Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Great Soul Man
The title of the cd pretty much describes the legend Bobby Womack is. I loved this cd. I can't stop dancing each time I listen to it. I may be in the age group of those who may be able to say, 'gee I remember when that came out' or 'when I first danced to it' because I was not born until the 80's. But I do love my music and honor where my soul has been brought to the...
Published 12 months ago by Hanat Balimuttajjo

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CALIFORNIA DREAMING
I REALLY ONLY BOUGHT IT FOR ONE TRACK,"CALIFORNIA DREAMING"- I FOUND THE OTHER TRACKS NOT QUITE AS GOOD AS THAT
Published 10 months ago by David Pavett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Great Soul Man, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The title of the cd pretty much describes the legend Bobby Womack is. I loved this cd. I can't stop dancing each time I listen to it. I may be in the age group of those who may be able to say, 'gee I remember when that came out' or 'when I first danced to it' because I was not born until the 80's. But I do love my music and honor where my soul has been brought to the highest height. This cd di that. Not one song brought me down. I kept climbing through all colours of emotions, movement and sounds. I tapped where I could have danced on a table and danced. You feel everything. It's worth the buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Great Soul Man, 13 July 2009
By 
jk "jon" (Poulton-le-fylde) - See all my reviews
A true great for the lovers of soul music,the album has a history of all of bobby's hit from the 60's through to the 80's with some truly great gems included.
This is a fantastic album and is great value for money !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RIP and thank you Bobby Womack. The last great soul man, 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Essential Bobby Womack: the Last Great Soul Man (Audio CD)
Heard of the very sad passing of this soul giant. I don't have this as I have the CD of 'Understanding'/'Communcation' which are his best and finest albums. Hopefully soon one of major companies will do a CD comp of The Valentinos recordings which is long overdue. There is NO such thing as soul music now as the music of now is sex/drugs/X factor driven. Will any of these so callers rank among this legend? Definitly no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The man is Soul!, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Bobby Womack: the Last Great Soul Man (Audio CD)
Just superb, a great double album that covers many years of his career, and he is still out there delivering the goods.
A must have for your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend, 29 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Essential Bobby Womack: the Last Great Soul Man (Audio CD)
Quintessential Womack, this album soars with raw honesty and a natural genius that is Womack . The gravel tipped baritone of Womack shining through . Responsible for the huge success of the Rolling Stones seminal track : It's all over now which Bobby wrote and which they covered it's always best to hear an album like this on the back notes of Loud . Penning hits for the likes of Joplin, Wilson Pickett and Stevie Wonder and Rod Stewart Womack's sheer lyrical poignancy , haunting vocals and amazing technical brilliance make this album a must have for any Womack fans . Listen and be dazzled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars soul music, 7 Sep 2013
By 
Mrs. K. E. Williams "Singing Cat" (Nottingham. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Bobby Womack: the Last Great Soul Man (Audio CD)
everyone told me how good this soul singer was which is why I got the cd. they were right it is wonderful performance, the sort of stuff you don't get often, will buy some more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Bobby Womack: the Last Great Soul Man (Audio CD)
The more I listen to this album the better it sounds. Definatley a 70s vibe, sounds like it could be the soundtrack to Shaft but loving it. I only really knew 110 Street before and that was from the movie Jackie Brown, so glad I gave it try. Will try some of his others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bobby is truly the last soul man, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Bobby Womack: the Last Great Soul Man (Audio CD)
I pretty much have every one of his albums.This one for me has almost all my favourite songs.Like all great singers he has a unique voice that can't be mistaken for some else.

For all those new to Bobby i would recommend this one,the only thing i would have liked is an addition of two or three songs from the album [the last soul man] but then i might just be nitpicking and i think most people who loves soul music will be happy with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Too good!, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Bobby Womack: the Last Great Soul Man (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic cd, with many of Womacks' top hits. This is a must buy, if real Soul is your flavor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ESSENTIAL, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Bobby Womack: the Last Great Soul Man (Audio CD)
ONLY BROUGHT THIS FOR A COUPLE OF TRACKS. SO IT WAS A GREAT DISCOVERY,AND WELL WORTH THE MONEY, IN THESE HARD TIMES
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews