the film always have done great story line,but others might find it depressing,, john Travolta always acts very well in movies and got all of them as iam a fan of john Travolta,grease is my favourite
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 April 2005
From the very first we are immersed in explosive scenes as watch Jack Morrison (Joaquin Phoenix), a well trained fire fighter is disregarding his own peril as he saves a man from the burning high-rise building. The inevitable happens and Jack is trapped in the burning debris. As his comrades rush to save him the rest of the film is a series of flash-backs from his rooky days until the present.
The story focus is on Jack Morrison's life and secondarily firefighting in general. Captain Mike Kennedy (John Travolta) holds the team together. John Travolta is believable in the film.
Aside from the numerous clichés and shades of 9/11 this is a well done formula movie.
----------------------------------------------------------
The wide screen DVD was very clear on watching on the laptop. This film would be a good candidate for "Superbit".
There are some extras such as an audio commentary with director Jay Russell and Editor Bud Smith.
There is a lot of interesting backgrounds music to the various scenes. This soundtrack is available.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2005
It is worth the watch but it's not what I expected. There was not as much action as I thought there would be as it was more of a love story but never the less I,m glad I have seen it. I will say in it's defence, it was very true to life as you could see most things really happening.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.