Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid follow-up to season one
The original series of THE OUTER LIMITS was first broadcast in the early 1960's, and thankfully there's no significant downgrade from the first season in this second season (with the 1st season remaining my favourite overall). The tales remain a winning blend of the unusual/unknown and sci-fi. The stories vary from OK to very good, with some intelligent scripts and solid,...
Published on 13 Mar 2012 by Alan James "Maebuschfan"

versus
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Second Season,Second Helpings.
Even though this season lacked the genius of Joseph Stefano, Leslie Stevens and Dominic Frontiere there are still some good stories.
"Demon with a Glass Hand"* for all it's stagey stylized appearance is still in my eyes, "A work of art".
Come to think about it, it IS the stagey stylized look that makes this episode stand out.
(If I could I would rate this...
Published on 24 May 2007 by Armchair Pundit


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Second Season,Second Helpings., 24 May 2007
By 
Armchair Pundit "Armchair Pundit." (Durham City, England.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Outer Limits - Season 2 [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Even though this season lacked the genius of Joseph Stefano, Leslie Stevens and Dominic Frontiere there are still some good stories.
"Demon with a Glass Hand"* for all it's stagey stylized appearance is still in my eyes, "A work of art".
Come to think about it, it IS the stagey stylized look that makes this episode stand out.
(If I could I would rate this story 5 stars alone)
"Soldier"* is still very good.Where, "Terminator" got it's influence is pretty obvious.
My now Ex-Wife, who was not a Sci-fi fan sat glued to her seat during the Human interest story that was, "The Premonition".
And like most adult males, the little boy in me likes a good monster story and, "The Invisible Enemy" hits the spot.
(I always wondered how they got that monster sand shark to come out of the sand like that, and thanks to, "The Outer Limits Official Companion"I finally know, it's clever stuff.)
"The Inheritors" still brings a lump to the throat of this, "stiff upper lip" Britisher.(Especially part 2.)
~~~~
In summing up, a flawed set of some good some average stories, but at least this show was prepared to take risks in story format terms, and is still a hundred times better then the full of boreingly stereotypical characters and computer generated effects rubbish that is today's Sci-Fi shows!
17, 50 minute episodes.
Originally broadcast:~19/9/64-16/1/65.
My region 2 version consists of 5 discs,(single-sided)Which play perfectly.
I also have the Region 1 releases of both seasons but I no longer play them as they've started to crack.
(I really dislike double sided discs.)
~~~~
TRIVIA:~The actress who play's Consuelo Biros in "Demon with a Glass Hand" (Arlene Martel),three years later played the part of Mr Spock's wife to be, T'Pring in the Star Trek episode, Amok Time.
* Both Hugo Award winners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid follow-up to season one, 13 Mar 2012
By 
Alan James "Maebuschfan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outer Limits - Season 2 [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
The original series of THE OUTER LIMITS was first broadcast in the early 1960's, and thankfully there's no significant downgrade from the first season in this second season (with the 1st season remaining my favourite overall). The tales remain a winning blend of the unusual/unknown and sci-fi. The stories vary from OK to very good, with some intelligent scripts and solid, thought-provoking dialogue.

One of my personal favourite episodes here has to be 'I, Robot' in which the robot of the title is put on trial after being accused of the murder of it's creator, the central themes of prejudice and fear are subtly handled. I'm a real sucker for emotional endings, and the climax to this proverbial little gem is both touching and moving. While reading the other reviews, I can see that I'm not the only one to notice that the opening episode 'Soldier' is a precursor to Arnold Schwarznegger's 'The Terminator'.

'The Invisible Enemy' happens to be a vibration-sensitive carnivorous monster lurking below the sandy Martian surface, shades of 'Tremors' for the terrified Astronaut mission to the red planet. The seventeen, 50-minute episodes include the two-part 'The Inheritors' in which Robert Duvall investigates the mysterious 'infection' of four men whose minds have been infiltrated by an alien intelligence.

The performances are good in this enjoyable series, which strikes a nice balance between the intelligent and entertaining. As with the first series, the black and white prints used for this Region 2 collection are good, there are no extras.

The soundtrack languages are: English, French.
The subtitle languages are: English, Dutch, French.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are They All Here?, 24 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outer Limits - Season 2 [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
I remember seeing re-runs of The Outer Limits on the BBC so I purchased both sets, as I don't actually have that much interest in the output of TV today. There are some good, some not so good episodes, but none I would class as bad, and in general I feel it is a very good series, still retaining the atmosphere I tend to associate with it from days now past. Unlike much of modern TV I actually remember the stories, often weeks after watching them, which must be a good sign that something is right with the series. After watching both series though I still thought I remembered other episodes which were not included, however, these might have been from another series based on similar story lines. If you are also bored with the output of current TV and like a touch of the unusual, you might also like to open the doors of The Outer Limits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We are controlling the transmission, 8 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outer Limits - Season 2 [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
More vintage scifi. Once again ignore the awfull effects and wobbly sets and just concentrate on some excellent scifi storytelling with some very good acting. You know what to expect by now, each episode has different cast and characters telling different stories of alien encounters. This is definately one of the best scifi shows ever made and a shame it only lasted 2 seasons though there was a decent remake in the 1990's with much better effects that lasted much longer this is the original and best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outer this world., 25 Jun 2013
By 
R. cooke "devon" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outer Limits - Season 2 [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Considering the time 1960`s this dvd box set holds many thought provoking stories and still very much of value in the present day. Great stuff and well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outer Limits - Season 2 [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
GOOD QUALITY VIDEO OF CLASSIC 60'S TV SERIES , GREAT IF LIKE ME YOUR OF A CERTAIN AGE AND WANT TO RE-LIVE GREAT TV MOMENTS FROM YOUR CHILDHOOD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In many ways Superior to Series 1!, 25 July 2011
By 
Philip Roberts (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Outer Limits - Season 2 [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
In many ways this second season of the original Outer Limits is superior to the 1st season. In Season 1 you got 32 episodes -- 17 really good ones, and 15 just making up the numbers. In this 2nd season you get the 17 really good episodes without the weak episodes making up the numbers. So a lower price for less episodes, and therefore better value for money.
Outer Limits S2 [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars watched when i was younger, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outer Limits - Season 2 [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
it arrived in good condition i watched the t v shows when younger and loved them then as much as i do now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars do not adjust your set!, 7 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. M. Warrender ""knows his music"" (Manchester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Outer Limits - Season 2 [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Hi,
great no fuss service as usual from Amazon.I have used them for several years now!Carry on the good work please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars remember when everything was black-&-white?, 12 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outer Limits - Season 2 [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
This series is wonderful: the morality is laid on in absolute black-and-white voice-overs from the voice of authority (emanating from your new-fangled television set), as is the action (B&W that is).

But many of the alien species ideas are amazingly ahead of their time to judge from more recent popular Sci-Fi movies. This is a gem well worth watching, so long as you can fast-forward past the definitely passé introduction to each episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3cc5738)

This product

The Outer Limits - Season 2 [DVD] [1964]
The Outer Limits - Season 2 [DVD] [1964] by Michael Ansara (DVD - 2005)
22.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews