Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hunter's First and Best
This is an expanded anniversary edition of Ian Hunter's solo debut. Along with Mick Ralphs, Ian Hunter was one of the two creative forces behind 70's glam rockers Mott the Hoople but after Ralphs left the band to form Bad Company, Hunter carried on for a few more albums before striking out on his own in 1975. This album finds Ian Hunter at the peak of his powers and he...
Published on 29 July 2010 by John Rafferty

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2 great tracks - rest average
Stand outs - Once Bitten & Boy - rest dated. Stick to Rant & later stuff unless you're a real Mott/Hunter fan
Published on 16 Nov 2010 by Douglas Stuart


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hunter's First and Best, 29 July 2010
This review is from: Ian Hunter (Audio CD)
This is an expanded anniversary edition of Ian Hunter's solo debut. Along with Mick Ralphs, Ian Hunter was one of the two creative forces behind 70's glam rockers Mott the Hoople but after Ralphs left the band to form Bad Company, Hunter carried on for a few more albums before striking out on his own in 1975. This album finds Ian Hunter at the peak of his powers and he is ably assisted by the lead guitar and production touches of ex-Bowie sidekick Mick Ronson. So, despite being a debut, both Hunter and Ronson had seen and done it all by the time this record came out.

"Once Bitten, Twice Shy" was Hunter's first and only top 20 hit and remains one of his best known songs and live staples and is then followed by "Who Do You Love" which continues a bright start. The excellent "Lounge Lizard" then completes an opening trio which could easily have found there way onto any Mott the Hoople album. However, Hunter is keen to show he can move up to another level of song writing sophistication and the stunning "Boy" showcases this intent. This lengthy cut takes the form of a piece of cautionary advice being doled out by the older Hunter to a younger (and possibly more successful?) rock'n'roll casualty. Is it Bowie he is talking about? Or Lennon's Lost Weekend? The song is filled with oblique references to make you wonder but in any case it is a song from the top drawer. "3,000 Miles from Here" beautifully depicts the emotional emptiness of life on the road and groupie adulation picked out in acoustic guitar. "The Truth, The Whole Truth, Nuthin' But The Truth" gives centre stage to some superb solos by Ronson and is as confidently rendered as anything being produced at that time by Led Zeppelin or the Who. "It Ain't Easy When You Fall/ Shades Off" is a classic Hunter ballad which segues into a trademark introspective poem which contrasts sharply with Hunter's headbanging mindless rocker persona which raises its head in the album closer "I Get So Excited".

What I love about this album is the variety of pace, the tasteful production and the quality control. It's an album that's created with a knowing skill and it stands shoulder to shoulder with any of it's British rock contemporaries. This expanded edition offers some dropped tracks and aternative takes. "Colwater High" is a dramatic piano based song which sounds a little like sections of Mott's "All the way from Memphis" while "One Fine Day" is a cousin of the Mott track "The Golden Age of Rock'n'Roll", possibly explaining why these two songs didn't make the final cut. The remaining tracks vary only slightly from the album versions. Hunter is something of an artist's artist and you can see why he commanded the respect of fellow rockers whilst perhaps not racking up the sales with the public. This is a connoisseur's album and if you have developed a palette for classic mid-70's British rock you will find much to admire here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best 70s albums ever produced, 22 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ian Hunter (Audio CD)
once bitten twice shy is one of my favourite singles from the 70s which is why i bought the album in vinal all those years ago ! boy is one of the best tracks on this album starting slow and quiet and finishing big and its a long track "fantastic" . the influence of david bowie is quite clear, through the help of mick ronson (bowie's guitarist and vocalist) If you like good old rock this album is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just a really great Rock 'n Roll album !, 28 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Ian Hunter (Audio CD)
My all time favourite album - amazing lyrics and (to my mind) Ian Hunters best album.
Ian Hunter is a iconic Rock n Roller and he has set the bench mark with this album that I think will take some beating !
Mick Ronsons guitar work is sublime throughout adding a real depth and sheer musical quality 'in spades'.
I have been listening to this album since its first release and I still listen to it weekly after all these years - an ageless classic that has somehow evaded the recognition it truly deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Long Term Fave, 11 Aug 2011
This review is from: Ian Hunter (Audio CD)
I've always adored this album, played it to death upon its release on vinyl in 1974, but just received the CD and it's back on heavy rotation after not paying it for at least a decade. Pure Joy,,,,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best album ever!, 14 Jan 2014
By 
K. Duckworth - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ian Hunter (Audio CD)
If like most of us you skip tracks when listening to ANY album by ANY artist, then treat yourself to Ian Hunter. I play it all the way through without skipping a track. Awesome album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable listen, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ian Hunter (Audio CD)
Missed the original Release I don't know how as I always enjoyed mott
but now enjoying it decades later.
Better late than never !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lost album, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ian Hunter (Audio CD)
had forgotten just how good Ian Hunter was ,had bought this album on vinyl when originally released so was bought to replace an album lost
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A favourite recording from the past!, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ian Hunter (Audio CD)
I bought this cd for a friend. He was showing me his original vinyl version of this album, but unfortunately it was damaged. So without telling him I ordered the cd from Amazon. I don't know what the album is like, but judging from my friends reaction it must be very good. Well done Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2 great tracks - rest average, 16 Nov 2010
By 
Douglas Stuart (Nottm, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ian Hunter (Audio CD)
Stand outs - Once Bitten & Boy - rest dated. Stick to Rant & later stuff unless you're a real Mott/Hunter fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x104ff0c0)

This product

Ian Hunter
Ian Hunter by Ian Hunter (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews