Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Surprise
I do not have all of the Morcheeba albums to date, only Who Can You Trust, which I love. Later albums seemed a little too chilled for me and so I never bought them, despite having heard them all. After reading a review in the paper, and on Amazon, I thought I'd give The Antidote a shot, as it claimed to be a little different. And it is. It sounds a little like...
Published on 24 July 2005 by Ms. F. R. Gunzi

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Poison must be trembling...
Following on from 2002's "Charango" and Skye Edwards' departure the 'Cheebs return with ex-Noonday Underground vocalist Daisy Martey. Martey has a classy voice of some distinction and adds some breadth to the band's sound.

"Wonders Never Cease" is standard fare but the expansive sound of tracks like "Everybody Loves A Loser" is a striking step forward for the...
Published on 30 Aug 2006 by Merry Terry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Surprise, 24 July 2005
By 
Ms. F. R. Gunzi "R. Gunzi" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Antidote (Audio CD)
I do not have all of the Morcheeba albums to date, only Who Can You Trust, which I love. Later albums seemed a little too chilled for me and so I never bought them, despite having heard them all. After reading a review in the paper, and on Amazon, I thought I'd give The Antidote a shot, as it claimed to be a little different. And it is. It sounds a little like Stereolab. Very upbeat with twists and turns. The interplay of instruments is wonderful and puts a completely new spin on Morcheeba's music. It didn't take long to get into the album, pretty much the first track gives you a feel for the music. Ten minutes in confirmed it was a good buy. If you like Morcheeba already, try this one for size, and if you have never listened to their music before, this is most defnitely worth a blind buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars return to form, 12 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Antidote (Audio CD)
I was initially worried when I had heard that Skye had left the band.However Daisy can do everything Skye did and a bit more.Have a listen to "Living Hell" which demonstrates what Daisy has brought to the party.This is the best album since "Big Calm" and I have a feeling it is going to become my favourite record this year.This is the perfect summer/festival album and I love the more psychedelic direction .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A change (of vibe) and a return (to form), 18 Nov 2007
By 
P. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Antidote (Audio CD)
Let's be honest, some of Morcheeba's albums since Big Calm have not exactly hit the sweet spot. The Antidote is, however, well worth a listen.

This is both definitely a Morcheeba album, and also definitely something else - an engaging 'big sounding' fusion of Big Calm and late 60's, early 70's 'sing along pop' - think of Tony Christie in a blender with Air, with a big twist of Kosheen.

To be honest - if you like Kosheen you'll like this, and vice-versa!

Daisy is not Skye - not better, not worse, just different - and it's easy to feel that, given the opportunity, she could rip out some powerful lead vocals. So, enjoy the new sound and direction, and relish that bands like Morcheeba still explore the soundscapes - and don't sit in a rut of their own making.

This album does not follow from the dreamy melodic nod-alongs of Big Calm or Who Can You Trust - both well worth your pocket money - it's more up-beat and strident in what it's saying.

Best track... hmm, tough but it may be Everyone Loves a Looser - a nice filmic feel, Tarantino-esque, and could have been called 'Kill Chill' ;-)

So - for fans of Morcheeba who have been a bit burned in the past - here's a shiny-shiny disc you can safely buy - for newbies - take your pick - for that 'chill-out vibe' buy Big Calm or Who Can You Trust, for a 'punchy pick me up', buy this one - easy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daisys wondeful unusual voice will make this album a classic, 20 Feb 2006
This review is from: The Antidote (Audio CD)
Morcheeba took on a new approach to the antidote, and for me it worked. Losing Skye was a big blow to the fans, but on this unique album Daisy has left me ever more excited about the Morcheeba sound. Things change, thats life. I own every album from Morcheeba and love every one (apart from the rap songs).
Daisy Marteys voice is a national treasure and i shall enjoy listening to this album for a long time to come. I only hope Daisy bounces back soon (after Morcheeba)so i can enjoy more of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Antidote, 11 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Antidote (Audio CD)
This album feels a bit like Morcheeba have gone back to their roots. The loss of Skye Edwards takes a bit of getting used to but Daisy's strong (and very different)voice makes the music refreshingly different but still inkeeping with the indubitable style that Morcheeba consistently presents us with. Definately a thumbs up...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Out with the old, in with the new is not "The Antidote" for Morcheeba, 16 Dec 2012
By 
Amillionmiles (Hove, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Antidote (Audio CD)
Morcheeba have released four pretty successful albums with Skye Edwards as their feature vocalist. Now she has left the band, they have recruited Daisy Martey who has more energy in her vocals then Skye, but a less distinctive and more generic sound. Nevertheless, she does her best on their fifth album "The Antidote" and tries to create a new image for Morcheeba. Unfortunately, I am not a huge fan and end up feeling slightly disappointed with this release.

"Wonders Never Cease" is a great opening track with a Pop Rock vibe injected with Soul and a 70's groove. "Ten Men" has a strong Folk Rock influence as well as some Indie elements, creating a memorable Pop composition. "Everybody Loves A Loser" is Motown inspired whilst still maintaining the Rock and Folk elements. But "Like A Military Coup" is a little too chaotic for me and Daisy's vocals are a tad too overpowering making this song my least favourite. "Living Hell" is just mediocre for me both vocally and instrumentally with heavy vocals and arrangements. By the time I get to "People Carrier", the songs start to sound too similar, Daisy's vocals grate and the arrangements blur. However "Lighten Up" brings back quality and is an uplifting track with nice Folk rock arrangements and less dominating vocals. "Daylight Robbery" is reasonably good with a Funk Soul vibe and title track "Antidote" is surprisingly soothing and mellow, a glimpse of former glory. The final track "God Bless And Goodbye" dips back into mediocrity as Daisy's vocals are as sharp as a knife and cut through this track too deeply.

"The Antidote" is not my preferred Morcheeba release as I am not that keen on Daisy Martey as a vocalist. I can certainly not dispute the fact that she has added energy to their music, but I find her voice is too harsh at times and lacks the control Skye has. By the time I got halfway through this album, I was already missing the calm soothing vocals of Skye. Sometimes, change is not always good and "The Antidote" suffers as a consequence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 24 Sep 2012
By 
Stanley Girshik "Stan" (Rockville, MD) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Antidote (Audio CD)
Awesome,

Can't stop listening to it.

My favorite songs :
Antidote !!! awesome song, go get a hit :)) genious
People Carrier
Everybody Loves a Looser ...

heck all are great

I'd buy a good quality concert DVD, anybody know where to get one?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Morcheeba's album, 5 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Antidote (Audio CD)
Really great album, much better then all their other things.
Too bad that Daisy Martey left, she is better then all their other singers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Poison must be trembling..., 30 Aug 2006
This review is from: The Antidote (Audio CD)
Following on from 2002's "Charango" and Skye Edwards' departure the 'Cheebs return with ex-Noonday Underground vocalist Daisy Martey. Martey has a classy voice of some distinction and adds some breadth to the band's sound.

"Wonders Never Cease" is standard fare but the expansive sound of tracks like "Everybody Loves A Loser" is a striking step forward for the band.

The bigger sound overall is quite alluring although interest wanes a little over an entire album.

Having said that, there is clearly a lot of talent in Morcheeba.

The only problem is discerning who their audience is now.

A worthy attempt however worth exploring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars LOST: EXPECTATIONS, album fails to live upto expectations, 25 May 2005
This review is from: The Antidote (Audio CD)
Humm, i own a few of their albums and have enjoyed them all from the start to finnish (even with some tracks being repeated on some) but this one has certainly not captured my enthusiasm. Maybe it is going back to their roots but it is not doing anything for me. Oh i long for more chilled out funky Beats that can be played at a dinner party, on a beach or in a traffic Jam, this album wont fill any of these criteras and may just be ok for playing at a noisey party...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Antidote
The Antidote by Morcheeba (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews