Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Post-apocalypse soundtracks
You scarcely notice that the album has started: there's just a growing drone, then a male voice begins to speak: "The car's on fire - and there's no driver at the wheel." Gradually, sentence by sentence, he describes the collapse of urban civilisation. You look at your watch and realise that the standard length of a pop single has already passed and this is still just...
Published on 6 Sep 2008 by Earthshaker

versus
11 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts but inconsistent
With seven 5 star reviews here this sounded a promising album so I placed my order here. I am a fan of long tracks, Dark Star by the Dead, Pink Floyd's Animals etc. but although long, this music is very segmented, it no sooner gets up a head of steam before it stops and someone has a fiddle with a synth or something. When they play this band is very good but in a 60+...
Published on 17 Nov 2000 by Graham R. Simpson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best - Yet to be supassed, 16 Jan 2005
By 
M. LLOYD "markipoos999" (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: F# A# Oo (Audio CD)
One of those albums you can't really just put on an leave going in the background. This sort of music demands your full attention. At times beautiful and at other times haunting, then full-on.
Many of the tracks take litterally minutes to build up to a crescendo, which particularly when listening to on headphones can pull you right in.
Godspeed's other releases are also very good indeed, but this one is the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and Wonderful, 25 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: F# A# Oo (Audio CD)
I wont go into a big analysis of the whole thing. Because it will just wreck it. This CD is wonderful. Just sit down, relax and listen to it. Dont judge the first time, or the second or the third etc... who knows. You will just know when youve judged it.
The highlight for me would be Dead Flag Blues, the monologue at the beginning. Its poetry but not. Just listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lift your skinny fists like antennas to heaven!, 12 Oct 2003
By 
Mr. D. L. Mccann (Anglesea, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: F# A# Oo (Audio CD)
Disclaimer:
DO NOT BUY THIS ALBUM if you are a 'music fan'. This is not music in the sense of songs, nor is it music in the sense of NME or Kerrang (Shudders). BE WARNED.
This is the most ambient work of art i have heard Godspeed produce yet, although comparing it to their other albums is impossible. (I Dont have a hash key here, so i'll referr to it is FAoo) FAoo is beautiful but deadly. Haunting, harrowing, but ambient and e nthralling. Like being inside sounds :o)
But pretense is running at a mere 2%, something which imitators (There have been many) Cant reproduce.
Godspeed can only be described as a cityscape of sound. Guitarist Efrim once said
"The writing process of our band is like trying to shit 50pound bowling balls".
I'll shut up now and let you buy it. But ONLY if you intend to plug yourself into your headphones and give it a chance. For once godspeed is in you, you'll have a shaddow behind you for the rest of your days.
"I said kiss me you're beautiful - these are truly the last days. You grabbed my hand and we fell into it, like a daydream or a fever. We woke up one morning and fell a little further down - for sure its the valley of death. I Open my wallet, and its full of blood..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The brilliant 1st album by GODSPEED YOU BLACK EMPEROR!, 22 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: F# A# Oo (Audio CD)
This is the first release from GODSPEED YOU BLACK EMPEROR! (not counting a tape they made a few years ago and made 33 copies of)and it is fantastic. It opens with 'The Dead Flag Blues', a song with 4 movements - 'The Dead Flag Blues' 'Slow Moving Trains' 'The cowboy' and 'Outro'. It starts with a fade in sound which gets louder until a voice speaks over the top of it. This goes on for about 2 minutes and then some violins come in, creating a depressing atmosphere. The rest of the track continues with the other instruments coming in to make a loud climax and then ends to start a new piece - 'slow moving trains'. Starting with the sound of a train and fading out to let the violins, bass, guitar and then drums come in to play a sad theme. It continues with 'The Cowboy', a more happy tune and ends to open piece 2 - 'East Hastings'. This starts with 'Nothings Alrite In Our Life' The sound of violins and a man preaching about Jesus and continues to 'The Dead Flag Blues (Reprise)' Which sounds nothing like the first one apart from the depressing atmosphere. It continues to 'The Sad Mafioso' and then to 'Drugs In Tokyo / Black Helicopter'. The whole of 'East Hastings' has the same theme throughout. It starts slowly, getting faster until it reaches its climax and starts another slow song, to climax and then give way to the 3rd and last track - 'Providence'. The first piece, 'Divorce & Fever' features the voice of Blaise Baily Finnegan the 3rd tape recorded on a sidewalk in providence. It gives way to 'Dead Metheny', the sound of a guitar and the other instruments which soon join it to get faster and then is interupted by a fast drum beat which grinds to a halt for 'Kicking Horse On Broken Hill', opening with ghost like sounds and fading out to a slow guitar riff. This is joined by drums and other instruments to make a fast, furious and loud song which climaxes and then there is the sound of nothing for 5 minutes, then the last piece, 'String Loop Manufactured During Downpour', starting with a string loop (surprise!) and a droning sound which is overtaken by a heavily distorted guitar and drums being played very fast and angrily untill it suddenly stops and all you can hear is a fading out drone and then the whirr of the CD player. This album comes with great artwork, as does all godspeed's stuff. It is packaged in a normal plastic CD jewel box, which is a bit boring, but the best part is the booklet, which is made of weird smelling paper and tracing paper! It lists all the songs and their movements, a blueprint drawen by efrim, 'Faulty Schematics Of Ruined Machine' The Story Thus Far..., a picture of some pylons with hebrew writing underneath, a quote by John Train and a picture of a man with a guitar, a hammer and a halo over his head with a gun, getting ready to blow his own head off, a form you have to fill in if you want a divorce, and a picture of a crashed train
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes 5, sometimes none at all..., 11 Mar 2006
By 
TD WILKINSON "A Post-Rock Follower" (Otley, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: F# A# Oo (Audio CD)
I bought F*A*OO after reading some very positive reviews on this site.It was recommended as one I might enjoy, seeing as I already enjoy listening to Sigur Ros and Mogwai. I was disappointed on first hearing this album though. It is not so much music, as thoughts, poetry and random sounds. I am so much in love with the incredibly scary anarchist apocalyptic poetry though that I sometimes think this is a 5 star album just for that. But on a musical scale it doesn't satisfy at all, as there is very little musical talent displayed anywhere during the album. I recommend it though- if you're in the right mood it takes you to the end of the world. And despite it sometimes annoying with its not-very-good music, the end of the world on a CD is very hard to achieve. Sometimes the end of the world is exactly where you want to be. 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sounds nice in places...., 18 Dec 2007
By 
P. Stevenson "reader, gamer" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: F# A# Oo (Audio CD)
There is just too much silence here for my liking. I'm a fan of the actual music that Godspeed create but theres just not enough here to keep my attention. It seems that most of the album is made up of ambient noise or just silence. The first and second tracks left me feeling tired and bored, i was looking for tracks with long build ups, reaching epic conclusions, fooling, surprising and inspiring me. Well i got one, part 3 was a pretty great listen, all 29 minutes of it, nice variety of instruments, driving drums, careful use of strings, real ebb and flow, very nice. I can't recommend a CD with one nice track, even if it is 29 minutes long minus yet more silence. Havn't heard any other Godspeed stuff so i can't compare, but this album is definately wanting in both material and variety departments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

F#A# [VINYL]
F#A# [VINYL] by Godspeed You! Black Emperor (Vinyl - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews